Chevron Left
Back to Trading Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Trading Basics by Indian School of Business

4.2
569 ratings
129 reviews

About the Course

The purpose of this course is to equip you with the knowledge required to comprehend the financial statements of a company and understand the various transactions that take place in the stock market so that you can replicate the strategies discovered by the extant academic literature. The first part of the course provides a brief introduction to financial statements and various common filings of firms. You will learn how to obtain information regarding a company's performance from them and use the information to build trading strategies. Next, you are taught basic asset pricing theories so that you will be able to calculate the expected returns of a stock or a portfolio. Finally, you will be introduced to the actual functioning of asset markets, type of players in the market, different types of orders and the efficient ways and opportune time to execute them, trading costs and ways of minimizing them, the concept of liquidity .etc. This knowledge is required to develop efficient algorithm to execute various trading strategies....

Top reviews

NS

Jan 08, 2017

Good insights and must for a person who is seriously interested in trading ,\n\nAny one with a zero knowledge of finance can also take this course.

DB

Aug 17, 2017

It is perfect for even beginners to learn basics of trading fundamentals and apply it for advanced studies. Recommend this to everyone.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 126 Reviews for Trading Basics

By Pavel C P

Nov 06, 2017

The course is very good at quick introduction in trading world. Basic terms and the fundamentals building blocks to understand the trading operations.

However, i found a miss taping in key examples that consume a some time to know where the number come from. I think the proper file for download could be available.

By Tomas M

Dec 29, 2018

There are a lots of mistakes and misspellings in those learning videos.

By Praveen Z

Jan 05, 2018

The course was thorough and provided the basics of trading quite well.

By Raghav A

Jan 21, 2018

The course does not provide a lot of questions with well explained answers. There should be additional resources which include questions about the material because the questions in between the lectures were very easy and irrelevant in my opinion. These additional resources I mention, should have questions and answers with lengthy explanations so that one can get a better picture of what we are learning.

By Arnab B

Jan 16, 2018

Reduced 2 ratings because of week 3 which is highly unorganized.

By Silvio J R G

Dec 28, 2016

The course is really interessant, I will like more practical examples to complement the theory.

By Kostas P

Jun 27, 2017

Good overview of trade basics

Presentation could be improved on passing on the message and less focusing on reading the numbers in the examples.

By Onur Ö

Jan 19, 2017

Although it delves into key elements of trading where it really matters, course lacks explanation on some subjects. Course progresses monotonously.

By Arturo M

Feb 04, 2017

A bit complex topics for just an introductory course.

Nevertheless interesting explanation on CAPM and ABT.

By Vijeth R

Feb 12, 2017

Very factual. Hard to grasp and follow.

By Daesik K

Jul 03, 2017

It was a good intro course. There were few typos in the presentations. Few courses do not provide a transcript. One thing I really didn't like is that there is no answer or explanation for a quiz. I used the discussion forum, yet there is still no reply.

By Knut H H

Nov 14, 2016

Skillful instructor, but terrible technical setup, and plenty of faults in the lecture slides in the videos. Also the audio-quality is poor.

By Prasad S

Jun 18, 2017

Good course for trading basics. would have rated 4 or above (if some typos on slides in week 3 & 4 are looked into)

By pallav s

Aug 13, 2017

The teacher spends more time on uncessary things like reciting the whole equation whih is clearly visible on the screen and topics which could have been expalined in a better way

By Heytor B N

May 17, 2018

There's a lot of wrong or mistyped info during the course.

By Alberto V M R M

Apr 11, 2018

Por momentos va demasiado rápido y los datos que da no están todo lo claro que deberían estar

By Dipak K D

Aug 30, 2018

The explanations for the materials could have have lot better.

By Vasu C

Jun 19, 2019

I think the question and answers of week 4 quiz should be rechecked as there are some wrong answers.

By Ramanuj C

Jun 01, 2019

There's no question on the quality of the course. It is very informative. But some content could have been better explained with supplementary reading exercises. The 4th week reading link is broken. The spreadsheet as promised in video is not provided. This could have been a more enjoyable session, had all the factors been kept into mind. I believe a revision is required for this course.

By Timothy L

Jul 26, 2017

Week 1 and Week 2 was good and informative. However, I feel a lot more information could be added and method to be implemented can be shown. Week 3 and Week 4, I felt so out of place, I feel it is unnecessary on this stage and also it was very hard to absorb the content.

By Mario R M

Feb 07, 2017

The course is excellent, but there is mistakes in quiz and the forum participation is null. Professor nor your staff reply the forums.

By Suraj P

Feb 21, 2019

Course is very good for beginners, but it has some mistakes which users has pointed out but hasn't been fixed.

Will recommend to fix the typo errors as receivers may be following up the in-correct teachings.

Thus 3 stars. Would have marked 5 star if the mistakes would had been fixed in time.

By Shivam A

Feb 27, 2017

One of the best lecture series for beginners like me. Some of the statistical concepts should have been explained better, but once you get past that, you appreciate the logic in the trading system.

By prathmesh j

Jan 26, 2017

the technicalities are not elucidated by giving practical examples in simple terms. For example, the FAMA FRENCH model has been explained thoroughly but not told how to apply in real market. Also , how to calculate the expected returns from a stock has been taught using beta , but whats the duration of the returns if one buys the stock in the middle of the year.( for example I calculate returns of a stock Q using CAPM and I get 15%, then how should I interpret this in the real market scenario where I am investing in the middle of the fiscal year.

By Scoodood

Dec 23, 2018

Confusing; Quiz with no solution, don't know if it is right or wrong; TA is not responding to messages