Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
3,103 ratings

About the Course

Delve into the research behind terrorism as you unpack the assumptions and impacts of both terrorism and counterterrorism. Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private businesses, and ordinary citizens. In many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security, and stability – but what does this mean exactly? On this six-week course from Leiden University, you’ll explore the essence of terrorism and discover why it is so difficult to define. Unpacking its history and the theory of the waves of terrorism, you’ll analyse both the theoretical approaches and practical applications of terrorism and counterterrorism in the real world. There are many assumptions that cloud the subjects of terrorism and counterterrorism. These myths are often created and intensified by individual bias, the government, and the media. On this course, you’ll discover different assumptions about terrorist identities and motivations, as well as the efficiencies of various counterterrorism efforts. You’ll then compare this with academic research to investigate the truth behind these assumptions. In your exploration of the impact of terrorism, you’ll delve into the culture of fear created by terrorism, as well as the success of counterterrorism policies to limit and manage its impact on society. In the final stage of this course, you’ll reflect on trends and developments in terrorism and counterterrorism. You’ll assess current academic research as well as what could be studied in the future to help....

Top reviews

PR

Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

JM

Nov 29, 2022

Very informative and thorough overview of the Terrorism-Counterterrorism literature. The literature is presented in a well organized manner making it easy to follow from the assigned readings.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 733 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Tulika K

Jul 7, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course and i learnt a lot of things. Im sure this is going to help me in the future.

By Rodolfo Q

Sep 1, 2019

Fantastic course. I learned incredible concepts. Incredible content. Great instructor, extremely well qualified.

By William

Nov 10, 2022

I really liked this one - the reading material was very intresting, do put in the effort of reading everything.

By ABHIJEET S

Jun 22, 2020

THIS COURSE IS SO INFORMATIVE AND HELPS TO LEARN A LOT ABOUT THE BASICS OF THE TERRORISM AND COUNTER-TERRORISM.

By Jacob K

Dec 28, 2018

Great theoretical foundation for everyone interested in the field of terrorism and counterterrorism! Excellent.

By Amine D

Sep 18, 2017

Very interesting course, I have a new vision of terrorism and counter-terrorism after completing this course.

By Hareesh H

Jul 1, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. It gave me new insights into this domain which is comparatively new to me.

By Toni H

Nov 20, 2017

Curso muy interesante y completo, el único punto a mejorar son las traducciones al Español.

Recomendable 100%

By Sonia R G

Jan 5, 2021

I found the course very interesting and useful. I really recommend it to everyone interested in terrorism!

By Eric H

Jun 16, 2018

This course is simply AMAZING! Wish they had more and that one could pursue a degree via distance learning.

By A. M

Aug 17, 2023

Excellent overview and introduction to the deep and interesting topic that concerns us all as human beings

By Alejandro C

Oct 3, 2022

Un curso muy interesante respecto a la teoría del terrorismo y las nuevas tendencias de contraterrorismo.

By Niels G

Nov 6, 2015

Very interesting topic given by an excellent lecturer. Readings and course video's complement one another.

By Carlos M G

Apr 28, 2021

Excelente profesor y contenido, pero una cosa muy negativa, pagué el curso y nunca recibí el certificado.

By Jovana B

Oct 21, 2015

My first course here on Coursera and I am completely satisfied with both the lectures and the professor.

By Tomek C

Feb 25, 2016

It's a good introduction. Being green in this subject, it really changes my understanding of terrorism.

By Meghan C

Jun 4, 2020

Very good course. A lot of useful information and a great subject to take in todays globalized world.

By Tomasz M

Dec 1, 2018

Fantastic Fantastyczny kurs! Polecam kazdemu kto chce wiedziec wiecej na temat terroryzmu.

Regards

Tom

By Galen J R

Mar 7, 2016

A very in-depth skim of the beginning of a new trend in study and how we view another uneasy subject.

By Maria A

Oct 22, 2017

Thank you for the course, it was very interesting! Where I can find my certification of this course?

By Romain H

Aug 9, 2015

Extremely clear and well presented course. Congratulations to the team who made such a good course.

By Lucia G

Jul 2, 2020

I highly recommend this course if you are interested in the terrorism and counterterrorism topic.

By Wallace G

May 9, 2019

An excellent course. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the counter - terrorism.

By Paul M

Mar 16, 2019

The course is not only an eye opener, full of reflections and knowledge.I recommend this course.

By RatiB

Apr 10, 2022

AWESOME.....Simply AMAZING... Many thanks to our guide and coach and Leiden University.

Regards.