Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.8
stars
5,149 ratings
1,085 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,071 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Abhyudaya A

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent course, all the teachers are excellent and especially Michel Girardin sir, he has his unique ways of explaining complex concepts in an easy and fun way.

By Julio B

Apr 19, 2020

I just love the teaching method of Dr. Girardin. The funny way and the jokes highly illustrate complex topics in a funny yet highly "teaching" and motivating way.

By Wolfgang F

Sep 20, 2021

Very good compressed overview - even learning some new things ;-) More emphasizing on liquidity and taxation - e.g. a big disadvantage of bonds or private equity

By Ghassen M

Aug 24, 2016

I found this course very informative especially after the first week.

Great thanks to Mr. Michel who made this course easy to understand, a great teacher indeed.

By Andres A

Apr 15, 2016

Excelente curso sin duda, tiene una metodología excelente que permite al estudiante entender la temática sin tener algún tipo de conocimiento previo, recomendado

By Shreeya S

May 31, 2020

Loved the course.I m going to choose finance as my socialization & have the knowledge of financial markt is very crucial.The modules are very simple and clear.

By Lucas V M

Jan 28, 2020

Good Lecturers, comprehensive vocabulary, good texts and good lections. Perfect Course; would advise anyone interested in reaching financial careers to take it.

By Harshit A

Aug 20, 2019

Course is great designed by the creators. I understand each and every aspect they try to explain. Overall great learning experience from this course. Thank you.

By Jinesh S

Oct 28, 2020

Everything is very well explained and is very detailed. I loved how all the faculty were subject matter experts and actually knew what they were talking about.

By Vinayak I

Apr 12, 2020

Dr. Michel is a really good professor. Explained the concepts really well. Really good course. Would recommend it to everyone interested in financial markets.

By Yuvraj H

Feb 9, 2017

Great learning! The way the proffessor taught is commendable.

Even a novice can benefit and learn alot in finance through this course!

Thanks to the whole team.

By Santiago V G

Jan 7, 2022

Excellent course to start getting involved in the financial market as it explains clearly each investment opportunity that is common in the financial markets

By Ivan K

Dec 22, 2020

As the cours said, it will save you a lot of time! You will faind information you need about Financial markets in this single course, eye opening experience.

By Gabriel G

Aug 28, 2020

I am currently studying economics, and I can say that this course have been AWESOME.

THANK YOU Professor Michel Girardin, vous êtes un professeur incroyable!

By Shubham A

Aug 8, 2020

Used to find Finance boring until I took this course. Professor Michael Makes teaching very interesting and concepts very clear. Wish to learn more from him.

By Enrico S

Jan 20, 2019

This course is wonderful. I have 35 years of experience of study in the markets and i think that this course is well done.All the teachers are very competent

By Leo S

Aug 7, 2020

Amazing this course, the explanation is claer, the topics are relevant to nowdays, the knowledge of the instructors at first level, I recommend this course.

By Joseph A

Feb 9, 2018

very good introduction to financial markets, especially with the current economic scenario of interest rate discussions and volatile stock markets in the US

By Panagiotis M

Oct 13, 2020

Wonderful course (for all levels) to better understand the main financial markets. Excited for the rest of the Investment Management specialization course!

By Goran S

Jan 12, 2020

Great overview describing also the general mechanics and interactions between the different financial instruments! Good starting point for further studies.

By Sim Y X

Sep 29, 2016

Awesome Course! The Professor uses daily analogies to simplify complex financial concepts and help learners understand the workings of the financial world.

By Ahmad Z Z

Mar 7, 2016

Excellent course. The course provides a good understanding of the financial markets and is an excellent introduction to the field of Investment Management.

By Devang K

Apr 15, 2021

Great Course. The Professors were very good and knowledgeable. Provides you an insight into financial markets and topics with numerous practical examples.

By Abanob R

Dec 27, 2016

very useful to help you in understanding how financial markets work , and how they react to number of variables especially Economic and monetary variables

By Fahim A R

May 26, 2020

The best course on the functionalities and practical aspects of the financial markets. Professor Michel Girardin teaches makes the lectures too much fun!