Chevron Left
Back to Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
1,273 ratings
400 reviews

About the Course

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

Top reviews

MC
Mar 14, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

CH
Jan 6, 2021

I loved taking this course. I learned a lot (The first course I did was DINO 101 and I wanted to dig deeper). The teachers are really passionate and engaging. Cannot wait to do the others courses!

Filter by:

376 - 397 of 397 Reviews for Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

By Dr. J S

Mar 25, 2016

Perfect course. I learned lot of stuff and really enjoyed it. I am only giving 4 stars because as a non-paying student I could not benefit from the graded assignments. As person who would never use the knowledge professionally (working in IT), I did not want to pay for the certificate.

By Stephanie V

Aug 17, 2017

Interesting and very informative. Well-presented and engaging videos. These were often quite long though (25 - 30 mins) and could perhaps have been broken down into two smaller chunks which would have made the information (of which there was lots) more digestible.

By David D

Jan 25, 2019

Great course. My first thoughts were learning about bird evolution might need seem all that interesting but because it all starts with the dinosaurs we are somewhat familiar with, this approach makes it highly stimulating.

Well spoken and well presented.

By Skylore M

Jul 2, 2017

The course is exceptional, but loses track near the end. In the beginning it has detailed taxonomical images of relevant bone-structure which is entirely missing by the final chapter.

By Joe H

Mar 11, 2021

Excellent course! Very thorough. Very knowledgable presenters. Loved how well the course was laid out. I with there could be more interactive activities like the dinosaur foot!

By Angel A M

Apr 11, 2017

Es un curso muy útil ya que nos enseña como fue el proceso de evolución de los dinosaurios para finalmente convertirse en voladores..

By Cindy L

Mar 17, 2020

Fantastic course on theropods, I just wish they went a bit more into detail with some of the anatomy

By kim p

Sep 14, 2017

I really liked the subject of this course. I love to see more bird related courses

By Maria W O

Mar 30, 2016

Overall good course, although at times narrow understanding of right answers.

By Rebecca E

Feb 22, 2016

Very interesting course, kept me involved and was very interactive.

By Joy S

Mar 9, 2016

Tough to pass. Great scientific info. Instructor born to teach.

By Clotilde D

Feb 2, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

By Erick J A O

Mar 20, 2016

I'd like to be able to take a free version of the quizzes.

By omkar s

Aug 27, 2019

Enjoyed knowing how these dinosaurs evolved over time

By Tom H

Mar 3, 2016

Really interesting, nicely presented.

By Javier

Jun 17, 2017

Podrían poner traducción al español

By Richard K

May 26, 2017

well done

By leslie l

Mar 9, 2016

These courses on Ancient Life Evolution are best when they discuss how species developed, how they adapted and how they were discovered. The laundry listing of species in some of the lectures was a snooze fest however. It also repeated what was in other lectures for the week. I would have preferred more information on the ecosystem in which the critters dwelled. The Ancient Marine Reptile class did a much better job of presenting this info although it did some laundry listing.

By jill a l

Mar 10, 2016

The course has incredible content, but you are required to read quite a bit of information via lengthy pdfs prior to the videos. This is not my learning style so I found it challenging.

As a Naturalist and bird lover, I was eager to take the course and glad that I did.

By steve p

Dec 22, 2018

Very general content material. I enjoyed Dr. Currie, but found the presenter to be smug and pedantic

By Tracy A

Nov 21, 2019

Bit too easy, bit too short, but interesting and nice videos and course notes

By Kent R C

Mar 5, 2016

Interesting subject, but not much content and assessments are way too short. More variety in assignments would be nice too.