Chevron Left
Back to Trading Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Trading Basics by Indian School of Business

4.0
stars
1,509 ratings
393 reviews

About the Course

The purpose of this course is to equip you with the knowledge required to comprehend the financial statements of a company and understand the various transactions that take place in the stock market so that you can replicate the strategies discovered by the extant academic literature. The first part of the course provides a brief introduction to financial statements and various common filings of firms. You will learn how to obtain information regarding a company's performance from them and use the information to build trading strategies. Next, you are taught basic asset pricing theories so that you will be able to calculate the expected returns of a stock or a portfolio. Finally, you will be introduced to the actual functioning of asset markets, type of players in the market, different types of orders and the efficient ways and opportune time to execute them, trading costs and ways of minimizing them, the concept of liquidity .etc. This knowledge is required to develop efficient algorithm to execute various trading strategies....

Top reviews

UP
Jun 19, 2020

The tutor has clearly explained various concept of trading, investment and risk with examples. I have learned about finance ratio, cost, financial statement and trading.

SV
May 16, 2020

The course was taught in a really nice way with all the math presented clearly. The professor made sure that the topics were easy and at the same time relevant.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 387 Reviews for Trading Basics

By GurudasBhat 0 C S

Jul 7, 2020

Great course to get introduced to fundamental analysis. Gets a bit messy as videos are missing in week 3. Would not really recommend this.

By Ion J P 1

Jun 19, 2020

There is no proper explanation for the topics in the course and there are many errors in the course as well as the quizzes taken place .

By Sahil B

Jun 19, 2020

Week 3 and 4 - difficult to understand as most of the topics are half explained and extensive use of formula with very less explanation

By Mario M

Feb 7, 2017

The course is excellent, but there is mistakes in quiz and the forum participation is null. Professor nor your staff reply the forums.

By Lâm V T

Apr 18, 2020

Week 3 is totally out of place and extremely difficult to understand. I needed to study mostly from outside to pass the test.

By yash k

Apr 6, 2021

there are errors in the slides ; the course content is carried out in a very robotic manner ; but i really learned a lot

By Hannan A

Jul 16, 2020

3rd and 4th weeks are full of mathematical formulae. Need bit more explanation and feel like typical classroom lectures.

By Prasad S

Jun 18, 2017

Good course for trading basics. would have rated 4 or above (if some typos on slides in week 3 & 4 are looked into)

By PARTH S

Apr 3, 2020

there could have been more teachings just the breif about f&o and was the main purpose i started this course

By Arturo M

Feb 4, 2017

A bit complex topics for just an introductory course.

Nevertheless interesting explanation on CAPM and ABT.

By Vasu C

Jun 19, 2019

I think the question and answers of week 4 quiz should be rechecked as there are some wrong answers.

By Marco L V M

Jan 28, 2021

I think it's a good starter course, but the professor could a little bit more effort into teaching.

By Silvio J R G

Dec 28, 2016

The course is really interessant, I will like more practical examples to complement the theory.

By Alberto V M R M

Apr 11, 2018

Por momentos va demasiado rápido y los datos que da no están todo lo claro que deberían estar

By Jiun L K

Aug 13, 2020

Some questions were really messy and pop up questions on videos should have explanations.

By Shushant G

Aug 29, 2020

the professor was too monotonous and there were too many voice glitches in the audio

By Kaushal

Apr 30, 2020

It was a nice course and I learnt what I wanted to but the it was not well managed

By Divyam J

Jul 7, 2020

Need feedback for quizzes. Cannot for the life of me figure out what I did wrong

By Jorge S L

Aug 14, 2020

The lessons are poorly explained. It is like the professor is reading the news

By Lucas C

Feb 21, 2021

Topics are not deeply explained. Some practical applications would be great.

By STEVIN G

Apr 26, 2020

Some of the examples used in lectures in the week 3 were difficult to grasp.

By Tomas M

Dec 29, 2018

There are a lots of mistakes and misspellings in those learning videos.

By Shivam G

May 4, 2020

videos are not having enough information to solve all types of problem

By Praveen Z

Jan 5, 2018

The course was thorough and provided the basics of trading quite well.

By Mohit L

Jun 4, 2020

There are several discrepancies in the videos. Please update the same