Chevron Left
Back to Transformation of the Global Food System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Transformation of the Global Food System by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
862 ratings

About the Course

The UN predicts we will be 9-10 billion people on Earth in 2050. Providing so many people with nutritious foods is a massive challenge and one that cannot be met by simply upscaling current practices regarding food production and consumption. Providing humanity with nutritional food is at the center of all decisions related to sustainable development. Agriculture is responsible for 80% of global deforestation. The food systems release 29% of global greenhouse gasses. We use an area equivalent to North and South America combined for the production of meat for consumption or to produce the food necessary to feed the animals we eat. 70% of fresh water use is related to agriculture. These figures are staggering, and they show us, that we need to rethink and transform the way we produce, distribute and consume food worldwide. This course focuses on how food systems can become more sustainable. It consists of four modules where each focuses on an essential ingredient towards developing more sustainable food systems: (1) Boosting the small, (2) Transforming the big, (3) Losing less and (4) Eating smarter. In each of these key areas, we will meet people from different countries around the world, who labor every day to find and spread solutions that work. Connecting the challenges that must be overcome to develop a sustainable global food system with the solutions being developed by the amazing group of people you meet in this course has been a huge source of inspiration for me. I truly believe that the global food system can be transformed to sustainably meet the needs of 9-10 billion people and, with this course, I dare you to join me!...

Top reviews

RW

Oct 29, 2020

This was a fantastic course and along with the other course in the sustainable development goals has only highlighted my interest in continuing this on after my masters research into a PhD. Thank you!

SN

Sep 8, 2021

The course is really amazing. It helps you realize what is actually needed for our planet. And teaches us how we can contribute in the transformation to achieve food sustainability.

THANK YOU

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 222 Reviews for Transformation of the Global Food System

By Leslie M

Oct 25, 2020

The course taught me a lot about how simple or small actions especially in the agricultural sector have a huge impact on sustainability. This is a great course for everyone as it affects the entire planet.

By Sachin S

Jun 19, 2020

Excellent course. In the era of sustainable development and the future goals, where 800 million people have no access to food, this course stands as a practical solution to the problem. Thank you mentors.

By Vijaishree S

Aug 26, 2020

It has been a wonderful experience to get to know the future trends in Agriculture.Thank you Dr.Richardson for the exposure you and your team provided to make this field a successful and sustainable one

By Nina L

Dec 2, 2020

This course gave me a good insight in the agri-food industry sector and what is needed in the coming years mainly to decrease the environmental impacts but also touching upon other sustainable matters.

By Rachael W

Oct 30, 2020

This was a fantastic course and along with the other course in the sustainable development goals has only highlighted my interest in continuing this on after my masters research into a PhD. Thank you!

By JOSÉ F D O S

Dec 3, 2021

Muito obrigado pelo curso. O curso trouxe várias informações importantes de como os seres humanos devem se comportar em relação às mudanças nos hábitos alimentares e na harmonia com o meio ambiente.

By SHARMEEN N

Sep 9, 2021

The course is really amazing. It helps you realize what is actually needed for our planet. And teaches us how we can contribute in the transformation to achieve food sustainability.

THANK YOU

By Anje d J

Sep 6, 2021

Very interesting and eye-opening course. I like that it showed food systems around the world and presented a well-rounded view of the challenges but also potential solutions that we have.

By Gelyn d G

Oct 20, 2020

Very substanstial course 😍 I enjoyed the content so much. Its not like a typical course where teacher is teaching the subject matter. In here, its like you're watching a documentary 😍

By Sara K

Aug 26, 2020

Very interesting course. I recommend it for every person who cares about protecting the environment and who wants to lead a healthier life in a better world for the future generations.

By Anne G

May 3, 2022

Great information and instruction! This course opened my eyes to new possibilities and topics that I plan to pursue. Everyone can and should take this course and apply to their lives.

By JON F F

Jun 17, 2022

Very well designed and produced, is both entertaining and provides you with a fanstastic overview of the topic as well as with in depth documentation. It is brilliant, and inspiring

By Temitayo O

Jun 15, 2022

I really learned a lot from this course on Agriculture, Agroforestry, climate change and sustainable food systems. Thank you to all the speakers and contributing authors.

By soumaya z

Aug 11, 2020

I found this course is very useful and full of information that can help anybody to understand more about transformation of the Global Food System. I highly recommend it.

By Gabriel A F G

Aug 26, 2020

Curso muy interesante que muestra cómo se está transformando el sector agrícola. Muestra algunos casos, principalmente de Nigeria, Costa Rica, Dinamarca y Países Bajos.

By Ingrid M

Dec 28, 2020

Great course! I never imagined that a course with this level is here in Coursera. Take advantage of this course, learn and improve the world by agriculture and nature

By Kirstie W

Jun 17, 2020

Brilliantly conceived and put together course covering the key touch points for sustainable food production moving forward, well done to the University of Copenhagen.

By Elizabeth

Mar 21, 2021

Great course that uses contemporary examples from across the world to highlight examples of sustainable farming, awareness campaigns, and policy initiatives.

By Brandi C

Mar 9, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. There were a lot of great videos and the information was from reliable sources. It also included different areas of the world.

By ELIJAH D I A

Aug 10, 2020

Eye-opener and inspirational. Gives you an in depth view of the world's agricultural system and food value chain. Learned lots of lessons from this course!

By Diana A

Aug 30, 2020

This was a great course! I really enjoyed really informative and provides a global perspective. I layouts the food systems problem and possible solutions.

By Natascha K

Aug 10, 2020

Short but very dense course that provides an overview n measures to make food production more sustainable. Highly recommended to anyone who eats food! ;)

By Karthik

Sep 14, 2020

An excellent course. I highly recommend taking this course for someone who needs to gain an understanding of Food systems in a sustainability context.

By Guohao J

May 15, 2021

Great course with detailed explaination and case studies, leading the students to think what could have done better or what can be futher explored.

By Tofunmi I

Jun 30, 2022

The lectures were interesting and captivating. The examples and illustrations that were used by the educators were very practical and informative.