Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,748 ratings
660 reviews

About the Course

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top reviews

WM
Feb 24, 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

LZ
May 22, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 640 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Fernando M

Dec 3, 2015

Great! Openminded and a place where you can learn things from different areas, such a geography, history o sociology... Weel done!

By Valentina P S C

Oct 3, 2017

Excelente curso, te da las nociones basicas que se deben tener sobre el terrorismo tanto en la actualidad como en su historia.

By Stanica E

Nov 8, 2020

It sets a solid ground for further research and motivates practicians to come closer and better communicate with researchers.

By Diean I D R

Aug 12, 2016

This is a wonderful course. I obtained all the knowledge necessary to start working in this field of International Relations.

By Derek T

Sep 15, 2020

A good introductory course for beginners, and a refresher and knowledge enhancement course for experienced CT practitioners.

By Daniil B

Apr 7, 2020

Very interesting and deep course. It dramaticly changed my view on terrorism and the study of terrorism. Strongly recommend!

By Henrik O

Aug 21, 2018

Super introduction to modern terrorism, with explanations to how LE and other institutions perceive and mitigate terrorists.

By Josh G

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course, incredibly interesting and really a very useful insight particularly with the way our world is currently

By Marietjie J

Oct 23, 2015

A most interesting and insightful course. The quizzes challenge the student, and give opportunity for individual thinking.

By Judy R

Oct 21, 2020

The course is really difficult but I learned a lot. I hope to take more courses with such profound research. Thank you!

By Miriam E G

Feb 13, 2018

Muy buen curso. Aclara todos los preconceptos. Muy buen material y lecturas sugeridas para seguir aprendiendo. Gracias

By César L B d S

Dec 18, 2017

Muito bom. O Curso nos oferece uma oportunidade para conhecer o assunto e esclarecer muitos pontos obscuros do tema.

By Jeffrey W

Mar 27, 2020

I learned a great deal during this course and really appreciate all the hard work/time that went into creating it.

By Josefina G

Nov 24, 2019

Excelente curso, lo recomiendo totalmente a aquellos que estudian ciencias políticas o relaciones internacionales.

By Alexandru M G

Dec 6, 2018

Very professionally taught, a great variety of topics, not easy to pass, lean for life ! I strongly recommend it !

By Lorenzo A

Feb 11, 2016

The lectures are very clear and the readings extremely interesting, including many articles written by top experts

By B B

Jan 18, 2021

Excellent course that opens your mind to the word of counterterrorism and the terrorist groups that are in play.

By Lucio A M

Sep 26, 2020

Excellent course! Professors Edwin Bakker and Jeanine de Roy van Zuijdewijn conducted the subject in superb way.

By Tulika K

Jul 7, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course and i learnt a lot of things. Im sure this is going to help me in the future.

By Rodolfo Q L

Sep 1, 2019

Fantastic course. I learned incredible concepts. Incredible content. Great instructor, extremely well qualified.

By ABHIJEET S

Jun 22, 2020

THIS COURSE IS SO INFORMATIVE AND HELPS TO LEARN A LOT ABOUT THE BASICS OF THE TERRORISM AND COUNTER-TERRORISM.

By Jacob K

Dec 28, 2018

Great theoretical foundation for everyone interested in the field of terrorism and counterterrorism! Excellent.

By Amine D

Sep 18, 2017

Very interesting course, I have a new vision of terrorism and counter-terrorism after completing this course.

By Hareesh H

Jul 1, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. It gave me new insights into this domain which is comparatively new to me.

By Toni H

Nov 20, 2017

Curso muy interesante y completo, el único punto a mejorar son las traducciones al Español.

Recomendable 100%