Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
1,614 ratings
399 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 393 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Alina S

Mar 05, 2019

Wonderful course! Very interesting material and great Tutor!

By aqsa

Mar 07, 2019

Its very good course but examples are little tough. make it more simple for beginners.

Thank you for giving such a good course.

By Prajwal C B J

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent tutor, shared good reference material for further improving Course content knowledge as well.

By Diego M

Jan 13, 2019

Outstanding introduction to UXD, I thoroughly enjoyed and will recommend to my students too !

By Vivek B

Nov 15, 2018

Very Informative and Easy to Absorb!!!

By RICARDO M

Dec 17, 2018

helped me a lot to frame and relate the user experience design subject

By Jason N

Jul 29, 2018

na

By Binayak G

Jul 18, 2018

A nice introduction to the design process and its terminology

By Steven W

Jul 23, 2018

I really like this course! This is for beginners who are looking for where to start, what exactly User Experience consist of. For me, I really enjoy learning about the research part and prototyping. Great class.

By Julio C L

Aug 21, 2018

Short course but extremely informative, the delivery format is great for the busy professional.

By Duc T N

Aug 21, 2018

It is very useful for novice learners to learn new terms, definitions about User Experience Design. You can't be an expert right away after this course but you can know the basic concepts as well as the process to build good UX Designs.

By Belyaeva Y

Aug 23, 2018

Great!

By Susan H

Aug 23, 2018

Clear instruction on the basics of user experience design. The right amount of information was presented for the beginner course - concepts were repeated and explained tho

By Sushrutha M

Oct 09, 2018

Great refresher course. I am passionate about User experience design and trying to update my knowledge, having been away from this for over a decade. This course was perfect for me.

By Prathima P

Oct 17, 2018

Great introductory course, with lots of challenging material for non-tech majors/ backgrounds. Very informative! Slightly repetitive lessons and long length of lessons are its only drawback. :)

By Andrew W

Sep 16, 2018

The videos were quick, easy, and informative. They are a good overview. The website links were much more in-depth and very helpful; I foresee using them in the future.

By Paula F H

Sep 28, 2018

The teacher was clear and professional, I could understand everything.

By Nita G

Sep 10, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course

By Mandar V

Oct 04, 2018

Excellent material for a novice like myself and presented in an extremely user friendly way!

By CHUN H Y

Oct 23, 2018

Useful and provides clear introduction of the User Experience Design

By Anil G

Oct 29, 2018

Awesome course, gre

By Shivaji D

Oct 28, 2018

A comprehensive and packed UX introduction. Loved it.

By Xi Z

Aug 17, 2018

This course provides a very clear overview of what UX Design entails! Recommend to people who want to understand what UX Design is and what it involves! Instructor explains very, very clearly. Definitely recommend!!

By Ashutosh m

Aug 31, 2018

Great!

By Julia H

Jan 14, 2018

It is great for total beginners.

Since I am a product designer by profession, I expected more information.