Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,826 ratings
683 reviews

About the Course

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top reviews

PR
Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM
Feb 24, 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 665 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Burhan K

Jul 15, 2021

It was an excellent experience undertaking this course. It has given me a fresher perspective into understanding the world of terrorists.

By Javier P

Aug 27, 2016

Excelente mooc. Se mantienen actualizado. Permite formarse una idea más clara respecto de lo que es el terrorismo y el contra-terrorismo.

By Petrus J M C

Oct 9, 2018

Very interesting! I would suggest to non-native speakers, take into account a bit more time then the recommended time for the readings.

By Jeffrey N

Nov 6, 2016

This was a very well put together class! It had so much to offer and really brought a major slew of terrorism studies to the forefront.

By Titos D

Oct 31, 2016

I took this course when ISIS was starting to better understand the current world issues, I ended up learning much more than I expected.

By Fernando H L N

Jun 10, 2020

Excelente curso! Impecable análisis académico de la historia, actualidad y futuro del Terrorismo y Contraterrorismo. Muy recomendable!

By Vitor S L

Feb 20, 2019

As an introductory course, the lessons were an enriching experience. I hope there will be subsequent courses at a more advanced level!

By eman m b

Jul 11, 2017

Thank you. The course was very useful and contemporary in the information it provided about current events in the international arena.

By Susana T S

Aug 15, 2015

Love this couse, love how explain things.

The best is that is open all the time and i can go to school, work and then take this course.

By Annesha K G

Aug 18, 2015

Very useful course. Instructor is very good. They way instructor taught is simple & very helpful. Thank you for this friendly course.

By Ignacio V F

May 20, 2021

Excelente curso. Muy bien estructurado y permite acercarse a los estudios de Violencia Política desde la mirada de los terrorismos.

By Ernesto L G G

Dec 9, 2019

Es un Excelente curso que atiende problemas actuales con información veraz y con alto sentido reflexivo que promueve el aprendizaje

By Horacio L

Nov 28, 2015

Well shaped course. I can follow along without getting bored easily. Very useful and insightful into today's issues with terrorism.

By Fernando M

Dec 3, 2015

Great! Openminded and a place where you can learn things from different areas, such a geography, history o sociology... Weel done!

By Valentina P S C

Oct 3, 2017

Excelente curso, te da las nociones basicas que se deben tener sobre el terrorismo tanto en la actualidad como en su historia.

By Margaux T

Sep 19, 2021

Very interesting & insightful, and the course went far more into depth than I expected from an online course, which is great!

By Stanica E

Nov 8, 2020

It sets a solid ground for further research and motivates practicians to come closer and better communicate with researchers.

By Diean I D R

Aug 12, 2016

This is a wonderful course. I obtained all the knowledge necessary to start working in this field of International Relations.

By Derek T

Sep 15, 2020

A good introductory course for beginners, and a refresher and knowledge enhancement course for experienced CT practitioners.

By Daniil B

Apr 7, 2020

Very interesting and deep course. It dramaticly changed my view on terrorism and the study of terrorism. Strongly recommend!

By Henrik O

Aug 21, 2018

Super introduction to modern terrorism, with explanations to how LE and other institutions perceive and mitigate terrorists.

By Josh G

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course, incredibly interesting and really a very useful insight particularly with the way our world is currently

By Marietjie J

Oct 23, 2015

A most interesting and insightful course. The quizzes challenge the student, and give opportunity for individual thinking.

By Judy R

Oct 21, 2020

The course is really difficult but I learned a lot. I hope to take more courses with such profound research. Thank you!

By Miriam E G

Feb 13, 2018

Muy buen curso. Aclara todos los preconceptos. Muy buen material y lecturas sugeridas para seguir aprendiendo. Gracias