Chevron Left
Back to Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
3,307 ratings
960 reviews

About the Course

Not so long ago, the job of product manager was about assessing market data, creating requirements, and managing the hand-off to sales/marketing. Maybe you’d talk to a customer somewhere in there and they’d tell you what features they wanted. But companies that manage product that way are dying. Being a product person today is a new game, and product managers are at the center of it. Today, particularly if your product is mostly digital, you might update it several times a day. Massive troves of data are available for making decisions and, at the same time, deep insights into customer motivation and experience are more important than ever. The job of the modern product manager is to charter a direction and create a successful working environment for all the actors involved in product success. It’s not a simple job or an easy job, but it is a meaningful job where you’ll be learning all the time. This course will help you along your learning journey and prepare you with the skills and perspective you need to: Create the actionable focus to successfully manage your product (week 1) Focus your work using modern product management methods (week 2) Manage new products and explore new product ideas (week 3) Manage and amplify existing products (week 4) This course is ideal for current product or general managers interested in today's modern product management methods. This course was developed with the generous support of the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Top reviews

LK
Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much! This course helped me ground myself in some of the core principles of product management and I'm confident that I will take what I've learned and put it into practice.

JB
May 19, 2019

I liked the course content, even though i do not work - yet - with product. It gave me a good overview of what to expect in the near future, when i expect to be able to put the knowledge into action.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 957 Reviews for Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

By Usama H

Aug 24, 2020

it was nice to have such a remarkable tutor /teachers ,i had alot to learn through this course hope you people arrange more such courses in future

By Kannan V

Jun 9, 2020

Some more examples outside software products would have made it more interesting. Explaining only with software products has its own limitations.

By Dinesh K K

Oct 25, 2019

The course was so insightful and I learned so many new frameworks that can be applied to improve the product's performance as well as the team's.

By prashanth

Apr 26, 2020

It was very useful course and helped me to learn some skills about the process of marketing our product through various methods and strategies.

By Oren G

Mar 6, 2019

Nice insight into new methodologies that my corporation is interested in using. Also helpful to see some practices from examples and structure.

By Behzad S

May 29, 2020

One of the best courses on Digital Product management with great content for readers and easy to understand and implement. Thank You Coursera

By KANISHK A S

Sep 20, 2020

Great course for introduction to modern Product Management. Helped a lot to gain insights into the mindset required to be a Product Manager.

By John K

Sep 26, 2019

This is a really good course. Clear and concise. Good examples and collateral. I am using the information on my job as a scrum master now.

By Liron N W

Feb 26, 2019

The course was very interesting and instructing. It would have perfect if the presentation would have been more structured and consistent.

By Huang y

Aug 20, 2019

本課著重於發展新產品時的概念及想法,有提到部分方法,但針對執行不會提供太多的敘述,需要另外去講師的個人網站自習。若是考慮創業或公司有餘力研發新產品的狀況下,此課程能給予一個不錯的概念。反之,針對舊產品優化類型的產品經理可能較不適合。課程並不難,還是建議產品經理都能了解一下!

By Ray M

Mar 31, 2018

Interviewees were a bit of a bore (except for the female who drew out her thoughts), but I like how Alex structured them consistently.

By Asitha G

Nov 20, 2018

A very good course I would recommend to PMs to get understanding of critical business models and practical approaches for daily life.

By Carlos M G

Sep 2, 2020

Es un buen curso para aquellos con alguna experiencia previa en disciplinas relacionadas al diseño y de desarrollo de software.

By KONATHALA S P 2 B

Jul 2, 2020

Great course from a knowledgeable instructor. Especially loved sessions with real product managers from out there in the world.

By Sam A

Sep 26, 2019

I love this course because it was really immersive, i also enjoyed the instructor, he had a good grasp of what he thought us.

By Muhammad E

Nov 2, 2019

Well structured course but I think it will be better if there are more assignment related to implementation of the theory

By Andres S S

Feb 11, 2021

very nice and interesting course to learn the fundamentals of the product management. Alex is very precise and incisive.

By Roland R

Dec 8, 2019

Great Course just some of the Quizzes are not 100% clear. In different scenarios different approaches might be good.

By Nikhil S

May 13, 2020

Great course, with insights from product managers working in companies like Google and from the authors of books

By Lisa H

Jan 4, 2021

This course teaches basic concepts of product management, cross-functional collaboration, and business success.

By Pankaja G

Jun 18, 2020

I felt the course topics were taught in fast paced with not enough time to capture and understand the slides.

By Maximilian B

Feb 23, 2019

Great overview of agile PM methodologies. Sometimes staying too abstract to be useful, especially week 4.

By Сергей Х

Apr 6, 2020

Useful structuring of PM routine, but not a lot of really big insights and brand new ideas/instruments.

By Faiz H

Nov 1, 2020

Some aging concepts - but still a good core course to outline the fundamentals of Product Management.

By Peter K

Mar 24, 2018

Very good inputs and ideas. I will personal use some of the shown techniques and tools in my company.