Chevron Left
Back to Types of Conflict

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Types of Conflict by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
949 ratings

About the Course

Conflict is everywhere and it is impossible to avoid conflicting viewpoints. However, not all conflict is bad, nor is it inherently negative. How conflict is handled makes all the difference. It is through proper identification and understanding of conflict that allows for effective resolutions, some of which may yield positive outcomes. In this course, we will examine the different types of conflict, how to understand and embrace the positive aspects of conflict, and how to successfully navigate conflict to positive resolution. This course presents the material though video lessons, case studies, and interviews. In each module students will be presented with in-video quiz questions to test their understanding. To further their mastery of the content students will also be asked to complete two peer reviewed assignments. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the different types of conflict 2. Illustrate the positive aspects of conflict 3. Provide examples of positive ways to deal with conflict...

Top reviews

DN

Mar 9, 2021

Great course! I learned very insightful approaches to conflict. Also, there are plenty of excellent literature the instructor prescribes as complementary reading that enriches the learning experience.

DC

Sep 6, 2019

Understanding the types of conflict will allow for clearer directions on resolution to said conflicts. Understanding that conflict can allow growth of a team is helpful in one's everyday business.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 234 Reviews for Types of Conflict

By 002 k c

Oct 2, 2020

Nice

By GAURAV B

Sep 25, 2020

good

By Mary C G

Aug 10, 2020

good

By Ibeh D N

May 10, 2018

Good

By Sapana P

May 31, 2020

Ver

By Tiémoko O

Jan 28, 2017

E

By Giulia

Sep 8, 2020

Good balance between theory and practical knowledge. I liked that only relevant information was included. As I am a clinical psychologist, I would have preferred a more neutral approach to conflict rather than ONLY company / employees (organizational) focused. For example, talking about conflict in the home environment (family, spouse, etc).

By Michael R

Jun 3, 2016

Platitudes and generalizations. The interviews with real people are the only redeeming factor. I wasn't impressed.

By Jennifer P

Mar 18, 2018

Very basic information. I was looking for more thorough investigation into conflict management. Thanks

By Felipe C

Jul 3, 2020

Falta bastante contenido, bastante.

By Mateja K

Oct 5, 2020

This course was a huge disappointment, by far the worst Coursera course so far. To begin with, the user interface was one the worst. It was tedious to find my way through the course and annoying pop-ups kept interrupting my work. It also wasn't clear from the course's title and description that this course only deals with the conflicts in organizations and can hardly be applied to life in general. The videos were boring and were basically nothing but the instructor talking to the camera and some dramatized scenes that would have been better left out altogether. The cases she presented were for the most part irrelevant and unconvincing. There was very little if any additional materials and sources presented during the course, and I found it all highly confusing and disorganized. The only somewhat interesting part were the interviews where real people from real companies shared their experiences.

By Oedhel S

Apr 27, 2019

Requirement for peer reviews and lack of people actively taking the course seems to limit how fast you can actually do this course. The instruction lacked real emphasis on the important terms to pay attention to, leaving you rewatching videos and searching the transcript only to leave you googling the concepts and feeling confused anyways. At the end of the day, the peer reviews should have been multiple choice, as they were effectively asking you for one dimensional concepts. I don't feel I walked away with any additional information.

By Isaac M H G

Nov 2, 2021

It's a good course, the best of it are the interviews with people giving you effective tips of real-life situation. There are three courses that could have fit perfectly in one course but that's my opinion. I didn't like that it was very repetive with some topics, but it was good at the end.

By Kyle G

Aug 9, 2021

Great course with plenty of information. The lessons are followed up with interviews of individuals giving real world examples, which demonstrates the courses' relevance.

By Amy B C

Jul 4, 2021

Perfect! The lessons were short and right to the point. The language used was easy to understand. This was a fantastic course, thank you!

By Nicole K

Apr 5, 2022

This course was excellent! I was actually able to put some of the solutions to work immediately with my team.

By Betsy L R V

Sep 7, 2022

Me encantó mucho este curso porque son muy detallistas al momento de transmitir el conocimiento y enseñar.

By Dada D

Apr 27, 2022

Excelente, es lo mejor que visto. Los felicito por su marvilloso servicio a la sociedad.

By Rajbir S

Aug 31, 2021

Quite informative, illustrative and elaborative course on defining various conflicts.

By Lyn A

Apr 1, 2022

Good pace, good course subjects and presentation for types of confict.

By Pennelope L

Sep 20, 2022

The case studies were extremely useful, more of those please!

By SALAMA M S H A

Oct 10, 2022

كانت دورة جميله جدا واستفدت كثير من هذة الدورة

By Michael D K

Dec 6, 2021

Very practical and easy to understand

By Sangram V B

Aug 23, 2021

Well paced and Well controlled course

By Joe P K

Nov 11, 2021

Loved the content and presentation.