Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,662 ratings
991 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 972 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Ivan K

Dec 22, 2020

As the cours said, it will save you a lot of time! You will faind information you need about Financial markets in this single course, eye opening experience.

By Gabriel G

Aug 28, 2020

I am currently studying economics, and I can say that this course have been AWESOME.

THANK YOU Professor Michel Girardin, vous êtes un professeur incroyable!

By Shubham A

Aug 8, 2020

Used to find Finance boring until I took this course. Professor Michael Makes teaching very interesting and concepts very clear. Wish to learn more from him.

By Enrico S

Jan 20, 2019

This course is wonderful. I have 35 years of experience of study in the markets and i think that this course is well done.All the teachers are very competent

By William L S Z

Aug 7, 2020

Amazing this course, the explanation is claer, the topics are relevant to nowdays, the knowledge of the instructors at first level, I recommend this course.

By Joseph A

Feb 9, 2018

very good introduction to financial markets, especially with the current economic scenario of interest rate discussions and volatile stock markets in the US

By Panagiotis M

Oct 13, 2020

Wonderful course (for all levels) to better understand the main financial markets. Excited for the rest of the Investment Management specialization course!

By Goran S

Jan 12, 2020

Great overview describing also the general mechanics and interactions between the different financial instruments! Good starting point for further studies.

By Sim Y X

Sep 29, 2016

Awesome Course! The Professor uses daily analogies to simplify complex financial concepts and help learners understand the workings of the financial world.

By Ahmad Z Z

Mar 7, 2016

Excellent course. The course provides a good understanding of the financial markets and is an excellent introduction to the field of Investment Management.

By Abanob R

Dec 27, 2016

very useful to help you in understanding how financial markets work , and how they react to number of variables especially Economic and monetary variables

By Fahim A R

May 26, 2020

The best course on the functionalities and practical aspects of the financial markets. Professor Michel Girardin teaches makes the lectures too much fun!

By Elle

Oct 16, 2020

It was a great pleasure to be a part of this course! I learn a lot and hopefully would be able to apply all those learnings for my career advancement.

By Phibion M

Mar 29, 2018

interesting as an exposure. Enjoyed learning things that I didn't know and also being able to look at things in a way I had not previously considered

By Philipp S

Apr 15, 2020

Great Insights and professional Teachers. Special Thanks to Michel who made Macroeconomics-lessons more entertaining than any Professor I met so far.

By Aneesh A

Jun 29, 2020

A good course to understand the basic functioning of financial markets. The readings provided in the modules are helpful, even for future reference.

By Leander C D

Apr 30, 2020

Found this course easier to understand than other financial courses. I suggest beginners without any financial background to start from this course.

By Sajag S

Apr 13, 2020

It was a really informative course which introduced some key concepts related to financial markets without much technical jargon in a simple manner.

By Felipe M

Jan 23, 2018

Great course and the content very well explained by all professors and associates. I will definitely recommend this course. Well done job. Congrats!

By Yskak M

Dec 9, 2020

Provides good information on financial markets, how they operates, financial instruments. The Information provided in a way easy for understanding.

By Thoriqul A

Aug 7, 2020

A good course to understand financial markets to start designing my investment portfolio, especially when conditions are not stable as they are now

By Lukas N

Feb 28, 2019

I was very happy with the course as it serves as basic introduction into investment terms and so on. Looking forward for the whole specialization.

By Simon

Apr 28, 2020

Very good course and prof, clear illustration of the criterias and applies solid demonstration to the terms we encountered, in a word, perfect!!

By Dimitrios C

Aug 30, 2018

Very nice introductory course on financial markets. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to enhance their understanding on financial markets

By Buck P

Apr 18, 2016

Concepts were presented clearly and in an organized fashion. The professors were very nice and relatable. 10/10 would recommend this to a friend