Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,607 ratings
507 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 489 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Alberto e c j

Oct 09, 2017

Very useful and well organized course

By Joelle C S

Aug 05, 2017

Very interesting introductory course with some extremely valuable information for anyone jumping into the subject for the first time. My only negative comment would be that certain instructors are quite difficult to understand due to their heavy accents.

By Christian R

Oct 07, 2018

very theoretical course but with foresee practical implications.

By Trevor S

Oct 21, 2018

A well thought out course. Usually clear and informative. There was the odd glitch of some reading material links failing.

By Rohini B

Jul 16, 2018

The program is very good and I feel I am learning a lot but it assumes I know how to work with the mathematical formula's but I haven't done any derivative work for over 20 years and thus I would like the course to have a little addition bit to make sure these mathematical formula are explained and exercises given to help really learn them. I found the bearish and bullish curve very difficult to understand.

By PRAVEEN K T

May 02, 2019

The course is very good and fun to study

By ananya h

May 13, 2019

Highly recommend this course, but would be better if the course was updated, all the scenarios depicted in this are from 2005

By Waqar K

Jun 25, 2019

The course is very well versed an in detail. A good catch up for those who wants to enhance their knowledge of Financial Markets and looking forward to invest in the market.

By Peter H

Jun 30, 2019

really good mix of videos, text and quiz. This course is easy to understand for beginners and well structured. Big compliment form my side. I am glad to have made this course!

By José L Á E

Jul 31, 2019

This course has really good content for those who are interested in acquiring a keen understanding of the financial markets.

By Shashank V M

Aug 18, 2019

Great course. However, some basics concepts were not explained and Michel should have taken examples and taught the concepts, rather than just teaching the theory with confusing graph diagrams.

By Aditya R N

Sep 02, 2019

Well explained and structured.

By Mathieu M

Feb 10, 2019

cours très complet couvrant la plupart des concepts à connaître pour mieux comprendre les markets outlooks. Mais intervenants parfois inégaux.

By Aleksandr B

Mar 09, 2018

More written assignments and real world examples would be helpful

By Mwahafa N

Feb 15, 2016

Difficulties streaming

By Gerald M

Apr 01, 2016

One of the things that I didn't like is that I couldn't complete the course because, without purchasing the course, I didn't have access to the assignments / quizzes. But the content is good and the Geneva teachers are nice (specially Michel!). Also, some USB guest lectures are not adequate for this type of course, which is for beginners. Sometimes the guest lectures are not even related to the content of the modules where they are presented.

By Jose M M

Mar 06, 2016

The course is fine but the obligation to pay for reviewing quizzies is a mistake if the course expects to get good valuations (in stars) and promotion. There are similar or even better content available in other courses which are truly open and that request for payment if the student wish to get the certificate.

Wrong positioning of University of Genève offering this MOOC from an economical point of view. They ask for more than others and will get less.

By Moreno C

Mar 20, 2016

The course is comprehensive and the instructors have good teaching skills.

The level is introductory.

I would recommend this course to beginners with limited previous exposure to investment management.

By Danilo A E

Mar 05, 2016

A little too theoretical and the subjects are not easy to follow.

It should have more step by step and deep explanation (math stuff).

The interest rates vs bonds are difficult for begginers, it should be transmitted in different ways.

By Sebastian M

May 21, 2017

I expected more. I hope the next levels are better designed.

By Loic R

Mar 20, 2016

I learn some interesting things. The course gets better for week 3-4. However, the course could use better the Coursera format and strenght.

The certified certificate is pricy compared to other courses.

In overall it’s good.

By Longfei

Feb 29, 2016

just a normal online course, the instructors are just reciting their ppt and prepared materials. Pretty boring.

By L.F.G. K

Mar 23, 2016

Great subjects and some great teachers. But every now and then I missed some proper explanations.

Further, reverences to articles and books to better understand the subjects were missing as well.

By Juan D H C

Oct 22, 2017

Good introductory course. Basic level.

By Mohamed O

Aug 26, 2017

good enough to give you an idea about financial markets