Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
4,997 ratings
1,186 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO
Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

KJ
Oct 4, 2020

It was fair introduction to UI / UX. I moved away from front-end development a long time ago but wanted to know about the new techniques used prior to starting that sort of development these days.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,191 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By vanshika

Jun 26, 2020

i loved it, i was like a zero when i started this but after this course i can safely say i'm a 15 which i believe is amazing

By Nam Y K

Feb 2, 2019

Well summarized and helpful in understanding the core fundamentals of UX design. Definitely on the light side for beginners.

By Nancy L R

Jun 21, 2021

Very useful course and easy to understand. Would be good to have required reading vs. long list of recommended reading. :)

By MEHULKUMAR R

Apr 11, 2021

i had learned a lot about user experience design in this course and over all concept and working in user experience design.

By Eduardo M

Oct 26, 2020

Excelente introducción, muy necesaria para entender formas de evaluación de prototipos y cómo mejorarlos! 100% recomendado!

By Marcelo F

Sep 6, 2020

Incredible introduction! Just what I expect, it open up my mind and teach's me the the way to continue acquiring knowledge.

By Sabina T

Jun 14, 2021

Thank you so much for offering such a great course that gives us an opportunity to explore this fascinating field further!

By Anusha B

Jun 24, 2020

fantastic course providing the necessary knowledge to beginners interested in User experience design. Highly recommendable

By Brian J D

Jul 25, 2020

This course was an excellent introduction to UX/UI. It has encouraged me to pursue more courses in this field. Thank you.

By Vishakha P

Sep 25, 2021

Enjoyed it ! .. Were able to understand the concepts and foundation thoroughly ! A Great Course with a Great Instructor.

By Jenny B

Feb 4, 2021

Great course. Easy to learn concepts with great resources to grow knowledge at the end of each module. Highly recommend.

By Ada P L

Aug 11, 2020

The outline of the course and content was super clear and easy to follow even for beginners with zero design background.

By Ili S

Mar 31, 2020

Really interesting course for a novel in this topic. Thank you for the valuable information provided during the lessons!

By Chunmei M

Nov 20, 2016

Very clear and easy for me, as I'm very new to this field. By taking this course, I learned how to conduct a UX design.

By Suzanne R

Sep 20, 2020

Great videos that walk you through and introduce you to the User Design Experience. Supplied reading was very helpful.

By Iris Z

Aug 25, 2021

For someone completely new to the UX are it was pretty helpful. My foundation is solid, now I will keep learning more!

By Corinna F

Apr 15, 2020

Concepts well explained, clear and logical: fine structured. It seems short but it's rich of concept and definitions.

By ONO O

Aug 22, 2021

This course was very informative, and the delivery of the orator made it easy for me to go through the whole course.

By Rebecca J M

Jun 2, 2020

Excellent introduction! I enjoyed the class and feel like I walked away with an understanding of the Design process.

By Nadiia B

May 11, 2017

It was really interesting and useful. And after this course I think, I want to continue to learn this topic, thanks.

By Tomasz S

Sep 4, 2016

Very useful course that gave a nice insight into the broad area of UX. Very good starting point for further studies.

By Sanskrity G

Jul 18, 2020

Very well curated for UX fundamentals. This is for beginners to introduce them to basics of user experience design.

By AYUSH Y

May 1, 2020

This course helped a lot in understanding what is User Experience Design and how we can get started in this field.

By Mugdha V

Feb 16, 2020

A good introductory course. Must be followed up with hands-on exercises and more specialized courses in UX design.

By Michael T

Aug 19, 2019

Great! The Course is easy to understand and have a great value for those who want to learn User Experience Design.