Chevron Left
Back to Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
528 ratings
120 reviews

About the Course

How much should you charge for your products and services? Traditionally, businesses have answered this question based on the cost to produce or provide their goods and services. This course shows you the economic factors behind pricing based on cost and the pros and cons of a cost-based pricing approach. Developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, and led by top-ranked Darden faculty and Boston Consulting Group global pricing experts, the course provides the practical and research-based models and methods you need to set prices that maximize your profits. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: --Apply knowledge of basic economics to make better pricing decisions --Recognize opportunities for price discrimination—selling the same product at different prices to different buyers—and recommend strategies to maximize sales and profits --Calculate three types of price elasticities to determine the impact of price on demand --Analyze and apply different pricing models -Cost-plus pricing -Marginal cost-plus pricing -Peak-load pricing -Index-based pricing --Evaluate the impact of channel intermediaries and customer lifetime value on pricing...

Top reviews

MP
May 7, 2018

Concepts in this course are challenging but the class is setup for students to succeed. I really enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about pricing strategy.

AG
Apr 5, 2018

Even if you are familiar with the basics of microeconomics, and cost structures, this course combines it all together to provide a new perspective of using these models and concepts in pricing.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 117 Reviews for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

By Adam G

Apr 6, 2018

Even if you are familiar with the basics of microeconomics, and cost structures, this course combines it all together to provide a new perspective of using these models and concepts in pricing.

By Camilo A A

Jul 7, 2019

All you need to understand about calculations and economics regarding pricing is explained, in detail, using clear examples and with great material to feel satisfied about complex information.

By Matthew K

Jul 22, 2019

Excellent introduction to the mathematics behind cost and pricing strategies. This course gave me a lot of good information that I've already started putting into practice at work.

By Lynette B

Sep 1, 2020

A great refresher course that allowed me to get back into the pricing calculations with ease. It can be challenging if you are not familiar with the statistical calculations.

By Nikitas P

Jun 12, 2019

Really helpful and well-designed course for those interested in understanding the basic Pricing concepts in practice and learn how to approach any pricing challenge

By Olesia A

Apr 28, 2019

The succinct and exhaustive account of pricing. Specifically, this course highlights the role of a firm's cost structure in pricing strategy. Highly recommended!

By Trevor E

Jul 20, 2020

This is an excellent course. Videos are reasonable length and have the essential content. Quantitative information is presented in a very palatable way.

By Munish M

Oct 11, 2018

Great course. Has good coverage of important concepts and is delivered very well. Really useful course for those with interest in strategic pricing.

By Robinsson Y S D

Mar 27, 2020

It is excellent I learned a lot and acquired tools that I did not know and strategies that increased my horizons of thought on the subject

By Parv S

May 19, 2020

One of the most challenging courses I have done on this platform and yet one of the most rewarding ones. Can't wait to do the next one!

By YANG X

Mar 25, 2020

Good cases with strong background knowledge, the course provides a framework for me to reflect loads of real-world business problems.

By Michael C

May 9, 2017

Interesting module considering this is my first time trying to understand pricing and how to set pricing. Learnt a lot, thanks.

By Alvaro F

Sep 27, 2020

Excellent, very complete and useful. Pretty sure I will be able to apply what I have learned here. Very well recommended.

By Georgiy Z

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent overview of economics in pricing strategy.

Great deal of practical work. Very applicable to real life scenarios.

By Dr. A R

Oct 5, 2020

Its a challenging course, need lots of understanding and hands on to clear the course. Had a great learning experience

By Bilal Y

May 29, 2018

I would have loved if we were able to see a complete example, similar to the one we have done in the end of the course.

By Pietro P V

Sep 11, 2020

Muy enriquecedor y despeja inquietudes sobre fijación de precios que en emprendimiento, lo cual es un punto clave.

By Fernanda Q

May 4, 2020

This was a really well structured course, I was not expecting so much clarity on the content. Totally recommended.

By Ashish A

Sep 13, 2018

It was really helpful in increasing the understanding of different pricing strategy. It was really a nice course.

By Bruno d R D M

Aug 21, 2019

Congratulations for the course. I could learn the pricing techniques in a easy way and star taking in daily use.

By Vladislav T

Oct 1, 2018

Great overview of main concepts, simple and immediately applicable explanation of elasticity and regression!

By Reinis S

Jun 2, 2017

Great course and intro to pricing strategy, already excited for the coming courses in the specialization.

By jonathan

May 15, 2020

very good course! detailed, interesting and provides really useful concepts with real-world applications

By Alexandre C

Nov 16, 2018

Amazing course, it takes us through details and specifics in the matter of pricing! I highly recommend!

By Ashish S

Sep 30, 2017

Brilliantly led course. The BCG material seems a bit fluffy - but from practice I know it is important.