Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
4,046 ratings
975 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO
Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC
Sep 25, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 966 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Naomi S

Oct 11, 2020

Users should be able to manually review wrong answers, by 'locking in' their test result so they can't cheat.

By Luiz C M

May 19, 2020

The course was good. The issue was the predominant verbal explanation but very little visual exemplification.

By Vanessa P M d S

Jun 19, 2017

Easy to follow, good teacher, good content. I would suggest to include more real examples for each concept.

By Maziel S J C

Oct 3, 2016

Conceptos muy básicos pero sin duda funcionales y necesarios para quien inicia en el User Experience Design.

By Bhaswant I

Mar 11, 2018

More practical usecases would have been engaging. Otherwise, knowledge wise good for introduction course.

By Te'Shawn D

May 23, 2020

Pretty good dive into the basics, my only issue is that the pacing could have been a little bit better.

By Michelle L

Jun 17, 2017

A little bit repetitive/ vague at times, but good as a general introduction, which it is meant to be!

By Michael M

Jan 8, 2017

A good simple introduction which also lists some useful resources. Well presented, logical and clear.

By Robert O

Sep 25, 2020

Good introduction to terms used in design cycle, sometimes lecture wouldn't relate to quiz questions

By Len S

Apr 15, 2019

Very informative and insightful. Wish I could get a badge after I have completed the course, though.

By Carter E

Nov 23, 2020

Great introduction and overview of UX Design. I'll definitely be looking further into the subject.

By Felicia P ( - I

May 9, 2020

It was just enough info to validate and to enhance my current level of understanding of UX Design.

By Vivek G

May 8, 2020

The course design is very good. But the course costs very high from the Indian rupee perspective.

By Lin Z

Mar 22, 2019

Good to know basics for beginners. I found it useful to get a general idea of what UX design is.

By ON K H

Mar 31, 2020

Course questions were not very easy to understand sometimes, hence leading to erros in answers.

By SHELDON L D S

Feb 7, 2020

Sometimes a little confusing with the swap of words. Good because there were consistent recaps.

By Hongsun K

Apr 9, 2018

This was a great intro to UX design. This was a nice platform to launch into UX design further.

By Tanuj B

Sep 4, 2017

Not a bad introduction, evaluations were too easy. Would have liked something more challenging

By Victoria O

Nov 3, 2020

This course was very enlightening, I learnt a lot and hope to take more courses as I improve.

By Helen

Aug 7, 2018

Great course for basic and fundamentals of UX. Might need more practical hands-on experience.

By Ankita B

May 26, 2020

Very nice. It was easy to understand and the concepts were well explained. Highly recommend.

By Francisco A S

Dec 30, 2017

Bastante bueno, hay mucho material extra de otras fuentes web que amplían mucho el panorama.

By Andrei R

Jul 7, 2017

very basic. the material was presented very well but the course barely scratched the surface

By Di X

Oct 25, 2019

This class is quite easy to learn and understand. Each concept is explained in a clear way.

By Siyang Y

Feb 4, 2020

It is very fundamental and easy for the beginners,also helpful but not very interesting...