Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to UI Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to UI Design by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
943 ratings
205 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will gain an understanding of the critical importance of user interface design. You will also learn industry-standard methods for how to approach the design of a user interface and key theories and frameworks that underlie the design of most interfaces you use today. Through a series of case studies on commercial systems - many of which you likely use on a regular basis - we will illustrate the benefits of good design. We will also demonstrate how the costs of bad design can often be severe (in user experience, money, and even human lives). You will then gain a high-level understanding of the user-interface design process. You will be introduced to common design scenarios - e.g. improving on existing designs and starting a new design from scratch - and the general design processes that tend to be used for each scenario. Finally, we will begin introducing the large body of existing knowledge on design by providing overviews of core user interface design theories and concepts. This key foundational information will help you avoid “reinventing the wheel” when you are designing your interfaces in this specialization....

Top reviews

CA

Jan 21, 2019

Has given valuable insights and new points of view. It extended my horizon, even though I am new on the field and have designed several user interfaces not according to the course principles so far.

MM

Nov 12, 2017

this course is just not about the theory it actually helps you to understand things on practical basis.The test and assignments helps you to apply the disciplines and makes you basic clear.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 202 Reviews for Introduction to UI Design

By Puneet V

Oct 06, 2019

I have been working as a web designer for the past 5 years. This course has helped me to see things in new light.

Thank you coursera!

By Nelson J D

Oct 18, 2016

Well structured with good teachers and full of pratical examples that help you understand the design principles used in UI design.

By Sumit S

Sep 01, 2020

This course is well designed to understand the basic and core concept of UI Design in a simple and plain English. Thanks!

By FATIN I S

Jul 19, 2020

Great course. I am so excited about to have gained an introductory knowledge about user interface design on this course.

By Marcus K

May 17, 2018

Very well done introduction to UI design. Especially the variety of viewpoints from the different presenters adds value.

By Deepak

Dec 10, 2017

Very well taught course by sought after faculty. The course material is easy to understand and assignments will be fun!

By Tanima S

Sep 20, 2017

Great professors, good coursework. Overall a good experience for a person who is interested in UI design as a beginner.

By Samyak S

Apr 23, 2020

An excellent course. It creates a very solid foundation for interface design by using relevant examples. Recommended.

By abdul r a

Nov 29, 2019

This course was wonderful, helped me to have a better understanding of UI.

I thank all lecturers and the team behind.

By Mohamed S

Aug 13, 2019

The course was very good but the video was long and some of them were not clear enough, especially in the third week.

By Mafia C

May 28, 2020

Awesome course! Really informative info. The videos could use more infographics for engagement but otherwise great.

By Manali H N

Aug 04, 2020

great learning experience , and quick understanding the design of everyday things .

looking forward to learn more.

By Julian R E

Dec 04, 2017

Great introduction. lots of information to asimilate and create a base to start working in human center ux design.

By Milton M

Apr 19, 2020

Thanks to this course now I have a better understatement of what User interface design is and it's fundamentals.

By Behnaz P

Apr 29, 2020

Very useful course material, easy to follow and learn, the structure and content is very well developed

By Nana G

Apr 17, 2017

I learnt a lot! well organised, enough information to continue to the next steps. Thank you very much!

By Prakash S

Jul 18, 2020

I learned a lot in this first course. All chapters are organised systematically and well defined.

By Liudmila N

Nov 04, 2018

In was helpful couse, easy to understand. Good begginng for continuing development in this field.

By Adam B

Jul 11, 2018

If you're interested in learning about UI/UX design and research then this is the course for you.

By Vinod K

Oct 12, 2019

This UI design course is really helpful for the beginners. Will opt for more UI and UX courses.

By Krista B

Oct 01, 2017

Well organized class format, multiple learning style options. Enjoyed the class thoroughly.

By Tasneem E

Sep 03, 2017

Simple, informative, and sets you to be ready for the coming courses of the specialization.

By Jannet O

May 02, 2019

A great way to start you UI Career to this course. , lots of information that you learn

By Ahmed F

Feb 19, 2020

Rich Content and great staff. Absolutely looking forward to the next course with them.

By Natalia B

Jun 14, 2017

very useful and systematized materials, a lot of examples which makes learning easier