Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
3,099 ratings

About the Course

Delve into the research behind terrorism as you unpack the assumptions and impacts of both terrorism and counterterrorism. Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private businesses, and ordinary citizens. In many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security, and stability – but what does this mean exactly? On this six-week course from Leiden University, you’ll explore the essence of terrorism and discover why it is so difficult to define. Unpacking its history and the theory of the waves of terrorism, you’ll analyse both the theoretical approaches and practical applications of terrorism and counterterrorism in the real world. There are many assumptions that cloud the subjects of terrorism and counterterrorism. These myths are often created and intensified by individual bias, the government, and the media. On this course, you’ll discover different assumptions about terrorist identities and motivations, as well as the efficiencies of various counterterrorism efforts. You’ll then compare this with academic research to investigate the truth behind these assumptions. In your exploration of the impact of terrorism, you’ll delve into the culture of fear created by terrorism, as well as the success of counterterrorism policies to limit and manage its impact on society. In the final stage of this course, you’ll reflect on trends and developments in terrorism and counterterrorism. You’ll assess current academic research as well as what could be studied in the future to help....

Top reviews

PR

Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM

Feb 24, 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 731 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Antonios K

Oct 13, 2015

A very helpful course, understanding the definition of terrorism, but also understand what are differences between terrorism and counterterrorism and what it takes to prevent them.

By mustafa k

Feb 11, 2017

it is a very useful course for the beginners. this course might be improved by adding one week for talking about the empirical literature on terrorism in political science field.

By Deleted A

May 26, 2016

The best online course I have ever had. Lots of information on the subject,

engagin, very well presented.

Edwin, thank you, well done and I am looking forward for more from you.

By Héctor G O U

Nov 4, 2015

Excelente curso. El material es bastante didáctico y bueno, así como la metodología utilizada. Además las exposiciones del profesor Bakker son muy claras y fáciles de entender.

By Stephanie D B G

Aug 17, 2015

I loved the fact that we could achieve the course in our own timings and I obviously love the whole course, the lectures, the videos, I couldn´t feel more satisfied and grateful!

By Raul M

Sep 22, 2015

It is a great experience and has been developed very efficiently to provide a valuable tool for the insight and education of a very important phenomenon in the global community.

By Vojtěch K

Aug 31, 2018

Quality course for those who want to know and understand the basics about terrorism, counter-terrorism, pros and cons of studying these phenomena, and foreign fighters as well.

By Maria K

Sep 5, 2015

One of the best courses ever. Enjoyed the Structural Architecture of each module, term analysis, supplementary reading material, polls, even transcripts.

Thank You very much!

By GENESSI S J

Jun 4, 2019

Great! It was one of the best distance learning courses I ever did. The working platform, with interactive videos and memorizing exercises, was very good.

Congratulations!

By Dean S W

Sep 18, 2015

This course is by far the most professional, extensive online MOOC course I have ever had the pleasure to take. I look forward to continuing my studies in Terrorism and CT.

By Dennis V

Mar 17, 2019

An excellent course and the lecturer is outstanding! The course gave me the opportunity to better understand the horrors of terrorism and the possibilities against terror.

By Jen H

Nov 16, 2016

This class was very informative and gave balance to the sensationalistic reporting of the media. I think the world would be a better place if more people took this course.

By Mohamed S

Sep 10, 2016

Loved the time I spent studying this course, if I was going to evaluate it on terms of the title sayings "it's all and more"

How is it more? I am already hungry for more :D

By Jesus R

Nov 25, 2015

Really deep, complete. The efforts of the creators can be seen at first view. Congratulations to Dr. Bakker for the clases and the lectures. The best course I've ever had!

By Rodrigo F

Sep 22, 2018

Excelente curso, permite adquirir nuevos conocimientos, sobre todo para Autoridades de Estado, como para funcionarios publicos encargados de la Seguridad Publica Nacional

By Mehdi M

Sep 27, 2016

it's very wonderful to share this great mooc with academic people like you really i learned more ideas and it gives me a big power to continue this studies thank you .

By Yannick M

Oct 4, 2016

Thank you for this extensive and very accessible overview of the field of terrorism studies. I particularly appreciated the variety of recommended articles and sources.

By Iryna R

Aug 9, 2016

The Course is really good. The presentation is intense and clearly structured. I would specifically emphasize the quality of the required and recommended reading lists.

By Opeyemi O

Apr 18, 2023

This is a miniature of so much on Terrorism and Counterterrorism with Prof Edwin Bakker and Asst Prof Jannie de Roy van Zuijdewijn. Great learning experience with 'em.

By Irina K

Jul 6, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! Great material and excellent lectures, would highly recommend for anyone interested in the topics of terrorism and counter-terrorism.

By Josh S

Feb 18, 2016

This course was very informative and helped to solidify the knowledge that I had coming into the course. I would recommend this course to anyone from novice to expert.

By Erin K C

Sep 13, 2021

This is a truly amazing course! It's hard to believe that I learned more in this free course than my terrorism course for mu undergraduate degree in criminal justice.

By Edgar J O d l R

Sep 21, 2015

I enjoyed a lot this curse, I learn many things I didn't know before I take it, I bought the book, and really it was helped me a lot. Congratulations for a great job.

By Margaret M

Nov 22, 2020

This course was extremely helpful in allowing me to learn important critical thinking skills, history, and policy analysis. All of the course material was engaging

By Agnes F

Sep 2, 2019

Thank you for this course. It was very interesting and informative. As a second-year student in college, I seriously started thinking about going into this field.