Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,388 ratings
916 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 897 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Edgar B

Jun 6, 2016

The evaluation is very confusing. In addition, when graded, it gives different "correct" answers overtime the test is presented.

By ananya h

May 13, 2019

Highly recommend this course, but would be better if the course was updated, all the scenarios depicted in this are from 2005

By Chandani P

Dec 6, 2017

A good wholesome understanding of financial markets. Though I think practical application is something missing in the course.

By axel

Aug 10, 2018

a great course, great professors. but there is a lack of technical explanation like NPV etc'

thank you it was very interesting

By José L Á E

Jul 31, 2019

This course has really good content for those who are interested in acquiring a keen understanding of the financial markets.

By Michelle M

Jun 18, 2017

Very helpful in understanding markets. more examples of the mathematics would have been helpful in solidifying the concepts.

By Trevor S

Oct 21, 2018

A well thought out course. Usually clear and informative. There was the odd glitch of some reading material links failing.

By Nikita P

Sep 30, 2017

Quite a good course to get an overview of investment. Nothing extraordinary, but still very informative and useful.

By Dmitry N

Mar 20, 2019

quite hard to gasp the content. maybe it's just me, but more formal math would significantly simplfy the material.

By Santiago M G

Feb 28, 2016

It lacks exercises but other than that this course is pretty fun and interesting. I would definitely recommend it.

By Jason T

Jun 3, 2016

Good course but overpriced in comparison to other offerings on Coursera which are more comprehensive and cheaper.

By Sunil S

Nov 20, 2016

Michel was the best among the others when it came to making me understand and grasp the subjects being taught!!

By Shankaranand M

Feb 25, 2016

Well structured course. The graphs used to highlight the key relationships of various variables is insightful.

By Eden P

Sep 19, 2017

Very insightful and easy to follow. Nice introduction to financial markets for the non-financially qualified.

By NANDINI B

Sep 4, 2020

It would be better if there were some practice questions before the test. Otherwise the course was perfect.

By Diksha P

Apr 20, 2020

This course is really beneficial for me . It had provided me the basic knowledge about financial markets.

By Irene S

Nov 30, 2016

First time for me to study MOOC. I learned a lot but there are still concepts I have a hard time grasping.

By Abhishek S

Aug 25, 2016

Superb.. This is a perfect course to start with investment management and also a review to the graduates.

By Prokopis G

Jun 13, 2020

Interesting course for someone who wants to understand the fundamentals of the financial markets

By Varun R

Oct 17, 2020

amazing course, i recommend this to everyone who is clueless about financial market investments

By Idemudia O S

Jun 3, 2017

Great Course. I grabbed most of the concepts even though i am not from a financial background.

By Moonsun Y

May 9, 2020

The contents of lecture was great. But it would be great if we can download lecture notes.

By Sumeet K

May 31, 2020

it was an amazing journey. it helped in refreshing my financial markets concepts in depth.

By Javier T

Apr 24, 2020

Very interesting course, very good concepts to think about and great teachers. Thank you

By Asif B S

Apr 21, 2016

It was a good one for basic learners but there were less explanation on several topics