Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
3,101 ratings

About the Course

Delve into the research behind terrorism as you unpack the assumptions and impacts of both terrorism and counterterrorism. Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private businesses, and ordinary citizens. In many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security, and stability – but what does this mean exactly? On this six-week course from Leiden University, you’ll explore the essence of terrorism and discover why it is so difficult to define. Unpacking its history and the theory of the waves of terrorism, you’ll analyse both the theoretical approaches and practical applications of terrorism and counterterrorism in the real world. There are many assumptions that cloud the subjects of terrorism and counterterrorism. These myths are often created and intensified by individual bias, the government, and the media. On this course, you’ll discover different assumptions about terrorist identities and motivations, as well as the efficiencies of various counterterrorism efforts. You’ll then compare this with academic research to investigate the truth behind these assumptions. In your exploration of the impact of terrorism, you’ll delve into the culture of fear created by terrorism, as well as the success of counterterrorism policies to limit and manage its impact on society. In the final stage of this course, you’ll reflect on trends and developments in terrorism and counterterrorism. You’ll assess current academic research as well as what could be studied in the future to help....

Top reviews

PR

Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM

Feb 24, 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 731 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Mike S

Apr 28, 2016

Very compelling arguments and facts. I was looking for something to do and always enjoy broadening knowledge.

The content was heavy enough to be meaningful, but light enough to be enjoyable. I enjoyed the discussion forums. I will be continuing the series.

By Karen B

Sep 4, 2017

I have a degree and mastery, and I have taken many courses, but this one stands out for the quality of the speakers, the information and the pedagogy, I really congratulate you, especially to Professor Edwin Bakker, many congratulations and admiration.

By Eriberto T

Aug 7, 2017

Very relevant course. When I took it, I just appreciated its theoretical value. Now that we have our nearby city attacked by terrorists and held on for more than two months, the course has become one of the most relevant courses in our society today.

By Ivan J

Oct 25, 2017

A very good course diving into the foundations of analysing terrorism and counter-terrorism. It is scholar oriented but considers as well data collected from global terrorism databases. It was pivotal to train and exercise further academic thinking.

By Sudhanshu J

May 10, 2020

I am student of CAREER POINT UNIVERSITY and completed this course and learn many things like history,how terrorism works in world and learn lot of things but I not able to get course certificate after completion of course,so please can you help me

By kaiser m i

Aug 29, 2015

This is one of the best course that showcase our most vital in a way most contemporary matters. Hopefully, the people who will take part in this course will have improved their level of humanity and their partial eyes through a inevitable process.

By Cao Y

Aug 26, 2015

Very helpful for a basic understanding of terrorism and counterterrorism, and a knowledge with the current reseach in this field. A very pleasent experience studying with Prof. Bakker, and looking forward to the next course with Leiden University.

By Martin C

Sep 8, 2020

Course tutor is very engaging and retained my interest throughout the course. Subject matter is clearly taught at a level both those with a limited insight in to the subject and those already in the area can understand. Highly recommended course.

By zeta_laz@windowslive.com

Oct 20, 2020

Very informative and highly enjoyable. The professor is knowledgeable and the length is just about right. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in debunking myths about terrorism and enhancing his/her knowledge around this matter.

By Zdenek V

Apr 16, 2017

A very good insight in the field of terrorism, its deffinition, impact, counter measures, history and future, from the academical point of view. The course is very well organized and I would recommend it to anyone with interest in the field.

By Val B

Oct 31, 2020

I enjoyed learning as much as reading the articles and listening to the video lessons. Nobody should miss this course if he/she intends to understand the basics and intermediate complexities of terrorism and counterterrorism. Great course!

By sanatan k

Feb 12, 2019

Excellent course , it provides much required insight in to Terrorism and Counter Terrorism. I have gained enormously and have furthered my knowledge in this field which would not have been possible without undertaking this holistic course.

By Ephraim

Nov 20, 2018

It's been really interesting

It has helped supported me with a lot of needed resourses and infor for my dissertation

The used language is easy and understandable.

There is a big amount of information and statistics

The course is well organized

By Kevin A H

Sep 13, 2015

This course, which delves into the minds of the experts, can expand your knowledge into what's really happening, not just the opinions of the media. Further, it goes deep into the 'why' in a world only interested in the 'who' and 'where'.

By Marijke B

May 3, 2023

Very well-designed course with information that is dense yet accessible at the same time.

I thoroughly enjoyed it, learned a lot on the subject and also found the Coursera format a good mix of course review and learning rythm. Thank you!

By Krzysztof K

Jun 1, 2020

I was working through the course it as I am interested in the field and one day would love to work for an expert organization in this matter.

I must say, I really enjoyed it. It's very well produced and everything is properly explained.

By Bárbara B

Dec 3, 2015

The course brings up subjects about terrorism that are very interesting, such as the history of terrorism. I liked it very much and I highly recommend it for anyone interested in political science, terrorism and international relations.

By Kate G

May 12, 2017

Interesting, Encouraging and Fun to do! Each week gave a better insight into different areas and provide a wide and good understanding of Terrorism and Counter Terrorism Concepts. Amazing reading list and access to papers. It was a ple

By Arnaud S

Mar 21, 2018

A very insightful course, providing an academic approach to historical and current events. The course addresses a wide range of topics , it questions assumptions, and it provides new perspectives on terrorism. I highly recommend it!

By Fabrizzio D Q d F

Oct 8, 2017

This course is one of the best, the fact of being in netherlands is a "extra" (I've precupation about the north american courses about this). The professor has an universitary abordage, without rage or bias.

Thak you a lot, Leiden!

By Milko G

May 3, 2019

A very interesting course! I learned a lot about the history and development of terrorism till actual terrorism today. Just what I searched for. Some readings could probably need to be updated, but nevertheless very interesting.

By Han Z

Dec 18, 2015

这门课两年间选课的学生超过了十万之多,一方面课程的内容针对恐怖主义和反恐,从历史、理论到实践、未来进行了详细阐述,课程亦提供大量参考阅读材料,可对这个领域的知识有一个整体概括的掌握;另一方面,近年来恐怖主义的活动日益频繁,伊斯兰国、外国战士、欧洲难民等,也成为大家关注的热点。遗憾的是,课程中一再提及的欧洲相对安全的情况,在今年11月13日巴黎恐怖袭击之后,一去不返。课程的论坛仍然活跃,从中可以继续与来自世界各地的学生一同探讨反恐相关的问题。

By Conrado T D J

Sep 27, 2016

This Course is totally illuminating! Great backgrounder for a knowledge seeker about terrorism like me. It became more significant & engaging because of the great materials & great Facilitator & Professor, Edwin Bakker!

By Георгий Ф

Jan 7, 2016

Sometimes i am absolutely disagree with some of conclusions but its a normal process of exploring the truth is in an academic way of reasoned debate, dialogue filled with respectful atmosphere.

Thank you for this course.

By Yonis H

Jan 7, 2023

This is the best course, a very great resources and insights into terrorism and counterterrorism are gathered and taught by great instructors. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to learn such great course by online.