Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Well-Being

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Well-Being by Yale University

4.9
stars
23,986 ratings
8,921 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Top reviews

BT
Nov 26, 2019

Loved the practical "rewiring" assignments that helped me with understanding what really makes us happy. Not only this course changed my life perspective but enriched the lives of the people around me

SS
Aug 21, 2020

Amazing course and amazing instructor. The environment and vibes throughout were positive and helped me feel much happier and understand much more about looking at life through different perspectives.

Filter by:

8526 - 8550 of 8,921 Reviews for The Science of Well-Being

By DRA. R R

Jun 12, 2020

The information is very valuable and the way it is structured is great, however the certificate earned looks cheap and unprofessional like if anyone made it not from Yale University. Those like me who value the certificate as a way to show their new knowledge will be kind of disappointed on the way it looks. My plan was to share it on my LinkedIn profile and now I don't think it looks as something earned from a reputable source.

By Stephanie R

Jun 7, 2020

It was a really insightful and fun course. It really gets you thinking how am I contributing or taking away from my happiness. This course makes you see the difference and then the steps in order to make happiness more accessible than you think.

Just not sure how when people are peer reviewing that is your grade. If you feel like you answered all the questions but the other person doesn't, how does that get settled?

By Suresh A

May 2, 2020

Excellent course to differentiate work and happiness. Socializing and building relationships gives us long term happiness. If we savor there is happiness in every moment it multiplies if we share. There is happiness in being kind and showing gratitude. We can be physically fit by sleeping well and doing exercise. we can be mentally stable by meditation and yoga. Try to adopt new transformations by using WOOP.

By Terhi M

Aug 17, 2020

This was an excellent course, thank you! Usually I don't have the patience to watch videos for too long but Laurie was wonderful and it was a pleasure to listen to her. I must also say that for a non-native English speaker it was nice to listen to her - her way of presenting was clear and easy to follow. The only reason I didn't five 5 starts for this was that I feel there was a bit too much repetition.

By Tara B

Apr 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I found it reasonably smooth to complete. I put that down to my age and experience. I would certainly recommend it to pretty much everyone though as you will always come out with a bit more knowledge and understanding of how to be a life long learner in improving your own life and others around you, I thank you, Laurie, my peers on the course and the Yale team involved.

By yogita J

Mar 4, 2020

The course has given a deep insight about a lot of things which we know in general. It not only helped in acquiring knowledge but also helped us to put the acquired knowledge in practical use. I have started a few things after this course and it has really helped in my WELL BEING. I can see the difference in my life. Thank u COURSERA for such amazing courses. Laurie Santos was an amazing Coach.

By Steve L K

May 27, 2020

Great and easy to understand. The course at times has a strong focus on students (which is logical given the context the course was designed for them) but is well suitable for people of any stage in life. The course is intuitive and entertaining and I fully recommend to have a look at it if you need some fresh ideas on how to make some small but effective adjustments for a happier living.

By Brian

Jul 1, 2020

I loved the material and great insights. I thought the lectures and discussions were well presented.

My criticism was in that it was difficult to resign-in from different devices. I also had trouble following the

final project. It would have been helpful if this was further explained and showed a templet that indicated what you had to do to finish the course and links to all undone items.

By Elizabeth W

Mar 21, 2020

This course really helped me to improve my well-being over ten weeks, and left me with many useful tools to continue working with on my now in the future. There is a lot of research behind everything that is taught. This class is really easy and there is almost no work required other than practicing a rewirement in your own time. I would have like to have been challenged a bit more.

By Parag D S

Jun 28, 2020

This course help us to understand the importance of Happiness in better way. There are misconceptions regarding happines, we have to understand practicality of the human behavior.

This course will help you to understand the absolute importance of Happiness. We just don't need to comapre materiastic things with others. We have to experince our happiness, that will be Great for us.

By Maria C B V Y

Jul 4, 2020

I love this course! While the first few sessions are a bit heavy with lectures and concepts (I had to write my own notes to keep track week on week), I really like the rewirement challenge to get to practice what we learned. News flash, you are not going to get super new awesome things or strategies to be happy because thankfully, the things that make us happy are within reach.

