Chevron Left
Back to The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form

The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form, University of Rochester

4.8
342 ratings
141 reviews

About this Course

The blues is an American art form and the most important musical form in jazz. Although there are other formal paradigms of the blues, such as 8-bar or 16-bar, this course focuses on different incarnations of the 12-bar blues. There are considerable differences between Early Jazz blues, Swing blues, Bebop blues, Modal blues, and Post Bop blues. Each type has its unique harmonic syntax, melodic vocabulary and, associated with them, improvisational techniques. While other aspects of jazz performance practice have been constantly changing from one stylistic convention to another, the blues has never lost its identity and expressive power, and continues to exert a powerful influence on the harmonic and melodic syntax of jazz. This seven-week course explores important aspects of the blues, blues improvisation, basic keyboard textures, jazz harmonic and melodic syntax. Topics include: (1) Blues Progressions; (2) Blues and Other Scales; (3) Improvisational Tools, and others. This course will also cover valuable theoretical concepts enabling the student to master the art of jazz improvisation. Each topic will be introduced from a practical perspective with the clearly stated goal: to improve one’s improvisational skills. Jazz improvisation is rooted in spontaneity, creativity, self-expression and, at the same time, self-control and order. A unique pedagogical approach based on a one-to-one musical interaction conducted with different instrumentalists will help to reinforce many of the concepts introduced in this course and realize its stated objectives....

Top reviews

By DB

Oct 08, 2016

Such a great course! Even though I am a bass player this course has made me understand patterns and ways in which the Blues can be taken to. Thank you very much for such an amazing experience.

By DZ

Mar 04, 2017

This is very practical and useful course. I really learned something from it! I love this courser and I strongly recommend this course to everyone who is fascinated in Blues.

Filter by:

138 Reviews

By Massiel

May 15, 2019

Very nice and genial course. I learned some new aspects i didnot know or which i had dute. More course like this please. Thank very much

By 宮本孝男

May 06, 2019

The couse was very useful. I could learn a comprehensive theory and I think I gained a firm theoretical background. The step-by-step building-block approach enabled me to follow the contents. The course also included a variety of practices which can be used in my practice. I really enjoyed this course.

By Stéphane Simard

Apr 27, 2019

This is a leading course that provides an in-depth understanding and all the background necessary for advanced blues studies based on jazz theory. The course is given brilliantly and very pedagogically by a virtuoso pianist.

By pkavpro

Feb 12, 2019

I would like to express my biggest appreciation to Prof. Dariusz Terefenko and all fellow-musicians joined in this course. For me and all musicians who don't have enough financial capabilities to participate in official musical training programs, this is such a great source and incredible guidance to American music with all knowledge and materials needed for further musicianship development.

By Anthony Ray Johnson

Feb 08, 2019

Thank you for the excellent method of educating and presenting examples of how to understand and play music and especially The Blues. The Instructor was simply Grand in his delivery and structure.

Anthony Ray Johnson

By Ajay V

Jan 31, 2019

What an awesome course! A must learn for any musician who is caught in a rut and is looking to jazz to expand their knowledge and ability. This gives you such great organised information that cannot be acquired except through formal music studies/classes from a tutor. Surely not a course for beginners though. Thanks to Mr. Dariusz Terefenko for his meticulous preparation of the course, his generosity in sharing his knowledge and for thinking ahead to prepare backing tracks for the student. Full marks to him and to the course.

By Sushil Melville

Jan 30, 2019

Wonderful Overview of Blues.

By Munro Wilson

Jan 24, 2019

Mr Terefenko's course is challenging but he gives you a wide variety of skills, tips and understandings to progress your involvement in both Jazz and music generally. He is very clever and also a wonderful source of inspiration. Complete the papers and you will learn lot's 🎼✔️!

By Luis Castrillón

Jan 22, 2019

Un curso fascinante, me hubiera encantado que tuviese subtitulos en español, asi lo hubiese aprovechado al máximo

By Numa Manuel Araujo Vasquez

Jan 06, 2019

Excelente!!!!!!!!!!