Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
2,460 ratings
614 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 610 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Julia H

Jan 14, 2018

It is great for total beginners.

Since I am a product designer by profession, I expected more information.

By Subha

Jan 24, 2017

Simple and easy to understand and yet learnt a lot. Was able to complete even during a busy work schedule.

By Aditya P

Mar 31, 2019

A highly informative and precise introductory course for anyone looking to break into Interaction Design!

By Anastasia

Dec 13, 2017

Great course, covers all the starter topics. The lecturer presents information in a good structured way.

By Yllianka G

May 18, 2020

The course is very understandable and presented in an interactive way. Great introduction to UX Design.

By Prajwal C B J

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent tutor, shared good reference material for further improving Course content knowledge as well.

By Debajyoti C

Jan 24, 2018

The course content was very crisp although had a comfortable coverage so as to help in real life cases.

By Musankhana C

Jul 30, 2017

Great course. Provides a good overview of User Experience Design. The videos are also short and clear.

By Richard P

Mar 19, 2017

Easy to understand. The lectures given by the instructor are very informative especially for a layman.

By Dovydas F

Apr 16, 2020

Good intro to an absolute newbie like myself. Looking forward to exploring the subject in more depth.

By Ping N

Dec 18, 2019

great introductory course! broad yet informative. Very clear and perfect first step in the UX journey

By Pamela D

Mar 22, 2017

A very east to follow yet information-dense course that will give you a great grounding in UX Design!

By Riccardo R

Dec 18, 2019

Very interesting subject, that covers an important topic as the relation between Users and Designers

By Kiran V

Apr 04, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I am very satisfied with the content that was taught and covered!

By Tabitha R

Feb 19, 2018

Excellent launch board to learn about User Experience design. Reference materials were appropriate.

By Lucia W

May 12, 2017

The teacher was very clear and allowed me to get a better understanding of user experience design.

By Ananya D

Sep 20, 2019

The best online course for free where you get to know the basics of ux designing and learn a lot.

By Surya P

May 19, 2019

Its very useful at the beginner level of study. Gained some knowledge at the introduction level.

By Manash G

May 10, 2017

The mentor is just awesome and has taught many new thing, which i was pretty unaware. Thank You!

By Noelia F

Nov 22, 2019

Great training course! It took me some time to finish it but I finally did and it's very useful

By Julio C L

Aug 21, 2018

Short course but extremely informative, the delivery format is great for the busy professional.

By Austin J

Aug 06, 2017

Great overview of user experience design. Gives you the basis to continue education in the area

By Diego M

Jan 13, 2019

Outstanding introduction to UXD, I thoroughly enjoyed and will recommend to my students too !

By Dan Q

Oct 18, 2017

Excellent course! Actually for the beginner it is good way to start UX skill!

I recommended it

By Mandar V

Oct 04, 2018

Excellent material for a novice like myself and presented in an extremely user friendly way!