By Naveen K

Aug 25, 2020

The course helps to understand about the insight of well being, its lets us know that what we are thinking will make us happy is actually not true and helps us to understand what really matters that will make us happy with proven evidence. Thanks for making the course available to all and thanks to professor Laurie Santos for her excellent lecturing. Highly recommended to all.

By Hiep P

Feb 24, 2020

Good course. Content is kept balanced between theory (research findings) and practice (practical strategies). Q&A sessions between the professor and Yale students and the discussions between her and the guest speakers brings more perspectives and insights to the topic in question. And remember, knowing is not enough, you need to take actions. Your well-being is in your hand!

By Jenn P

Jun 9, 2020

You get out of this course what you put in it-- but it's worth putting in the work to make yourself develop happier habits! Good lectures. Lots of good supplemental readings. I'm glad I took it. I walked away for a while because of illness, and then came back and really finished it when I needed the lessons here, because I was ready to really transform things for myself.

By Mica

Apr 21, 2020

This is a GREAT course, highly recommended for basically anyone. Thank you so much to Laurie and everyone that makes this course possible I'm super grateful I stumbled into it. Videos are short but instructive, activities are engaging and you can experience changes in your life just after a couple of weeks. Love the podcast and the app too!! Keep up the good work!

By Yuka K

Aug 30, 2020

The course itself was excellent and helped me find a way to stay mentally healthy. However, its peer-review grading system at the end of the course seems to be not working very well. I have to use google translator to review my peer, and the reviews I got later from different two people were not encouraging or supporting, which made me feel a little discouraged.

By Ugbor C U

Jul 16, 2020

It was a very interesting journey to learning new things about happiness that I initially did not know helps/affect my happiness, but taking this course has broaden my perspective and given me new tools(WOOP, rewirements, signature strengths etc) to help lead a better life.

Special thanks to the professor and authors of the resources used in this course.

By Tanya G

Aug 25, 2020

Life changing experience. I think it should be taught to all youngsters. The instructor was very warm and welcoming. The data and graphs were a bit boring after a point but otherwise it really nudges you to become aware of your default mode, your habits etc. and inspires you to introspect and change these habits in order to lead a happy, satisfied life.

By Shelby L P

Jun 23, 2020

Understanding the science behind feeling good is vital in these unprecedented times. No matter your age, everyone can gain valuable insight into how our brains are wired and why making lasting change can be difficult. I am so grateful to Yale, Laurie Santos and Coursera for making this experience available to us all. I am very happy I made the effort.

By Sofia H

May 10, 2020

Great course. Filled with many helpful studies that align with my life's experiences with respects to happiness. The online format here on Coursera was user-friendly and easy to navigate. My only frustration, is that while this is a non-credit class, I am disappointment the time investment in this course isn't listed on the completion certificate.

By Rosemary M N S

Mar 17, 2020

The contents are good for the original audience (young students) and who want to be nudged, be encouraged.

This format as a listener of a non-remote class was not of my best experiences, sometimes I got so bored because I didn't feel connected with the professor.

Anyway, it makes an effect, if you don't know where to start it's a good course.

By Brian T A

Jan 28, 2020

A great online course and format. I personally needed the knowledge I acquired from this course and the time spent on myself in a positive way. And that it was. I found it a bit tricky to stay on-pace over the Christmas break but that's me. Lot's of skills learned to put onto practice along with new concepts and human behavioral revelations.

By Kasia

Jul 7, 2018

It was a cool course. In the beginning it was a bit to easy, but later a lot of interesting studies appeared. The professor is very nice. 4 stars because it should be a little bit more challenging, at least the assignments should be a bit more demanding, this way the certificate would have more value. Thank you very much for the course!!!

By Fabiana Z

Jun 3, 2020

It was an exceptional course for my personal progress, incorporating new learning and methodologies for understanding and search happiness. My expectations were met, it has different media of information like videos, quizzes, surveys, etc. The teacher generates a quality relationship regardless being learning online, I recommend it

By Stephanie H

Jul 6, 2020

Good class and the professor is great. If you are not a young, college student be prepared for not so relatable examples at times and the word "like" used in almost every sentence from each speaker. Other than that, a very useful course. I'm now meditating every day because of it and that's helping in other areas of my life.