Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,678 ratings
993 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 973 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Mahougbé S A A

Jun 3, 2020

amazing course

By Damirbek S

Feb 18, 2016

Nice course.

By Harpreet S L

Apr 1, 2020

good course

By Sarath M

May 31, 2017

Nice Course

By karan r

May 27, 2016

good course

By Jaiwant N A

Mar 10, 2016

Very good!

By cemberk

Dec 30, 2018

Too macro

By Athuliya V S

Sep 27, 2017

Very Good

By G B M S

Mar 31, 2016

Good!

By RAGSHANA A

Nov 10, 2020

well

By SANJAI

Oct 13, 2020

good

By Swathi G S

Aug 11, 2020

GOOD

By Varun S

Sep 9, 2017

Good

By Ilham

Apr 11, 2020

4.5

By saurabh k

Feb 8, 2019

o

By MERLIN S S

Nov 13, 2018

T

By Bhupendra M

Oct 20, 2020

The course is very well designed and concepts are very well explained. I have no knowledge of commerce but can still understand the terminology used. I feel there is still room for improvement on the details on some topics which can help beginners to understand it better.

By Chantelle D S

Sep 9, 2020

Michel lectures very vividly and keeps it interesting, however there seems to be so many assumptions towards students, too much assumed knowledge for someone who has zero knowledge in finance (like me)...still leaves me with quite a lot of unanswered questions.

By AGAM D

Dec 22, 2019

A really helpful course, covering a wide range of topics. However, A more in-depth detailed explanation of the principles and theories, their derivations and applications, could've helped in providing a deeper understanding of them.

By Loic R

Mar 20, 2016

I learn some interesting things. The course gets better for week 3-4. However, the course could use better the Coursera format and strenght.

The certified certificate is pricy compared to other courses.

In overall it’s good.

By Moreno C

Mar 20, 2016

The course is comprehensive and the instructors have good teaching skills.

The level is introductory.

I would recommend this course to beginners with limited previous exposure to investment management.

By L.F.G. K

Mar 23, 2016

Great subjects and some great teachers. But every now and then I missed some proper explanations.

Further, reverences to articles and books to better understand the subjects were missing as well.

By Wade P

Apr 29, 2016

Very helpful for people who are new to the field. However, I do wish many of the concepts were explained more clearly; often new concepts are introduced and no clear definition is given.

By Shubhneet S

May 1, 2020

Although the course was very helpful but I, being from a mechanical engineering background, thought that some concepts could have been simplified further for better understanding.

By Kasper M

Mar 10, 2016

Good basic understanding. However the professors can be a bit more professional, sometimes it feels like Im a high school student again, the way they explain things.