Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
1,700 ratings
416 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 410 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Duc T N

Aug 21, 2018

It is very useful for novice learners to learn new terms, definitions about User Experience Design. You can't be an expert right away after this course but you can know the basic concepts as well as the process to build good UX Designs.

By Nita G

Sep 10, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course

By Prathima P

Oct 17, 2018

Great introductory course, with lots of challenging material for non-tech majors/ backgrounds. Very informative! Slightly repetitive lessons and long length of lessons are its only drawback. :)

By CHUN H Y

Oct 23, 2018

Useful and provides clear introduction of the User Experience Design

By Susan H

Aug 23, 2018

Clear instruction on the basics of user experience design. The right amount of information was presented for the beginner course - concepts were repeated and explained tho

By Belyaeva Y

Aug 23, 2018

Great!

By Ashutosh m

Aug 31, 2018

Great!

By Xi Z

Aug 17, 2018

This course provides a very clear overview of what UX Design entails! Recommend to people who want to understand what UX Design is and what it involves! Instructor explains very, very clearly. Definitely recommend!!

By Shivaji D

Oct 28, 2018

A comprehensive and packed UX introduction. Loved it.

By Anil G

Oct 29, 2018

Awesome course, gre

By Felipe J M Z

Nov 09, 2018

Good and informative about UX and UI

By Shubham S

Nov 20, 2018

This course is very informative !

By Paula F H

Sep 28, 2018

The teacher was clear and professional, I could understand everything.

By Sushrutha M

Oct 09, 2018

Great refresher course. I am passionate about User experience design and trying to update my knowledge, having been away from this for over a decade. This course was perfect for me.

By Mandar V

Oct 04, 2018

Excellent material for a novice like myself and presented in an extremely user friendly way!

By Vijeth R

Nov 28, 2018

Perfectly crafted for learning. Definitely a must take course for all the new to field UX Enthusiast. Thanks Coursera and Georgia Tech.

By Katlen F

Nov 29, 2018

I started the course without pretension and I was surprised, very good content, and examples provided were great so I could learn some usability techniques.

By Scott R

Dec 03, 2018

Excellent course!

By Payam D

Jun 16, 2019

Great opportunity to learn the fundamentals of user experience design.

By J P

Jun 17, 2019

Amazingly well put together and concise. Not stuffed with quotes as filler or echoing personal opinions. References are from within the field of UX. I recently started the UMich UX specialization and this one from Georgia Tech is so much better on introduction.

By Daniel

Jun 25, 2019

Simple to understand and concise enough for a intro course. Each modules are of the appropriate length of time - not too long or too short.

By Jason H

Jun 30, 2019

really enjoyed this introductory course. Quizzes were relatively easy and straightforward and for the most part avoided the "gotcha" method. They were mean to make sure you understood the broad concept. Enjoyed the professor's speaking style. would've enjoyed more real world examples such as Norman's Door in the intro (maybe a picture of the door he referenced and why its design was poor). but overall a good intro and has me interested in learning more about CX and UX.

By Saurabh S

Jul 04, 2019

This is a nice beginner level course to understand basic terms, processes and overview of a lot of techniques which are part of User Experience Design.

By Ubyrajara A C D M

Jul 08, 2019

This course is particularly good. It gave me all the insight needed to pursue a more advanced UX curriculum. The reading content is very interesting and can clarify many topics covered in the videos.