Chevron Left
Back to Trading Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Trading Basics by Indian School of Business

4.0
stars
1,507 ratings
393 reviews

About the Course

The purpose of this course is to equip you with the knowledge required to comprehend the financial statements of a company and understand the various transactions that take place in the stock market so that you can replicate the strategies discovered by the extant academic literature. The first part of the course provides a brief introduction to financial statements and various common filings of firms. You will learn how to obtain information regarding a company's performance from them and use the information to build trading strategies. Next, you are taught basic asset pricing theories so that you will be able to calculate the expected returns of a stock or a portfolio. Finally, you will be introduced to the actual functioning of asset markets, type of players in the market, different types of orders and the efficient ways and opportune time to execute them, trading costs and ways of minimizing them, the concept of liquidity .etc. This knowledge is required to develop efficient algorithm to execute various trading strategies....

Top reviews

UP
Jun 19, 2020

The tutor has clearly explained various concept of trading, investment and risk with examples. I have learned about finance ratio, cost, financial statement and trading.

SV
May 16, 2020

The course was taught in a really nice way with all the math presented clearly. The professor made sure that the topics were easy and at the same time relevant.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 387 Reviews for Trading Basics

By ARUN K

May 28, 2020

For Week 3, there were lectures missing and wan't able to follow it.

By Arnab B

Jan 16, 2018

Reduced 2 ratings because of week 3 which is highly unorganized.

By Dipak K D

Aug 30, 2018

The explanations for the materials could have have lot better.

By Heytor B N

May 17, 2018

There's a lot of wrong or mistyped info during the course.

By Chirag S

Jun 3, 2020

Not being able to see the quiz feedback was a big issue.

By Diya K

Jul 28, 2020

last week topics were not explained thoroughly enough

By BHAGAT A V

Jul 27, 2020

Professor only reads slides, explains nothing

By Priyam S

Jul 3, 2020

some insights were not clearly explained

By Vijeth R

Feb 12, 2017

Very factual. Hard to grasp and follow.

By Aman M

Aug 31, 2020

not satisfied by way of teaching

By Bhole B

Nov 27, 2020

Didn't like the course.

By Ashutosh S R

Aug 1, 2020

need more examples

By Prakash M

Aug 8, 2020

AVERAGE COURSE

By Jones A G

Apr 17, 2020

If the total duration of videos is approximately 4 hours, the faculty was reading only the numbers for 2.5 hours and was just reading definitions like a robot for another 1.5 hours. Since I already had an exposure to Financial Accounting, I was able to understand the concepts in Weeks 1 and 2. Those who don't have any knowledge of finance kindly don't take up this course. Though the content is for beginners, the videos, examples along with the faculty fail miserably to articulate the content. The video has audio issues, editing issues and few videos are missing as well. Basically only 5-10% of the concepts get explained and the remaining concepts are like hanging threads. I have to read the concepts from other websites to make things clear.

By Utkarsh C

Apr 25, 2020

I would give this course a 3 start because of certain pros and cons, So it has

decent explanation for beginners and a good way to introduce topics and explain them properly

Although the examples chosen and explained in a certain way or not very relatable, easy to grasp, and not presented in a proper statement to make it easy for beginners to understand.

Supplementary Material such as Case Slide Pdf and Excel Solution files are also missing apart from that there was also some error in the Last Graded Assessment which wasted around 50 mins of time because of that missing information.

Overall, Only go for this course if you have a basic background for finance and wouldn't recommend it to any new in this domain.

By Manan K

Jun 23, 2020

The course structure and syllabus are good but its execution is quite poor. Although the syllabus covers a good amount of basics, the emphasis is given on the memorization of a lot of terms (as evident in the quizzes). Moreover, in all the videos the instructor plainly reads out the slides in an exact and automated fashion and Week 3 material (CAPM, APT, etc.) creates a lot of ambiguity and confusion. Overall, if you wish to enrich your financial vocabulary, go for this course but if you are looking to understand these ideas then probably go for some other resources like Damodaran Online, etc.

By Jay A

Jul 12, 2020

The formulae for various calculations were rushed and not explained properly, considering this is a basics course, they should have clearly explained the formulae rather than just stating the items in it. Moreover, after you complete the quizzes or on-screen pop-up questions, they give a simple feedback of "correct" or "incorrect" only, this feedback should be included with a small explanation of how you came to the selected answer so that students have a chance of verifying the methods that they used to get the answer.

By Nick N

Sep 6, 2020

This course is very robotic, superficial, and lazily produced. I have taken multiple courses on this platform and I can say, without a doubt, this is the worst one I have come across. The videos are exceptionally boring, and consist of the speaker simply staring at the camera reading off of a teleprompter the entire time, every time.

While the course (attempts to) covers simply the basics, I would recommend watching YouTube videos and reading on sites such as investopedia.com for a better understanding of trading.

By Nishant Z

Jul 5, 2020

The concepts were explained in a hurry and not in detail, more time should have been spent on the concepts. There were a lot of discrepancies between the speech and the slides shown such as in some cases the number did not match. Also in certain quiz, the options available did not match the correct solution of the given questions, and end the of the quiz i could see a proper feedback where i analyze where i went wrong.

By Kartik S

Jan 1, 2018

It takes more than one go at a video to comprehend, the teaching pace is very fast, the quizzes don't show where we went wrong and incorrect video editing/cutting skips some concepts.

The course is useful somewhat but needs a lot of improvement in terms of making students understand. Also, active participation in the discussion forum is healthy and appreciated from mentors.

By Suryansh C

Dec 3, 2020

Multiple topics have not been explained in the depth required by the quizes. Numericals that should have been available through excel are being narrated by the instructor which is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. I feel like this even demeans my country.the way things are taught in my country. It's just sad.

By Noor A

Jul 31, 2020

the course content is great and so are the instructors but the course is so poorly designed and poorly maintained and without any updates it is just a bad course I struggled a lot and thought if I was dumb to pass this course but I was wrong finally I made it through the discussion forum thanks to them!

By SASWAT P

Jul 23, 2020

Although the videos are very informative, the quiz has a lot of bugs. Even if I mark all answers right, the score is stuck at 60%. There are a lot of complaints in the forum but there has been no response from the team. Even after you attempt a quiz, you will not be able to see the feedback.

By Saurabh P

May 18, 2020

The course is not about trading at all. In 3 chapters teacher taught us to read financial statements and ratios which is not a part of technical analysis. In the last chapter teaching about types of order is very bad. No introduction to technical analysis at all.

By Vaibhav K

Jun 15, 2020

In Week 4 a lot of things were covered but the quiz was from last 2 videos completely when there were a total of 11-12 videos. Also, this course looks more of an investment course in first 2 weeks, then it looks like a trading course in last 2 weeks.