Chevron Left
Back to Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments by Duke University

4.6
stars
2,334 ratings
635 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

FY
Jul 5, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 625 Reviews for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

By Álvaro A N

Nov 15, 2018

Excellent, totally recommended! With its simplicity and charm shows a new way to see and understand arguments. Thanks a lot for putting this wonderful course together, I will sure recommend it to my friends and family.

By Zahida M

Jul 31, 2017

Amazing module. Thank you professor you really made it smooth and easy going for us. Your lively and simple approach has helped me gain the much required confidence to further sign up for many more courses on coursera.

By Prita K

May 20, 2020

The course is packed with information and examples that are easy to follow, and the sudden question in the middle of the video gives us almost the same experiment in a real class, which I think is a really good idea!

By Haider K

Aug 6, 2020

The course offers an exceptional understanding of the basics of the science of argumentation. I enjoyed the professor's enthusiasm for teaching and his little jokes to keep the environment of the videos fun.

By James G

Sep 27, 2016

Much harder than I anticipated and some of the concepts were difficult for me to grasp. However, I think it just takes practice! Interesting and in depth look at how arguments are formed and work. Thanks!

By Phyllis L W

May 12, 2020

This course expands your understanding of argument formation and structure. It goes beyond basis and intricately expolates reasoning behind persuasion and justification of scientific knowledge exploration.

By Vianey A E R

Nov 8, 2020

Not only was it really interesting, it was also a really fun course. I recommend that if anyone has a chance, they should take it. I learned a lot and I'm glad I had the chance to learn from the professor.

By Amrit K

May 27, 2020

At first I thought why do I have to know about linguistics and argument markers and all. But at the end, I realized how much understanding an argument helps in simplifying and understanding it. Thank you!

By Esen D

Sep 30, 2016

This course's been a fantastic journey in informal logic and critical thinking. The lectures are very interesting and Walter Sinnott-Armstrong is a fantastic teacher. Thank you very much for this course

By KLARCK N

Sep 22, 2017

Es un buen curso para comenzar. Permite comprender lo básico de la argumentación: identificar marcadores, supuestos implícitos (que no son evidentes) y, en definitiva, a entender mejor las cosas.

By Guilherme G V

Jul 23, 2020

I would like to give a special thanks to Professor Walter Sinnott-Armstrong for his incredible teaching and charisma. He is awsome. And thanks to Coursera for making this course available.

By Amelia T P

May 30, 2020

This course is very enjoyable. The instructor is engaging and have a sense of humor. The lessons and examples given here are clear even for myself which English isn't my native language.

By Librada M D v

Feb 23, 2018

Realmente fascinante, encantada con la coherencia e impresión de cotidianidad que le ponene a esto. Las preguntas exigen comprensión real del contenido y su aplicación a la realidad.

By Milecia M

Oct 12, 2016

This course goes super in depth on how arguments work. I learned things in this course that'd I'd never heard of before and it gave me a more critical view on how people say things.

By Pavel P

Jul 8, 2019

An extraordinary course that would help to make the right decisions, convey your thoughts to others and thinking in a structured and organized way. Highly recommended for everyone!

By Richard P F

Mar 4, 2019

The course gives a clear technical insights with regard to analysis of arguments which will help in better understanding it thereby promoting learning also on how to construct one.

By Emmanuelle P

Feb 19, 2018

I took it a while back before it was divided and did not pass, so now Im happy that it is divided, 1) to see if I understand better this time 2) to show that i did learn something.

By Orlando M

Feb 2, 2017

Este curso me ha ayudado mucho en mi vida personal y profesional. Gracias a todos los responsable de la preparación de este valioso material didáctico.

Saludos,

Orlando Maldoando

By Ali H

Jun 8, 2020

the course really pushes you to understand that there is more to an argument than originally meets the eye. it is worth taking the course to learn how to analyze an argument.

By Fran R

Jan 23, 2020

To me, this course is a Coursera classic. I really want to see the rest of the lectures related to this one, and it's a personal goal of mine to do so. Such a pleasant class!

By Andrew C

Jul 4, 2020

A very thorough taught subject . This is the first time I`ve taken a course on improving my critical thinking skills and this course really got me excited about learning it.

By Achal M

Feb 27, 2019

It is really appreciating to coursera for framing such a good course and very intellectually designed , you need to very attentive and analytical to understand and crack the

By Fred F

Oct 2, 2020

This was an outstanding course. Really helped me understand arguments especially when I was elected to serve on a non-profit board for a community homeowner's association.

By emilio

Sep 16, 2019

A must for anyone looking for better writing or maths in reading proofs certainly is helpful to know what people is assuming in the proof so it is easier to understand it.