Chevron Left
Back to The Music of the Beatles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Music of the Beatles by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
623 ratings
228 reviews

About the Course

The Music of the Beatles will track the musical development of the band, starting from the earliest days in Liverpool and Hamburg, moving through the excitement of Beatlemania, the rush of psychedelia, and the maturity of Abbey Road. While the focus will be on the music, we will also consider how recording techniques, the music business, the music of other artists, and the culture of the 1960s affected John, Paul, George, and Ringo as they created the Beatles repertory. There is probably no band or artist that has had more written about their music than the Beatles. There are many good books on the band's biography, several insider accounts offering glimpses behind the scenes, books that interpret the meaning of the songs, and even books that catalog dates and people regarding the band. This course will try to synthesize much of that information into an account of the Beatles' development as musicians and songwriters....

Top reviews

SS
Jun 12, 2020

Great class. For someone who grew up listening to the Beatles (thank you, Mom!), I learned things I did not know and will listen to the songs with a different appreciation and approach. Thank you!!!!

MM
Mar 7, 2016

I have always been curious about the beginnings of the Beatles and in fact I have been playing and singing some of their popular songs. I'm glad there is a free on line course about them.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 228 Reviews for The Music of the Beatles

By Fernando C S

Jul 12, 2020

I didn't think that a course whitout any music could be insteresting and actually the main reason to continue was "The Beatles". How wrong I was.

Mr. Covach let me say congratulations it's a beatiful course. You're very sensible about all "The Beatles" atmosphere. Thank you so much.

I'm recommend this course for anyone who wants to get deep in The Beatles Music and life.

By Amin

Sep 11, 2020

Always a pleasure learning with Professor Covach. I learned a lot and I'm even hungry to learn more with this awesome instructor! The sound quality was a bit rusty in some sessions and Professor Covach was a bit concerned about the copy right issues more than usual. But in the end I don't regret a second spending on this course and learning.

By Joe R G

Nov 19, 2016

An excellent overview of the Fab Four's career, with a focus on the songwriting. It would be better if the real music and lyrics could be used and if there were more video and anecdotes incorporated into the storytelling (even if it wasn't the Beatles themselves, but other voices lending their thoughts).

By Diego T

Mar 31, 2017

Un curso sobre la música de THE BEATLES sin apartes musicales o de video se torna aburrido en algunas lecciones ya que tiene el estudiante que cambiar de página web (sea you tube, spotify etc.) para escuchar las canciones y entender las explicaciones que el profesor detallaba.

En contenido excelente.

By Julia T

Sep 22, 2017

I would have loved to see pictures or accompanying video (but I understand there are copyright laws as discussed in the beginning... It is a shame that it couldn't be used for educational purposes though hehe. Good thing I have all the Beatles music at hand anyways.)

By Jim R

Apr 16, 2018

Muy buen curso, aprendí bastante y logré dimensionar el avance la música a través de la experiencia de los Beatles. Me hubiese gustado oír un poco más en cuanto al trabajo de George Martin o Geoff Emerick, pero en general el curso está genial!

By Dwight H

Feb 15, 2021

Very good history of the Beatles and their style of music.

A little more about the Beatles lives and their travel dates over the years would have been added interest.

By Jaime R

Nov 1, 2019

Excellent course, maybe it should go deeper in composition, beside the analysis of form. Harmony for instance. Thanks a lot, it was a thrill.

By Ewan K

Jul 29, 2017

Had lots of fun, great course. Good insight into the history of the Beatles, now I can enjoy the albums in a new light, Thank you Professor.

By Fok s k

Nov 1, 2016

The course is great and it helps me in understanding and appreciating their music.

By Evelyn G

Feb 10, 2018

Muy interesante, en especial para quienes amamos la música de los Beatles.

By Heather M

Apr 30, 2018

Very interesting course, especially if you are interested in the Beatles.

By Felipe R

Apr 17, 2016

Buen curso, bien detallado y organizado. Muy bueno.

By Laura A A T

Sep 9, 2020

Hace falta escuchar fragmentos de la música

By Luc L

Dec 21, 2016

Really enjoyed learning about The Beatles

By Antonio R M

Apr 16, 2017

Muy interesante

By Sokrates V

Aug 26, 2015

That was great!

By Jose C P

May 24, 2017

muy bueno

By Todd S V

Sep 5, 2018

The course was ok. For a free (or $50) course that is based on True False and Multiple Guess questions drawn from the instructor's videos, it isn't bad. Regrettably, with all the music, reference materials, etc. out there, the course could be so much better! No true, required discussion forums, no research, no papers, no essay questions. The recommended reading materials are an excellent foundation. Too bad they aren't needed for the course (as everything is predicated on the videos). Perhaps University of Rochester (or some other Coursera community center of learning) could offer something a bit more thought provoking and educationally stimulating for "advanced" Beatles Fans? Peace and Love.

By Chingiz S

Jun 14, 2016

Apparently, the instructor is well-informed in the history of the band.

Nevertheless, information is delivered in a huge portions, sometimes cluttered and it s easy to lost in the narrative.

Sound quality is bad (the volume is jumping sometimes and there is a lot of noise)

May I suggest that you provide a short arts of songs you are talking about?

I understand, there are copyright issues, but still, something should be done about it.

All in all, I wish to enroll in the second, improved release of this course

By yaoyaoholiday

Mar 8, 2017

The professor is very knowledgable. However, the course has too much memorized stuff to remember (especially when students try to finish the tests). One more thing, though at the beginning of the class, the professor notified that Beatles songs won't be played in the class due to copyright reason, but when students really go through the whole class, it is very hard to follow. Isn't music all about feeling? But the class is more like a history class. : (

By Eylül K

Mar 18, 2017

The content of the course is very nice. Especially the part about the instruments is very good. It's good to see exact instruments of them. Hovewer, I think, a course about music should include a little bit music :) It will be better to figure out the problem about copyright. I prepared a Spotify list that includes the songs mentioned during the course but It's better to listen the music or see the lyrics during the course.

Thank you very much :)

By Anthony P

Dec 8, 2015

I'm grateful to the professor for constructing and delivering this course. I learned a few things but the lack of musical analysis was a disappointment. I know that form is important but there was no mention of modulation, chord progressions or cadence styles (John versus Paul). I feel the course should have been titled The History of the Beatles.

By marc b

Nov 26, 2016

Clearly, the instructor is passionate about the Beatles (as am I). However it's really hard to talk about the music of the Beatles and not nine able to even quote from their songs, much less play their music! No songs, no music for fear of being sued!

Takes a good deal away from the course!

By Deleted A

Jun 27, 2016

You can't have a "Music of the Beatles" course without playing some of the music. Surely under the Fair Use provisions of the Copyright Act parts of the Beatles music could be played as well as parts of YouTube