Chevron Left
Back to The Music of the Beatles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Music of the Beatles by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
598 ratings
220 reviews

About the Course

The Music of the Beatles will track the musical development of the band, starting from the earliest days in Liverpool and Hamburg, moving through the excitement of Beatlemania, the rush of psychedelia, and the maturity of Abbey Road. While the focus will be on the music, we will also consider how recording techniques, the music business, the music of other artists, and the culture of the 1960s affected John, Paul, George, and Ringo as they created the Beatles repertory. There is probably no band or artist that has had more written about their music than the Beatles. There are many good books on the band's biography, several insider accounts offering glimpses behind the scenes, books that interpret the meaning of the songs, and even books that catalog dates and people regarding the band. This course will try to synthesize much of that information into an account of the Beatles' development as musicians and songwriters....

Top reviews

SS
Jun 12, 2020

Great class. For someone who grew up listening to the Beatles (thank you, Mom!), I learned things I did not know and will listen to the songs with a different appreciation and approach. Thank you!!!!

MM
Mar 7, 2016

I have always been curious about the beginnings of the Beatles and in fact I have been playing and singing some of their popular songs. I'm glad there is a free on line course about them.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 219 Reviews for The Music of the Beatles

By Jose L T L

May 8, 2020

Excellent course, entertaining and informative, it is my favorite band, now i have more knowledge of the musical history of The beatles. Congratulations.

By Bill W

Mar 10, 2016

A great course with a great amount of research and just enough Theory for those not musically educated to gain a further insight into the Beatles Music.

By Maria C F L

Aug 21, 2020

Gave me a better appreciation of the Beatles' music and their place in history. The instructor was very engaging and informative. Tons of information.

By Johnathon K

Jul 1, 2019

John has done a wonderful job with this course. very much enjoyed it and learned a lot about rock music and its production as well as Beatles history.

By Rithvik G

Jun 24, 2020

i was a pure, untouched soul who was inspired by john covach to listen to the entire of Rubber Soul on Pot and Revolver on LSD, 14/10 would recommend

By Scott D

Mar 14, 2018

Really a great course. Not so much technical musicianship, or personal stuff, but a very comprehensive journey through the evolution of their music.

By Douglas S

Sep 20, 2017

Really fun class led by a real gentleman who brings tremendous knowledge and appreciation to the fore. Strongly recommend for all Beatles fans!

By Karina v r

Aug 15, 2016

I love this course, I keep on taking it over and over again as much as I possibly can.

I always learn something different and new.

Thanks ; )

By Daniel S F A

Oct 17, 2015

Excelente curso, soy un joven beatlemaniaco y aunque he estudiado bastante a esta gran banda no conocía muchas de las cosas aquí mencionadas.

By Tom T

Dec 1, 2016

I've always been a fan of the Beatles. this course gave a great perspective of the Beatles phenomena from a musical and a business viewpoint

By George F

Apr 2, 2017

Great insight. Helps in understanding the significance of their contribution to rock and how they progressed as musicians and songwriters.

By Lorena E

Oct 1, 2017

I learned a lot in this course. As a fan of The Beatles and of the music in general, this is a complete and interesting course. Loved it!

By Jeroen G

May 18, 2018

In depth review of the music of the worlds most fameus band, with the outstanding prof. John Covach. Very interesting and enjoyable!

By Franc M

Oct 6, 2020

As a Beatles fan since I was a child, I have enjoyed this course a lot and have learned a lot of things I didn't know. A pleasure!

By Humberto A C V

May 19, 2020

Great course. As a fan of the Beatles is a great pleasure to learn more of the band in a more academic level. Thank you so much.

By Ayşemüge G

Jun 20, 2020

Mr. Covach is a very knowledgeable, humble and genuine instructor. Thank you for allowing us to have this course online! :)

By JAVIER G

Aug 1, 2020

excelente curso, claras explicaciones y muy buenos conceptos. sobre el desarrollo y progreso de la música de los Beatles

By Charles A

Sep 12, 2015

This Class Rocked. I will take any course offered by Prof Covach in the future dealing with Music history of the 20thc

By Karen S

May 19, 2020

Excellent course and well-researched. The professor was well-versed on this subject and has a great teaching style.

By Vivienne C B

Jul 12, 2018

Very enjoyable, informative. Good course content and notes, Excellent tutor who had great knowledge on the subject.

By Gustavo N S

Aug 4, 2020

Very informative, excellent data, great explanations about songs, history, and everything about the Beatles music.

By Jean P G C

Apr 22, 2020

Excelente. Muy entretenido y educativo. Fue un honor asistir a un curso teniendo al Sr. John Covach como profesor.

By Danmar D L M

Feb 16, 2016

This course was awesome! I learned so many things about The Beatles and have listened to some songs I didn't know.

By Ceci L

Oct 1, 2016

Fantástico! Un curso dinámico, accesible, valioso. Impecable trabajo del Profesor John Covach. Gracias Coursera!

By dan o

Aug 30, 2015

Very enthusiastic presentation and full of great information about the Beatles. This course was truly a delight.