Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,632 ratings
636 reviews

About the Course

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top reviews

LZ
May 22, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
Sep 20, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 616 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Hugo R

Sep 1, 2016

Very good

By JULIO F B

Feb 13, 2016

EXCELENTE

By Abdellatif N

Dec 15, 2015

very good

By Mauricio R T

Dec 6, 2015

Excelente

By María E M I

Jun 18, 2019

v

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

By Robert B

Nov 28, 2018

Nice one

By Maira R

Jun 18, 2018

amazing

By Md. R H

Oct 22, 2020

Thanks

By SOFIA C B

Sep 7, 2017

Great!

By Olesya K

Nov 23, 2015

Great!

By Virginia N F C

Jul 19, 2017

Great

By KARAGIORGOS D

Sep 6, 2016

great

By Mona A A

Jul 1, 2020

good

By Efraín V

Jun 3, 2020

👍🏼

By Сажаева Ю Д

Mar 17, 2019

cool

By José F G Á

Nov 2, 2016

110

By Nicolas S

Jul 25, 2016

ok

By Johnette V D

Aug 16, 2018

A

By Jorge D

Nov 1, 2017

V

By David Z

Oct 23, 2016

V

By Eduardo D R L

Sep 24, 2016

A

By Alessandro S

Oct 18, 2015

C

By George E

Feb 15, 2016

Good fist MOOC experience. Pity the google hangout wasn't up but never mind. Would prefer more questions in the videos to check I'm listening attentively.

Would also like to see a list of all the reading material in one place rather than per lectiure. Then I can go to each web page and save as epub usiing the crhome dotepub extension and copy to my ereader.

Anyway you can streamline that kind of admin task would be appreciated. You ought to spruke ways to read the web pages, because reading it on a laptop or even tablet is a bit tedious. Also with the PDFs, some info on saving them as resizable PDFs would be appreciated.

Course content was good and I like the coursera front end.

Need someway to manage tthe growing library of reading material that accumalates not just with this one course but if you do multiple MOOCs over time,

Thank!

By Mathieu B

Jan 19, 2017

Interesting course, supported by a good lecturer's team and interesting delivery method.

For those who know nothing about Terrism and Counter-terrorism, it is a fast and efficient way to know more about different field of studies, and interesting to understand what are current biases surrounding the notion of Terrorism in our contemporary world.

However, the course remains perhaps too generic, and would require more details, especially on crucial topics such as policies (Having examples or working on how to approach policy design may be of great value for the student to understand these challenges, but also for the Leiden University in order to capture inivative approaches.

But again, generally speaking, this is an excellent course, with good pace, added value and interactivity.

By Dyer B

Feb 29, 2016

This is a great overview of terrorism and counter-terrorism, and identifies the many flaws due to lack of knowledge policymakers still make in dealing with this phenomena. The rigor of the course is challenging but not impossible. I like that a section on Foreign Fighters has now been added to further enhance the course. I will use this knowledge to apply to another topic I am researching - gang dynamics and gang violence, which I believe shares many similarities. My only criticism is of the final, which I found to ask several questions about some obscure facts and did not truly test for the body of knowledge in my opinion, hence the 4 not 5 stars.