Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.8
stars
4,975 ratings
1,057 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,044 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Liya C

Nov 6, 2017

This class review Essential concepts of investment- risk & return, within the framework of Macroeconomic. It's the first listen teaching what to put in a diversified portfolio.

By Parth D

Nov 9, 2020

Got to learn a lot about Finance in this course , seemingly complicated topics related to investment management were made very easy in this course . I love Professor Michele .

By Evan B

May 20, 2019

The instructors present many concrete examples for highly conceptual material. This approach makes learning and extrapolating easy. I recommend the course without reservation.

By Syed A

Oct 21, 2020

Very Informative Course. Contained practical information which is applicable in modern day scenario. Faculty we explained the concepts crisp and clean with suitable examples.

By Doris R T

Mar 11, 2020

Awesome lecturers and contents. Lively presentation with many examples. I find it useful for a beginner like myself to understand the financial baisics. Highly recommended!

By Akmaral A

Dec 31, 2020

Thanks for an amazing course! I didn't like finance that much cause simply I didn't undertand it. Now with that Coursera course it got really comprehensible.

Thanks a lot!

By Dharma K

Mar 22, 2021

I am very impressed with knowledge of all the faculty from various backgrounds. All professors are great, special thanks to Michel for making the class very interesting.

By Mukesh A

Dec 24, 2018

Dr. Michel has an extremely intuitive and easy way to explain complex topics. Highly recommend even if you have been working in financial industry for a number of years.

By suthakhar p

Dec 10, 2018

It was a great course for beginners like me. Professor Michel was fabulous with his explanations and examples. Looking forward for the second part of the specialization.

By Shirokov B

Apr 14, 2017

This course has been an amazing experience that broadened my understanding of financial markets! I recommend it to anyone interested in this area and wants to pursue it.

By Diana Z C A

Oct 4, 2016

Great course for those who want to better understand how main financial markets work. Lessons are short but precise and the readings for each module are worth the time.

By Joseph S

Jun 18, 2021

The tutors/lecturers are really Knowledgeable. It being self paced allowed me complete it despite my 8 to 5 schedule. The course content is informative and educative.

By Çiğdem B

Jan 24, 2019

lots of helpful information explained very basically and clearly even engineers like me can easily understand basic approaches

liked it a lot and reccomend it strongly

By Joaquín T

May 1, 2020

I found it super interesting and very easy to follow, with lot of questions and examples. I have seen few courses like this. Michel Girardin you are a great teacher!

By Hannes R

Oct 2, 2017

Michel is such a great lecturer. For me it was great to turn on 0,75x on video speed and use other sites as investopedia when things got complicated. A great course!

By Marin V

Oct 27, 2020

Loved this course!

Tests were for me rather difficult but it is good as it pushes you. Good overall picture of the financial markets. Explain well and with examples.

By Vishal A

Jun 23, 2020

I want to start an portfolio management firm in the future and I have learnt a lot from this course. I enjoyed learning this. And Michel is a great teacher. Cheers!

By ahmed b

Sep 17, 2016

i recommend this course for every one interested to understand the dynamics of financial markets and the future trends of financial markets and portfolio management

By Luis F N P

Aug 12, 2020

I think this course have the most completely knowledges about financial markets and investments, was a pleasure do this, and I'll keep doing this course. Thank you

By Tamara L

Apr 14, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. It was more that what I expected. I am very satisfied and grateful for having this opportunity. I strongly recommend this course.

By Sean L

May 21, 2020

Very interesting and to the point videos which convey the necessary information clearly and at times with flair. Very enjoyable and palatable learning experience.

By Abhyudaya A

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent course, all the teachers are excellent and especially Michel Girardin sir, he has his unique ways of explaining complex concepts in an easy and fun way.

By Julio B

Apr 19, 2020

I just love the teaching method of Dr. Girardin. The funny way and the jokes highly illustrate complex topics in a funny yet highly "teaching" and motivating way.

By Wolfgang F

Sep 20, 2021

Very good compressed overview - even learning some new things ;-) More emphasizing on liquidity and taxation - e.g. a big disadvantage of bonds or private equity