Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
3,099 ratings

About the Course

Delve into the research behind terrorism as you unpack the assumptions and impacts of both terrorism and counterterrorism. Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private businesses, and ordinary citizens. In many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security, and stability – but what does this mean exactly? On this six-week course from Leiden University, you’ll explore the essence of terrorism and discover why it is so difficult to define. Unpacking its history and the theory of the waves of terrorism, you’ll analyse both the theoretical approaches and practical applications of terrorism and counterterrorism in the real world. There are many assumptions that cloud the subjects of terrorism and counterterrorism. These myths are often created and intensified by individual bias, the government, and the media. On this course, you’ll discover different assumptions about terrorist identities and motivations, as well as the efficiencies of various counterterrorism efforts. You’ll then compare this with academic research to investigate the truth behind these assumptions. In your exploration of the impact of terrorism, you’ll delve into the culture of fear created by terrorism, as well as the success of counterterrorism policies to limit and manage its impact on society. In the final stage of this course, you’ll reflect on trends and developments in terrorism and counterterrorism. You’ll assess current academic research as well as what could be studied in the future to help....

Top reviews

PR

Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

JM

Nov 29, 2022

Very informative and thorough overview of the Terrorism-Counterterrorism literature. The literature is presented in a well organized manner making it easy to follow from the assigned readings.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 731 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Emma B

Oct 3, 2015

Excellent course with absolutely no political bias whatsoever. Very well planned and delivered with excellent insights and well-rounded viewpoints.

By Frans v S

Jul 31, 2020

A good course,it is a bit out of date and some links to external sites do nolonger work.But in general good study material and nice presentations.

By Ignasi I

Oct 20, 2016

Excellent introduction & exploration in the analysis of terrorism & counterterrorism. The course also provides interesting readings. Recommended!

By Jenifer S Z

Apr 12, 2021

Very enlightening!

As an internationalist I strongly endorse this course.

Listen to my review on my podcast in spanish @chismecito_internacional_

By Miriam S

Apr 3, 2018

Easy to follow, very enlightening course. Highly recommended to get an academic understanding of terrorims and refrain from reiterating myths.

By Maman H

Aug 1, 2017

it is the most valuable course in my view. it is so practical in its approach towards terrorism and counterterrorism. very much Prof Edwin Ba

By Miriam A C d l C

Jun 8, 2017

Excellent Course! you can understand the conflicts and the highlights on the press, thanks to the theory about terrorism and counterterorrism

By Ajay P

Aug 14, 2015

An excellent course with rich pedagogy and informed insight into terrorism and counter-terrorism. Easily one of the best courses on Coursera.

By Fatima z E

Oct 1, 2022

un cours trés riche en information et méthodologie sur le terrorisme et la lutte contre terorisme.

merci pour les deux professuers

By MJ B

Aug 30, 2017

Extensive and deep course with great discussion from a non-military viewpoint - very well presented and managed to build strong engagement.

By Jose O

Aug 13, 2017

Excelente calidad y dedicacion de los instructores en el tema. Un curso de calidad y contenido que recomiendo a los interesados en el tema.

By Iris S

Sep 29, 2020

For those of you who want to have a better insight about terrorism and counter-terrorism..Already welcome to all the new fellow students..

By LUIS F E I

Aug 19, 2019

Me Pareció muy importante este curso, ya que brinda grandes herramientas para entender el estudio del terrorismo de una manera mas Global.

By William G P

Mar 8, 2016

Great course, really helps get a firm grasp on the concept of defining terrorism in context to regional conflict and sociological climate.

By Burhan K

Jul 15, 2021

It was an excellent experience undertaking this course. It has given me a fresher perspective into understanding the world of terrorists.

By Javier P

Aug 27, 2016

Excelente mooc. Se mantienen actualizado. Permite formarse una idea más clara respecto de lo que es el terrorismo y el contra-terrorismo.

By Willem V

Dec 30, 2022

a very good course giving insight in the complexity of Terrorisme . Two subjects could be added. Cyberterrorism and Financing terrorism.

By Petrus J M C

Oct 9, 2018

Very interesting! I would suggest to non-native speakers, take into account a bit more time then the recommended time for the readings.

By Jeffrey N

Nov 6, 2016

This was a very well put together class! It had so much to offer and really brought a major slew of terrorism studies to the forefront.

By Titos D

Oct 31, 2016

I took this course when ISIS was starting to better understand the current world issues, I ended up learning much more than I expected.

By Dilruba Y

Jun 27, 2022

An excellent course with excellent lecturing. Absolutely objective and clean teaching, high professionality. Thank you for everything.

By Fernando H L N

Jun 10, 2020

Excelente curso! Impecable análisis académico de la historia, actualidad y futuro del Terrorismo y Contraterrorismo. Muy recomendable!

By Vitor S L

Feb 20, 2019

As an introductory course, the lessons were an enriching experience. I hope there will be subsequent courses at a more advanced level!

By eman m b

Jul 11, 2017

Thank you. The course was very useful and contemporary in the information it provided about current events in the international arena.

By Susana T

Aug 15, 2015

Love this couse, love how explain things.

The best is that is open all the time and i can go to school, work and then take this course.