Chevron Left
Back to Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments by Duke University

4.6
stars
2,507 ratings
678 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top reviews

FY
Jul 5, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
Jun 10, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 669 Reviews for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

By jordan n

Jul 2, 2020

Excellent course i lernad how to understand arguments in a way that permits to find the root and reasoning behind it

By victoria

Mar 26, 2019

Great course! Highly recommend. I knew nothing about logic before this, and I found it understandable and enjoyable.

By Utpal D

Jun 11, 2017

Incredible course which gives you a science behind the Arguments, Never imagined such a structure existed. Hats off!

By Xinyi X

Apr 14, 2019

The teacher is really adorable and funny! However, I do hope every question can show the answer to why I am wrong.

By N K

Dec 9, 2020

Arguments won't ever be perceived in the same manner by me. Great instructor, very engaging! Thank you so much.

By SHAILESH K

Jun 4, 2020

It very easy to understand lecture through Given example in lecturer. will help in real life also.

Thanks Team.

By Abdullah E

Sep 22, 2017

This course is very helpful. It starts from zero basics and highly simplified. Also, it's almost comprehensive.

By Miream A

Aug 24, 2017

I am certain that you will love this course. This course explains every thing you need to know about arguments.

By Hildegard M

Feb 19, 2017

Interesting, informative course presented in a clear, comprehensive and fun way! Congratulations and THANK YOU!

By IL G K

Dec 28, 2020

It's a good lecture from an excellent professor. I recommend this class. I'm satisfied. That's a good lecture.

By HARSH P

Apr 10, 2018

This course was awesome. It is short and sweet , and you learn a lot about arguments and how to evaluate them.

By Morgan M

Feb 11, 2018

Wonderful course in my opinion. Professors are very well spoken and excellent at communicating ideas clearly.

By Shirley K

Jun 19, 2020

great course, really made me think of how to really break down arguments to the bare bones and build them up

By Oleh K

Oct 23, 2018

I enjoyed the course so much. I liked regular exercises and that I communicated with others students a lot.

By Paul H

Oct 18, 2020

The lecturer was excellent. He is great fun and his explanations and examples built the learning very well.

By Amy W

Jul 18, 2020

Very well presented! Helpful and fun :D Thanks very much for the course! I look forward to the next one :)

By Vitalii S

Nov 25, 2019

Was interesting to me and make me think in more details after getting knowledge from the course.

Thank you!

By Mardohar B B S

Jul 5, 2020

This is just the first part of the whole course and I have been completely excited by logic -how is that!

By Leyla M

Jan 20, 2021

It is so interesting and with so many examples and explanations, like I wanted!!! Thank you professor!!!

By Pauleen J G

Jan 18, 2021

Logic is tough for me, but this online course made it easier for me to understand it better. Thank you!

By Heba M

May 21, 2019

wonderful experience course is taught in a good manner making it easy for the students to understand it

By Dr. R K V

Jul 17, 2017

This course is very interesting, relevant and useful for all the research scholars as well as teachers.

By haileemiller

Aug 30, 2016

A wonderful lesson that many of us should take a look and learn it! It's a lesson to understanding why.

By Susan M

Jun 22, 2017

This entire series was informative, engaging, and fun, and the thinking skills taught are so valuable.

By Golam S T

Jun 29, 2020

It was really a great experience. I hope I can use the knowledge for the betterment of my daily life.