Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting Fundamentals by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,844 ratings
527 reviews

About the Course

This course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, will teach you the tools you'll need to understand the fundamentals of financial accounting. Concise videos, the financial records of a small business, and "your turn" activities guide you through the three most commonly used financial statements: the Balance Sheet, the Income Statement, and the Statement of Cash Flows. Beyond recording transactions, you'll learn how to prepare these financial statements, and read and analyze them to draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Use journal entries to record transactions - Prepare and use t-accounts to summarize transactions recorded during an accounting period - Describe the three most commonly used financial statements and how they fit together - Prepare these financial statements based on transactions recorded during an accounting period - Draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health...

Top reviews

RF
Dec 22, 2019

I recommend this course to all beginners in understanding accounting , this course completely put you into your first step of the world of financial accounting , and professor luann is really amazing

JR
Sep 4, 2020

The concepts learned during this course made possible for me to present the project financials in a better way to the director. This course should be a must for all of us in the project management.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 521 Reviews for Financial Accounting Fundamentals

By Ronitt M

Aug 3, 2020

This is a wonderful course for all those people who are learning Accounting for the first time. Prof. Luann ensures that her students are kept engrossed throughout the course, despite Accounting being a rather monotonous task. She does so by subtly adding humour from time to time in her lectures.

By Sofia E

Jul 18, 2019

Professor Lynch takes what can be an intimidating topic, financial accounting, and turns it into something approachable and actually enjoyable! My knowledge of accounting was broadened and solidified, and I feel empowered to take this knowledge into the business world. Thanks, Professor Lynch!

By Matthieu G

Apr 3, 2020

Very good course which is very well and clearly explained. The exercises, cases and quiz relates to practical situation that anyone case face/have as an entrepreneur/employee or investor. I highly recommend the course, many thanks to Mrs Lynch for making accounting an easy topic to digest.

By Jatin B

Jul 12, 2020

This is a great course designed by Luann Lynch and the University of Virginia. The explainations given are clear and crisp, and I wish I could get more practice assignments. The only thing I would like to say that Week 3 and 4 are a little heavy, so DONT GIVE UP!! it will come to you :)

By Wendy A

Aug 28, 2019

I was adventuring across the internet to learn accounting. Watching videos and reading articles improved my knowledge but not my overall understanding about accounting. Until i found this course which contributed a lot to fill the gap of my understanding of fundamentals of accounting.

By Timothy H

Oct 18, 2020

A very well structured and paced course. The concept of keeping everything in a single RE account and then describing the revenue/expense in there is different to how I'm familiar with working, but once that adjustment is made it all really works out well. Thankyou very much indeed.

By Ciara L

May 4, 2018

Certainly a great refresher for reporting and fundamentals. Sometimes we get comfortable with software that is designed to generate the info we need and it was nice to look over a company sample and get back to the basics of JE's, reports, and more. Would recommend to all levels.

By Margaret J

Apr 13, 2021

Great intro to Accounting if you know nothing to begin with. Very step by step. Accounting is not an easy topic, but the professor does a great job of explaining things in a way that is easy to understand. Glad I took this course even if I don't pursue a career in Accounting.

By Syed T

Oct 20, 2020

Hi I am from Pakistan. This course guide me a lot about Cash flow statement, Balance Sheet, How to enter any journal entry by following equals to equations rule & US GAAP. Higly recommended course for beginners especially who wants to learn US Accounting method. 100 out 100

By Yacine A

Jul 16, 2020

This Course is one of the best I have passed in coursera, lot of fun, enjoyable, and have a lot of learning material and practice examples, I totally recommend this course to any young professional who aims to either start up a business or to take up a managerial position.

By Jaime M

Jan 24, 2021

It's an exellent course that combines theory and practice to learn how to prepare financial statements and analyze its content at a beginning level, one of the best to introduce the subject even if you don't have previous knowledge or experience with accounting.

By Lucian P

Dec 5, 2020

Excellent information, very good explanations. I was able to understand how the accounting works in the USA (and not only). I knew some basic accounting from the economics university in Europe, but never used in the last 10 years, so this course was a blessing!

By Michael K

Jan 23, 2021

l don't have any background in Accounting, as much as it was challenging for me, l really gained a lot, was meeting new terms , some not so new, but had never understood what they meant. Today l am now able to understand and interpret financial statements.

By Vũ T N

Aug 20, 2020

The professor does a great job of explaining everything and provides numerous examples to help me gain a better understanding of the material. Thereby, I have mastered the knowledge from the course to advance to the goals that I have set . Thank you!

By Ahmad M

Jun 26, 2020

Yes, I feel that I accomplished most of my goals: to learn about financial statements and analyze it. But I still need to work and practice on some part of them. In the future, I hope to learn more about accounting and improve my skills with it.

By Robert W R I

Feb 26, 2021

Great course that teaches the basic fundamentals of accounting. Good course to begin a path down a business road and developing an advanced career. Would definitely recommend to those looking to change their professional lives for the better.

By Igor K

Apr 12, 2018

I found this course very informative and a good refresher for anyone that completed accounting courses many years ago. The instructor does a great job explaining the material and I would expect any lessons taught by her to be as exceptional!

By walt j

Jun 19, 2020

I really liked the Professor's teaching style..much better than the Professor I had for an accounting course in undergraduate days. I will probably take the Managerial Accounting course to continue my learning experience in accounting.

By Marva K

Mar 26, 2020

I feel like I have mastered the basics because of the way in which the professor took the time to explain and the way in which the course was structured. I liked the exercises and the case study of TGS. I highly recommend this course.

By Somil G

Apr 9, 2020

Excellent course! Just take it, if you are looking for a fun learning accounting experience.

No pre-requisites are assumed. The best asset of the course is the skill, knowledge and the enthusiasm of the instructor. Thank you so much.

By Osama S A

Sep 8, 2018

A great course..

Prof. lynch did more than a great job to present the material in a simple enjoyable way. I defiantly recommend more advanced accounting courses with Prof. Lynch such as the Method Case, that she uses in MBA classes

By Jamie Y

Sep 10, 2017

A very good introductory course that is not too heavy for a time commitment (2-3 hours a week) + has the practice tests that are available even if you are auditing the class, so you can get a sense if you understand the material.

By Aakash G

Jul 30, 2017

So far i have just seen the course overview and it seems brilliant even for an individual who is going to learn accounts for the very first time. Looking forward to complete this amazing and exciting course.

Regards,

Aakash Gupta

By Tatiana S

Jun 6, 2020

I LOVE THIS COURSE - Accounting was always a challenge to me. This course helped me to fill up some of the blanks in my knowledge. The Professor uses simple language for a better understanding of this discipline. Great course!

By Yazeed H A

Jun 25, 2020

first of all i'm grateful it really hit a spot on my carrier and my self.

The process is excellent i loved the flow of the course it also gave me time for working and living

without interfering.

i'm excited for my next course.