Chevron Left
Back to Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
532 ratings
122 reviews

About the Course

How much should you charge for your products and services? Traditionally, businesses have answered this question based on the cost to produce or provide their goods and services. This course shows you the economic factors behind pricing based on cost and the pros and cons of a cost-based pricing approach. Developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, and led by top-ranked Darden faculty and Boston Consulting Group global pricing experts, the course provides the practical and research-based models and methods you need to set prices that maximize your profits. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: --Apply knowledge of basic economics to make better pricing decisions --Recognize opportunities for price discrimination—selling the same product at different prices to different buyers—and recommend strategies to maximize sales and profits --Calculate three types of price elasticities to determine the impact of price on demand --Analyze and apply different pricing models -Cost-plus pricing -Marginal cost-plus pricing -Peak-load pricing -Index-based pricing --Evaluate the impact of channel intermediaries and customer lifetime value on pricing...

Top reviews

MP
May 7, 2018

Concepts in this course are challenging but the class is setup for students to succeed. I really enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about pricing strategy.

AG
Apr 5, 2018

Even if you are familiar with the basics of microeconomics, and cost structures, this course combines it all together to provide a new perspective of using these models and concepts in pricing.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 119 Reviews for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

By Meng Y

Sep 14, 2020

Great course to learn about the basics of pricing strategy, and some linear regression along the way.

By Daryl S

Apr 23, 2019

An excellent course. A gold star online experience, fantastic teachers, albeit challenging in parts.

By Paolo V

Apr 3, 2019

Good refresh, good learning of new concepts, excellent delivery of the lectures by both professors

By Gary S

Mar 18, 2018

Interesting, Challenging and rewarding. Recommended for all pricing enthusiasts and professionals!

By Bhaskar S

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course. Really enjoyed it throughout. Concepts are explained in a really nice manner.

By Wang L

Aug 8, 2017

It's a very helpful course can improve my analyze skills whatever I'm a salesman or a buyer !!

By Arun K

Aug 3, 2020

Very Nice course, looks simplistic but makes a lot of difference towards the understanding...

By Poushali G

Jan 21, 2018

Good course on pricing...look forward to completing the rest of the three pending courses

By Eladio M

Nov 17, 2018

Really useful course that I can recommend to every business manager

Excellent professors

By Antonio I M d A

Nov 30, 2020

Lots of practical and useful information that we can see in our day to day operations.

By Jason K

Jul 11, 2019

Really enjoyed the class. I would highly recommend this class to any business person.

By Fábio I A

Dec 17, 2018

An amazing content that allows me to understand serious companies pricing strategies.

By Ravi K

Jan 17, 2020

I have gained good skills about price optimisation and this course is very helpful.

By Ismail A S

Aug 29, 2017

This is an insightful and educative course to prepare anyone for a pricing career.

By Sumit M

Jun 3, 2017

Course content was good, although it was simple, they can be made more rigorous.

By KAPURIA D

May 11, 2020

Provides a good understanding of the pricing concepts involved related to cost

By Brian L

Sep 14, 2019

This course was well structured and the videos and assessments quite engaging.

By Nariman B

Sep 20, 2020

Challenging at times but full of detailed and valuable information. Loved it.

By Martin R

Jul 24, 2017

Really nice course, well explained, and a lot of examples from actual cases!

By KRISHNA K N

Jun 14, 2020

Well structured course to learn the price strategy with practical use case

By Prashant K

Nov 16, 2019

Fantastic course with good inputs and material on fundamentals of pricing.

By Karene D

Apr 24, 2017

Insightful course that provided a concise overview of pricing strategies.

By Felipe O H

Sep 13, 2018

I loved the course, it is both a theoretical and applied sound program.

By Evgeny L

Aug 31, 2018

Great course. Strong theoretical base linked with practical exercises

By chintamani M

Feb 2, 2020

excellent course and directly applicable for my current pricing job