Chevron Left
Back to User Experience & Interaction Design for AR/VR/MR/XR

Learner Reviews & Feedback for User Experience & Interaction Design for AR/VR/MR/XR by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
148 ratings

About the Course

This second course in the XR for Everybody specialization looks at how to design new user experiences for XR technologies. The course provides learners with a design thinking mindset and equips them with a fundamental toolbox for creating XR applications using rapid prototyping. It starts with a broad overview of the complete XR design process, discussing different paths to becoming an XR creator, what is generally involved in making XR experiences, and how to best get started. The course then emphasizes design thinking, critiques, and ethics while introducing guidelines and user-centered techniques like design jams. The second half of the course introduces a variety of methods and tools for prototyping both physically and digitally including on the XR devices themselves through immersive authoring. The course has an honors track that guides learners through creating their own storyboard, physical prototype, and digital prototype of an XR experience. You will work on exercises that allow you to practice your design skills and also build XR technologies into your workflow by working with specific templates and new digital tools that allow you to preview physical prototypes on AR/VR devices....

Top reviews

ST

Aug 13, 2023

Wonderful course. Lot of fundamental concepts covered with lot of examples which are easy for understanding for beginners. Highly recommended for anyone interested in XR.

CH

Jan 10, 2022

Best course I've taken on Coursera! People interested in XR should take this class -- the design process is so important!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 32 Reviews for User Experience & Interaction Design for AR/VR/MR/XR

By Grettel R A

Oct 7, 2021

I really enjoyed the course and the honors track assignments. It was very hands-on and provided a good starting point for creating XR experiences.

As an improvement opportunity, I think the videos need to be shorter. Watching a 20-minute video is not ideal from a learning perspective. It would be better to subdivide the 20 into smaller 5-minute videos. Also, I completed most of the assignments in the honors track, but I can't get the honors track certificate, because I don't have anything assigned in the peer review.

By Meshhur A

Nov 3, 2023

Useless information for beginners, why do beginners need these hard stuff. You have a lot of theory part, and less practise.

By Virginia R

Jun 11, 2024

I absolutely loved the User Experience and Interaction Design for AR/VR/MR/XR course! The way the trainer explained each concept and technique was truly outstanding. Her clear and practical approach made even the most complex topics understandable and accessible. I was impressed by her passion for the subject and her ability to communicate knowledge so effectively. It was a truly enriching educational experience that has left me eager to apply everything I've learned to future projects!

By Robbie I

Apr 12, 2021

The course and honors track is an excellent start before developing XR experiences and learning new applications that can produce them. And as a graphic artist and designer, I believe that design XR has similar strategies for creating graphic design and filmmaking. Thank you, Micheal, for having me approach my new skill of creativity!

By Fadilah

Jun 10, 2023

I really like this course! This course provides all aspects for designing XR experience, including ethics (this is important!) and evaluation. The instructor is also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Thank you Dr Michael Nebeling, I wish I could visit your lab someday. Wish you all the best!

By Tung-Yu W

Apr 10, 2021

Love it, really amazing contents for the overall, thank you for sharing them with us. Honor's track is very helpful, but I've found out that the interview with Katy and all the experiences she mentioned after learning XR was so impressive too! I look forward to complete the last course! Cheers!

By Sai K M

Aug 23, 2021

This course has taught me how to think in a simple way about UX design for XR. I was able to do so much prototyping and make stuff without even having advanced gear or equipment. Although, the next course on XR development will help have a more complete understanding of prototype making in XR

By Prajakta A

Mar 20, 2021

Loved it! The course offered in-depth learning about UX, Design Thinking, XR/AR/VR and Prototyping.

I never thought creating paper and digital prototypes could add so much value as that's the first step after storyboarding.

Thank you very much, Prof Michael Nebeling and UOM. :)

By Noelia O

Jun 16, 2022

Es un curso muy importante para nuestra carrera ya que la Tecnología llegó para quedarse y es una herramienta importante en distintos rubros para poder hacer nuestras tareas fácilmente de esa forma atraer a más clientes.

By Srinivas T

Aug 14, 2023

Wonderful course. Lot of fundamental concepts covered with lot of examples which are easy for understanding for beginners. Highly recommended for anyone interested in XR.

By Dalrae J

Apr 13, 2021

i am preparing my own vr/3d application proposal, this course was a perfect guide for it. thank you so much for great learning!

By Chris H

Jan 11, 2022

Best course I've taken on Coursera! People interested in XR should take this class -- the design process is so important!

By Latisha B

Mar 6, 2022

This is a great introduction with hands-on projects regarding user experience & interaction design for XR!

By Robert D D

Jun 6, 2023

Another excellent course from Dr. Michael Nebeling and the University of Michigan - thanks very much!

By Chesway S

Jan 5, 2024

Useful information and down to earth instructor. Practical exercises to help you learn by doing.

By Jay B

Jun 26, 2022

Good course for beginner XR UX designer , mostly about ux approaches on XR design system making.

By Ravishankar R

Aug 7, 2021

This course was realy an eye opener on "how to design for XR". Loved it and felt valuable.

By GN

Dec 9, 2021

Fantastic Course with a great instructor. Highly recommended,

By Natalia P G

May 26, 2022

Buenos tips para el prototipado de experiencias inmersivas

By Kevin C W

Apr 24, 2023

Great introductory course. Thank you.

By Akshaya G

May 26, 2023

Wonderful learning experience.

By Fiorella N H

Oct 30, 2022

Novedoso y super entretenido

By Karthik E

Apr 25, 2022

Excellent information

By Darwin R V

Apr 25, 2024

excelente.

By Nurudeen O

Jan 18, 2023

Great