Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to UI Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to UI Design by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
941 ratings
205 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will gain an understanding of the critical importance of user interface design. You will also learn industry-standard methods for how to approach the design of a user interface and key theories and frameworks that underlie the design of most interfaces you use today. Through a series of case studies on commercial systems - many of which you likely use on a regular basis - we will illustrate the benefits of good design. We will also demonstrate how the costs of bad design can often be severe (in user experience, money, and even human lives). You will then gain a high-level understanding of the user-interface design process. You will be introduced to common design scenarios - e.g. improving on existing designs and starting a new design from scratch - and the general design processes that tend to be used for each scenario. Finally, we will begin introducing the large body of existing knowledge on design by providing overviews of core user interface design theories and concepts. This key foundational information will help you avoid “reinventing the wheel” when you are designing your interfaces in this specialization....

Top reviews

CA

Jan 21, 2019

Has given valuable insights and new points of view. It extended my horizon, even though I am new on the field and have designed several user interfaces not according to the course principles so far.

MM

Nov 12, 2017

this course is just not about the theory it actually helps you to understand things on practical basis.The test and assignments helps you to apply the disciplines and makes you basic clear.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 201 Reviews for Introduction to UI Design

By Vanina A W

Jun 01, 2020

El curso da un gran pantallazo a muchos principios de diseño. Enseña como hacer una buena crítica a una interfaz, y que reglas tener en cuenta a la hora de diseñar. También ofrece herramientas para realizar una investigación de usuarios. Me ayudó a abrir mi mente y enfocarme en cosas que no había tenido en cuenta.

By Eva H

Nov 13, 2017

Overall, I found this introductory course very interesting both, the lectures and assignments. Most of the videos included relevant examples. The tutors were very nice and I learnt about many important things in the field of UI such as observation, design principles and interface critique.

Thank you!

By MD. I U

Apr 17, 2020

This is a really good course about the user interface. Don Norman and Jakob Nelson is the most intelligent person about Human-Computer Interaction. In this course, the last video is a video conference with Don Norman, that is I really really like it. And overall this course is very good.

By Mr V

Jan 28, 2018

It is a good course as part of introduction to user experience but I feel that there should be explanation and exampled specially related to Gestalt principles. I am looking forward for next course and that will decide whether I will continue for full course.

By Idan A

Nov 28, 2017

English is not my mother language, therefor it was very hard for me to listen to the lady lectures, because one was speaking very fast and one had an accent who made it quite hard for me.

Putting that aside, it was a great course and I enjoyed it.

By Jay Y M

Aug 09, 2018

Nice course! Goes in-depth for an introductory course and dives into specific. Includes a lot of examples that engages its students. Though i wish the examples were more Computer interface centric. Overall great explanation and nice assignments!

By Jason Y

Jun 12, 2018

Good solid foundation course for UI design. Doesn't give you much hands on experience, but is a great introduction that introduces basic philosophies of UI critiquing, analysis and psychology between designers and end users.

By Autumn O

Dec 30, 2017

Very interesting course, though the "psychology section" is embarrassing-- definitely not real psych in there! None the less, the extensive videos and examples used of design "hall of fame/ shame are great!

By anil j S

Jul 11, 2017

Very good course. It lays the ground work needed for the other courses in the specialization. Also makes you think different. The peer graded assignments were excellent.

By Enas N

Nov 25, 2018

Thank you everyone, It is totally great, and I really appreciate instructions effort. but for me it would be perfect if there's more practice rather than theoretic.

By Pradhumna P

Aug 17, 2020

Mostly theoretical and feels a bit old. Having said that, a great place to get you started thinking about importance of UI/UX and motivate to build better systems.

By Himanshu a

Nov 21, 2016

Content is really good and I learned concepts really well because its well structure. Videos can become better. I recommend this course to every UI enthusiast.

By Dasom H

Oct 20, 2017

I don' know that the Chinese Professor really prepared her lectures.. She just read things exactly on the videos. And Let Lana drink some water,please...

By Ted R

Aug 04, 2020

An excellent course with interesting information presented coherently. I'd love to take the course in person, but this was a great option.

By Hoda

May 03, 2017

As a graphic and motion designer it gave insights on many concepts, terminolgies, and consideration I haven't known before.

By Sumesh A

Jun 11, 2018

Some teachers didn't really interact with the viewer. So some of the lectures felt boring. All in all top notch course.

By stephanie t

Sep 09, 2018

It was an excellent course with a lot of great content, simple to understand for a newbie like me :).

By darus h

Jul 20, 2020

The course is good, but sometimes it spent too long time at one videos. But overall it's very good!

By Anton G

Oct 30, 2019

Excellent course, but some of design-examples are old a little bit. Teachers are perfect! :)

By Thaymisan C

Jun 13, 2018

It's a complete course to introduce us to the UI world. Our mentors were amazing as well :)

By JAVIER D S

Mar 23, 2017

Thanks for all, is a great course, thanks Coursera and thanks for each opportunity.

By Maddy18

Aug 28, 2017

The concepts are explained nicely, the structure of the course is designed well.

By Aditya D P

Dec 13, 2019

course was good but feel like there was less technical stuff than i expected

By Arpit R

Sep 26, 2018

This is very interesting course for UI design.This gives proper knowledge

By 林怡璇

Mar 10, 2020

解說清楚 課程負擔也不大 適合入門