Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting Fundamentals by University of Virginia

4.8
670 ratings
171 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the tools you'll need to understand the fundamentals of financial accounting. Concise videos, the financial records of a small business, and "your turn" activities guide you through the three most commonly used financial statements: the Balance Sheet, the Income Statement, and the Statement of Cash Flows. Beyond recording transactions, you'll learn how to prepare these financial statements, and read and analyze them to draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Use journal entries to record transactions - Prepare and use t-accounts to summarize transactions recorded during an accounting period - Describe the three most commonly used financial statements and how they fit together - Prepare these financial statements based on transactions recorded during an accounting period - Draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health...

Top reviews

JK

Mar 14, 2018

Definitely the best online course I have taken. You get to learn a lot from this short term course and feel confident and ready to move onto more advanced topics in accounting. Highly recommended!

PG

Jul 31, 2017

One of the Best course on Financial Accounting. Gives end to end hands on experience of entire Accounting Cycle. Quizzes are really engaging and require hands on working in many cases.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 169 Reviews for Financial Accounting Fundamentals

By Ron C

Jun 26, 2017

The UVA professor was very informative in a way that made the financial information relatable and easier to understand. Great experience.

By Mukul M

Aug 30, 2017

Very good course for learning accounting for non commerce graduate.

By Iris J

Jan 05, 2018

Very vivid and useful

By Puneet S

Sep 04, 2017

Great Learning!

By David D

Jun 24, 2017

Professor Lynch teaches the core concepts of financial accounting in a very easy-to-understand way. I definitely recommend the course to students who want to learn the fundamentals of financial accounting!

By Lorraine M

Apr 13, 2018

Really enjoyed the course - was really dreading learning about accounting but the instructor was able to break it down and make it both fun and interesting for me to learn!

By Sarvesh N

Aug 30, 2017

Overall good but questions are repeatative

By ghebson t

Aug 26, 2017

super adipowli....

By Devansh

Jun 19, 2017

I think this is definitely a great accounting course to get a flavor of the subject matter. Instead of jumping directly into the numbers aspect, Luanne focuses on explaining the implications of the subject at hand first. This method is better for people who want to really understand the what the real world applications of terms like Balance sheet equations etc.

By Mr. J E

May 30, 2017

Recommended

By Umaima M

Jan 11, 2018

Great course I learned a lot from it.

By Ayman S M

Aug 17, 2017

This Great!! 😍

By Ciara L

May 05, 2018

Certainly a great refresher for reporting and fundamentals. Sometimes we get comfortable with software that is designed to generate the info we need and it was nice to look over a company sample and get back to the basics of JE's, reports, and more. Would recommend to all levels.

By Reid C J

Oct 01, 2017

Outstanding course!

By NIKHIL M

Oct 12, 2017

Very Good Course For Non Finance Guys understanding financial accounting fundamentals

By Akhil J J

Sep 05, 2017

Too Good

By Deb C

Nov 01, 2017

Wow! This is a really great course for us beginners. The instructor is clear and really drills in the foundation of accounting with tons of practice. She is funny and keeps my interest. Thank you University of Illinois for taking the time to create this course. It's so helpful as I try to make my career change.

I am very thankful to Coursera for allowing me to audit this course before I make a commitment.

By Sourav G

Sep 03, 2017

amazing course

By Elisa O

Jun 14, 2018

It was a really nice course for learning the basics of Financial Accounting. Johanna explains really nicely all the terms with good examples and helps you understand what are the main points of financing.

By Pankaj G

Jul 31, 2017

One of the Best course on Financial Accounting. Gives end to end hands on experience of entire Accounting Cycle. Quizzes are really engaging and require hands on working in many cases.

By William F L I

Feb 12, 2018

Great intro class, good basis for collegiate classes in this field,

By Rauf H

Feb 09, 2018

Highly recommended for every students intended to be accountan in future.

By Simone S

Apr 24, 2018

Extremely clear and useful

By Adonna P

Jan 18, 2018

This instructor is absolutely amazing. She really assumes that you don't know anything about accounting and takes her time to give you a detailed explanation of everything. I have already taken several Intro to Financial Accounting courses online elsewhere and NONE of the instructors have done even half of the job that she does. She is well spoken, prepared, organized, and conversational in her explanations. It's like listening in on a conversation with an accountant who is really interested in her profession. She doesn't rush through the information which is huge for me. Paying for this particular course is a no brainer and a great investment. I really could not be more pleased.

There are mini quizzes in her lectures that pop up to check your understanding. She doesn't just assume that you got it. She is going to check! Ha ha. Be prepared by listening. Loved it. This class truly stands out well above the rest. Her methods should be modeled for other courses.

By June K

Mar 14, 2018

Definitely the best online course I have taken. You get to learn a lot from this short term course and feel confident and ready to move onto more advanced topics in accounting. Highly recommended!