Chevron Left
Back to Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
442 ratings
92 reviews

About the Course

How much should you charge for your products and services? Traditionally, businesses have answered this question based on the cost to produce or provide their goods and services. This course shows you the economic factors behind pricing based on cost and the pros and cons of a cost-based pricing approach. Led by Darden faculty and Boston Consulting Group global pricing experts, the course provides the practical and research-based models and methods you need to set prices that maximize your profits. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: --Apply knowledge of basic economics to make better pricing decisions --Recognize opportunities for price discrimination—selling the same product at different prices to different buyers—and recommend strategies to maximize sales and profits --Calculate three types of price elasticities to determine the impact of price on demand --Analyze and apply different pricing models -Cost-plus pricing -Marginal cost-plus pricing -Peak-load pricing -Index-based pricing --Evaluate the impact of channel intermediaries and customer lifetime value on pricing...

Top reviews

MP

May 08, 2018

Concepts in this course are challenging but the class is setup for students to succeed. I really enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about pricing strategy.

AG

Apr 06, 2018

Even if you are familiar with the basics of microeconomics, and cost structures, this course combines it all together to provide a new perspective of using these models and concepts in pricing.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 90 Reviews for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

By Bilal Y

May 29, 2018

I would have loved if we were able to see a complete example, similar to the one we have done in the end of the course.

By Fernanda Q

May 04, 2020

This was a really well structured course, I was not expecting so much clarity on the content. Totally recommended.

By Ashish A

Sep 13, 2018

It was really helpful in increasing the understanding of different pricing strategy. It was really a nice course.

By Bruno d R D M

Aug 22, 2019

Congratulations for the course. I could learn the pricing techniques in a easy way and star taking in daily use.

By Vladislav T

Oct 01, 2018

Great overview of main concepts, simple and immediately applicable explanation of elasticity and regression!

By Reinis S

Jun 02, 2017

Great course and intro to pricing strategy, already excited for the coming courses in the specialization.

By jonathan

May 15, 2020

very good course! detailed, interesting and provides really useful concepts with real-world applications

By Alexandre C O

Nov 16, 2018

Amazing course, it takes us through details and specifics in the matter of pricing! I highly recommend!

By Ashish S

Sep 30, 2017

Brilliantly led course. The BCG material seems a bit fluffy - but from practice I know it is important.

By Daryl S

Apr 24, 2019

An excellent course. A gold star online experience, fantastic teachers, albeit challenging in parts.

By Paolo V

Apr 03, 2019

Good refresh, good learning of new concepts, excellent delivery of the lectures by both professors

By Gary S

Mar 18, 2018

Interesting, Challenging and rewarding. Recommended for all pricing enthusiasts and professionals!

By Bhaskar S

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course. Really enjoyed it throughout. Concepts are explained in a really nice manner.

By Wang L

Aug 08, 2017

It's a very helpful course can improve my analyze skills whatever I'm a salesman or a buyer !!

By Poushali G

Jan 21, 2018

Good course on pricing...look forward to completing the rest of the three pending courses

By Eladio M

Nov 17, 2018

Really useful course that I can recommend to every business manager

Excellent professors

By Jason K

Jul 11, 2019

Really enjoyed the class. I would highly recommend this class to any business person.

By Fábio I A

Dec 17, 2018

An amazing content that allows me to understand serious companies pricing strategies.

By Ravi K D

Jan 17, 2020

I have gained good skills about price optimisation and this course is very helpful.

By Ismail A S

Aug 29, 2017

This is an insightful and educative course to prepare anyone for a pricing career.

By Sumit M

Jun 03, 2017

Course content was good, although it was simple, they can be made more rigorous.

By KAPURIA D

May 11, 2020

Provides a good understanding of the pricing concepts involved related to cost

By Brian L

Sep 14, 2019

This course was well structured and the videos and assessments quite engaging.

By Martin R

Jul 24, 2017

Really nice course, well explained, and a lot of examples from actual cases!

By Prashant K

Nov 16, 2019

Fantastic course with good inputs and material on fundamentals of pricing.