Chevron Left
Back to Transformation of the Global Food System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Transformation of the Global Food System by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
770 ratings

About the Course

The UN predicts we will be 9-10 billion people on Earth in 2050. Providing so many people with nutritious foods is a massive challenge and one that cannot be met by simply upscaling current practices regarding food production and consumption. Providing humanity with nutritional food is at the center of all decisions related to sustainable development. Agriculture is responsible for 80% of global deforestation. The food systems release 29% of global greenhouse gasses. We use an area equivalent to North and South America combined for the production of meat for consumption or to produce the food necessary to feed the animals we eat. 70% of fresh water use is related to agriculture. These figures are staggering, and they show us, that we need to rethink and transform the way we produce, distribute and consume food worldwide. This course focuses on how food systems can become more sustainable. It consists of four modules where each focuses on an essential ingredient towards developing more sustainable food systems: (1) Boosting the small, (2) Transforming the big, (3) Losing less and (4) Eating smarter. In each of these key areas, we will meet people from different countries around the world, who labor every day to find and spread solutions that work. Connecting the challenges that must be overcome to develop a sustainable global food system with the solutions being developed by the amazing group of people you meet in this course has been a huge source of inspiration for me. I truly believe that the global food system can be transformed to sustainably meet the needs of 9-10 billion people and, with this course, I dare you to join me!...

Top reviews

RW

Oct 29, 2020

This was a fantastic course and along with the other course in the sustainable development goals has only highlighted my interest in continuing this on after my masters research into a PhD. Thank you!

HM

Jul 11, 2022

Thank you for giving me very production time and valuable information on transformation of global food system. I understand better now what is my role in this challenging, but possible process.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 206 Reviews for Transformation of the Global Food System

By SHARMEEN N

Sep 9, 2021

The course is really amazing. It helps you realize what is actually needed for our planet. And teaches us how we can contribute in the transformation to achieve food sustainability.

THANK YOU

By Anje d J

Sep 6, 2021

Very interesting and eye-opening course. I like that it showed food systems around the world and presented a well-rounded view of the challenges but also potential solutions that we have.

By Gelyn d G

Oct 20, 2020

Very substanstial course 😍 I enjoyed the content so much. Its not like a typical course where teacher is teaching the subject matter. In here, its like you're watching a documentary 😍

By Sara K

Aug 26, 2020

Very interesting course. I recommend it for every person who cares about protecting the environment and who wants to lead a healthier life in a better world for the future generations.

By Anne G

May 3, 2022

Great information and instruction! This course opened my eyes to new possibilities and topics that I plan to pursue. Everyone can and should take this course and apply to their lives.

By JON F F

Jun 17, 2022

Very well designed and produced, is both entertaining and provides you with a fanstastic overview of the topic as well as with in depth documentation. It is brilliant, and inspiring

By Temitayo D O

Jun 15, 2022

I really learned a lot from this course on Agriculture, Agroforestry, climate change and sustainable food systems. Thank you to all the speakers and contributing authors.

By soumaya z

Aug 11, 2020

I found this course is very useful and full of information that can help anybody to understand more about transformation of the Global Food System. I highly recommend it.

By Gabriel A F G

Aug 26, 2020

Curso muy interesante que muestra cómo se está transformando el sector agrícola. Muestra algunos casos, principalmente de Nigeria, Costa Rica, Dinamarca y Países Bajos.

By Ingrid M

Dec 28, 2020

Great course! I never imagined that a course with this level is here in Coursera. Take advantage of this course, learn and improve the world by agriculture and nature

By Kirstie W

Jun 17, 2020

Brilliantly conceived and put together course covering the key touch points for sustainable food production moving forward, well done to the University of Copenhagen.

By Elizabeth

Mar 21, 2021

Great course that uses contemporary examples from across the world to highlight examples of sustainable farming, awareness campaigns, and policy initiatives.

By Brandi C

Mar 9, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. There were a lot of great videos and the information was from reliable sources. It also included different areas of the world.

By ELIJAH D I A

Aug 10, 2020

Eye-opener and inspirational. Gives you an in depth view of the world's agricultural system and food value chain. Learned lots of lessons from this course!

By Diana A

Aug 30, 2020

This was a great course! I really enjoyed really informative and provides a global perspective. I layouts the food systems problem and possible solutions.

By Natascha K

Aug 10, 2020

Short but very dense course that provides an overview n measures to make food production more sustainable. Highly recommended to anyone who eats food! ;)

By Karthik

Sep 14, 2020

An excellent course. I highly recommend taking this course for someone who needs to gain an understanding of Food systems in a sustainability context.

By Guohao J

May 15, 2021

Great course with detailed explaination and case studies, leading the students to think what could have done better or what can be futher explored.

By Tofunmi I

Jun 30, 2022

The lectures were interesting and captivating. The examples and illustrations that were used by the educators were very practical and informative.

By Laura P

Jan 5, 2021

Great course highly recommended. It has covered in a precised, but not too extensive manner all the important stakeholders of the food system.

By Joel E A

Jul 28, 2020

The course was very informative and shows the transformations we need in the global food system in order to make this earth habitable by 20250

By Kevin J

Aug 30, 2020

Excellent course. Very well put together and helps to give a better understanding on the problems regarding food production and management.

By Sherlene K R F

Nov 22, 2020

Worth-taking course since it really opens your mind to a broad perspective on how to sustain the food system for the next years to come.

By Richard P

Sep 24, 2020

I learn how be future transformation global food system being. Thats idea is verry good to our children tomorrow. Thanks a lot

By Iulia M P

Oct 24, 2021

While I am not a newbie in the field, I learnt of quite a few great initiatives and have more up to date facts. Many thanks!