Chevron Left
Back to Managing an Agile Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing an Agile Team by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
1,112 ratings
271 reviews

About the Course

While agile has become the de facto standard for managing digital innovation teams, many wonder if they’re doing it ‘right’. Twitter is full of jokes about how teams say they do agile but don’t ‘really’ do it. The reality is that getting the most out of agile is less about observing specific procedures and more about how a team focuses and measures their progress. Rather than just boring you with an accounting of agile methodologies, this course focuses on helping you better charter your team’s focus, definition of success, and practice of agile. While learning about agile mainstays like Scrum, XP, and kanban, you’ll also learn to help your team ask the right questions about how they’re working and facilitate good answers on how agile can help. This course is supported by the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Top reviews

FB
Nov 12, 2018

I have learned new things about agile practices and it worth the time to take the course. Sometimes I had the impression that some subject are vague, but overall the course rised to the expectations

EG
Dec 11, 2019

This course was Excellent. The Instructor is very engaging and kept my attention through all of the 4 weeks of class. The Assignment was extremely helpful in applying the learning to a project.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 268 Reviews for Managing an Agile Team

By Fabián G R

Oct 18, 2020

It's a good course. It is dealing concepts about Agile, not only scrum which is usually to be the common in other courses. Perhaps, in these courses are necessary to introduce more exercise practical beginning lesson 1. The review the other peers, is not exhaustive and when you review other works, there are a lot of tasks similars.

By Jens G

Jul 1, 2016

In depth and practical.

Some more linking to the previous courses could provide better framing of the courses content in the larger scheme. For a more systemic view of how all things are connected in this course and all previous courses I would have to go deep into it all again. As this was my first acquaintance with such a course

By Alberto D

Jun 8, 2020

I loved the course and Alex is great at explaining everything but probably things I don't directly work with software development, I didn't feel as motivated to get through with it as with the previous ones in the specialization.

By Richard W

Mar 24, 2018

Very well presented. I love the Learn, decide, Build & Manage quadrants. Would love to have more informaiton of how to manage the Snr managers and sponsors as my organisation has not yet transitioned the Snr management team.

By Alberto R N

May 15, 2020

It's really worth it!

Some courses are better shown, didactic and prepared than others, but in the end the tips come together in a pleasant way.

Congratulations to the University and Professors, very good work.

By Rafael G

Nov 12, 2018

Eu gostei bastante do curso. Acredito que é um treinamento interessante se você quer ter uma visão geral sobre diversas metodologias ágeis disponíveis no mercado e entender como poderia aplicá-las na vida real.

By Sarah A

Dec 5, 2020

I liked every part of this course except one thing (I believe I am the only one who will say this) the interviews were not much useful and I could not complete them till the end with a sharp focus

By ahmed e

May 11, 2020

This course gave me an idea on how to manage an agile team with different approaches and in different situations and learned the key role for each member of the team

By Ruth Y

Apr 19, 2021

This was a good introduction to understanding the structure and terminology to consider when managing an Agile team. Exercises and examples were engaging.

By Janita S

Oct 27, 2020

Good course but I don't think the final tasks that we did and reviewed were not 100% compatible with the course "Managing an Agile Team".

By Caroline L

Feb 6, 2020

This course will benefit anyone who is transitioning into the Agile software approach. It's a great intro for any role on an agile team.

By Lori D

Oct 8, 2018

It is a great course, to learn about agile, and see the diferencies between companies, teams based on their culture o needs.

By Aleksei D

Apr 29, 2021

I liked the mentor and the materials. However, drawing on the presentation didn't help much to understand the topic :)

By Amy M

Jan 30, 2017

Great content, but I felt some sections of the assignments were vague, making them more confusing/harder than needed.

By Marshall S

Jul 17, 2019

finally talks about agile! i feel like this should be the first course in the specialization

By Johannes R

Dec 1, 2017

Very good course. Speaker is knowledgable, but sometimes using terrible (funny) analogies.

By Kristin P

Feb 27, 2019

The learning material is great however the assignments do not have the same level.

By Varun D

Dec 19, 2018

Good overview and examples from real life, the assignments were relevant too

By Olivier G

Oct 7, 2016

Highly interesting, I do recommend the course

Thank you Alex

By Magvanshiirev

Jul 31, 2020

Quite interesting and useful course for Agile teams

By Reid C

Jan 3, 2019

So far the best course set I've taken on Coursera.

By Denis F M G

Sep 21, 2020

Good course. With videos of experts. I like it

By Indra G

May 29, 2018

Good coerce content and very nicely explained.

By Uma B

Jul 24, 2019

Really good content and easy to learn

By Kewal P

Jun 17, 2017

Great Insights into agile principals