Chevron Left
Back to The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.5
stars
383 ratings
103 reviews

About the Course

From small farms to urban neighborhoods, from the region itself to the more distant worlds of the southern diaspora, we discover the stories, music, and art of the American South....

Top reviews

ES
Aug 13, 2015

One of the greatest courses I ever followed!\n\nInteresting, documentary, not even one minute boring, very well organized and easy to follow.\n\nMusic is part of our history.

CC
Aug 25, 2015

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 103 Reviews for The American South: Its Stories, Music, and Art

By Lynette O

Nov 1, 2015

This was a wonderful class! A great intro to the culture of the south.

By Jasmine H

Jul 19, 2020

arts,music,history interact with race, class, gender in America South

By Anastasia P

Jul 2, 2021

An excellent course. Perfect for entering the world of the Folklore

By Mikhail A

Mar 10, 2016

Just started this, but in love with all this stories and music.

By LEE H

Apr 23, 2020

I never expected that South America has such variety cultures!

By Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

I learned so much about the South that I didn't already know.

By Tony A

Dec 7, 2015

Great course, lots of fun and some great music and culture.

By MALAMATENIA G

Dec 27, 2020

This course is really a treasure I've recently discovered!

By Cansu U

Feb 9, 2021

Thanks to Dr. William Ferris, I have learned a lot!

By phunguyen

Dec 26, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. Very interesting!

By Archana A

Jun 19, 2020

The course was very interesting and inspiring.

By Juan V

Nov 10, 2015

Was an hell of a ride! Enjoyed it thoroughly.

By Paulette B

Oct 26, 2019

Thank you for presenting this information.

By John W

Dec 17, 2015

An excellent and thought provoking course.

By Esther R

Dec 16, 2020

Really interesting. Lots of good content

By Dario

Jun 23, 2016

Very interesting, great professor

By Carmen B

Sep 30, 2015

Very interesting and informative.

By David L M

Jun 13, 2020

Absolutely loved this course.

By Samanta G P

Apr 11, 2019

Excepcional! Me encanto!

By Deniz N E B T

Dec 16, 2015

So much fun! Very inter

By Daniel G

May 2, 2020

A lot of fun. thanks

By P G

Oct 23, 2019

Excellent content

By Joao P A

Jun 25, 2018

Excellent!!

By Tim R

May 1, 2018

Fantastic!

By Shelton D

Nov 19, 2016

I think some very tough choices were made to fit the course online. It is a successful course, but you can tell that a more in depth version of the course would probably be exciting. You would certainly go further, if you were enrolled at Chapel Hill, and had a couple semesters to contemplate the topic.

The instructor is a person who made his own videos and recordings of local storytellers, artists and musicians over a long period of time. You can tell he is a very active collector of local lore. So, he tries to feature this material, sensibly. Some of this material you was great.

On the other hand; the knowledge of the course is really only a beginning to what could be learned. For example, when mentioning the photographers or painters of the South, you are not able to see a large number of their pictures. Likewise, when talking about the major writers, such as Faulkner, you do not get to read many longer excerpts of their work. This course provides the names to reference; starting points for further study. The instructor trusts you to investigate these resources on your own.