Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting Fundamentals by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,952 ratings
551 reviews

About the Course

This course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, will teach you the tools you'll need to understand the fundamentals of financial accounting. Concise videos, the financial records of a small business, and "your turn" activities guide you through the three most commonly used financial statements: the Balance Sheet, the Income Statement, and the Statement of Cash Flows. Beyond recording transactions, you'll learn how to prepare these financial statements, and read and analyze them to draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Use journal entries to record transactions - Prepare and use t-accounts to summarize transactions recorded during an accounting period - Describe the three most commonly used financial statements and how they fit together - Prepare these financial statements based on transactions recorded during an accounting period - Draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health...

Top reviews

RF
Dec 22, 2019

I recommend this course to all beginners in understanding accounting , this course completely put you into your first step of the world of financial accounting , and professor luann is really amazing

JR
Sep 4, 2020

The concepts learned during this course made possible for me to present the project financials in a better way to the director. This course should be a must for all of us in the project management.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 555 Reviews for Financial Accounting Fundamentals

By Madison H

Aug 24, 2020

I think Luann is a wonderful professor and goes over each topic in extreme depth and explains concepts very well! However I am a little bit of a slow learner and wish there was more extensive practices and opportunities for that. Overall though it's a great course for someone like me that had no experience with accounting! Highly Recommend!!!

By Michael C

Apr 7, 2019

Wonderful to get to know a topic I always dreaded.

One quick note note using split screen while the instructor is writing a notes/equations down w can also refer to the numbers/balance sheets/transactions she is referring to.

Thanks and will look at another course to take before the summer begins!

By Kiran R

Sep 11, 2017

It is very useful for beginners who probably may have come from other than business and accounting background like me. However, more lectures and time should have been allocated for the last sessions, where people like me (little knowledge) will get little trouble on it. overall it is very good.

By Sachin H

May 23, 2020

The entire curriculum described for this course is perfect. The best part is, it has a lot of questions discussed, which for me puts it at the edge. Although I wish that they could have generated a separate video to point out the differences, while writing journal entries, in different system.

By Jeffrey T L

Sep 17, 2019

Overall very helpful. Could have been a little more so when it came to understanding cash flows and how that related to the test questions / analyzing what is going on. But overall, I am very happy to have learned so much about JE's, Balance Sheets, Income Statements and accounting as a whole.

By Frank S

Nov 27, 2020

As a retiree, I absolutely loved keeping my mind active and learning skills that I hope to put to use volunteering with our senior community. Luann was fantastic and made the course both challenging and approachable in a way that made the concepts connect with real life applications.

By Ubayd R

Sep 8, 2020

Its been a great exposure and experience. I have developed great learning skills from this course and i would definitely give credit to Miss Luann J. Lynch for her great teaching skill she made things so simple and clear. THANK YOU COURSERA for this great opportunity.

By Alicia D

Sep 13, 2020

If you are looking to learn the very basics of accounting, this course is very good! However, I believe that it was missing to explain formulas and more detailed explanation on the managerial usage of the 3 statements.

By Ramy t a m

Apr 23, 2020

course contain alot of inforamtion and made a refreshment of the principles of accounting and that is great thank u but the instructor is too professional and she just needs to make more fun to entertain the cousre

By Vivienne P

Apr 28, 2019

This is really good course which you can more clearly to know how is the basic accounting equation for those people want to learn accounting. Even you are familiar with it, this course is solid your knowledge.

By Omayma B

May 28, 2020

Very insightful and useful for those wishing to have a quick Introduction to Financial Accounting. Lectures are pretty clear and the examples are very helpful. The case study also allows for more practice.

By Brice v d P

Jul 26, 2020

My first course! And many more to come. I would of preferred more reading material and more real life examples. I really enjoyed working through the TGS cases. I think more quizzes would be great though.

By Tracy R

Jun 28, 2020

The only reason this is not a perfect rating, is based on the duration of the course. There is valuable knowledge and it is well taught. However, it seems rushed to meet the 5 week timeline.

By Jamala T

Jun 24, 2020

Some transactions need more clarifications. Such as cash flow statement transaction was a little bit complicated to understand. But generally, this course is pretty good for beginners

By jordan h

Mar 15, 2021

Sometimes the questions are long-winded and the answers don't seem like they have been covered previously in a topic but all round the course is effective

By belgisu t

Dec 17, 2020

This course was well organized, the videos are short and to the point. As a business graduate I've gone through what we learned at school. Thank you.

By kishorbabu

May 26, 2017

This is very good course to learn some financial Accounting basics , I will recommend this course for who ever wanted to learn financial accounting

By Mahmoud T

Jun 9, 2017

this is the best course to person who not know the basic of accounting and you will get the perfect level of financial accounting ! take it

By Tauseef Z

Jan 14, 2020

it is a good course but if you are like me a novice in accounts then you will need lot of patience to go over the content

By Amal A

Jan 21, 2018

It is my first time enjoying Coursera courses .

i really benefited a lot .

and i will enjoy more courses in the future .

By Robert C

Jul 18, 2020

Good overview of the material. Some concepts felt a bit rushed. Tests could be a bit over specific.

By *****

Oct 31, 2019

explanation not so clear. some kind a principles have been told, but any examples. only words

By Samiran P

May 26, 2020

A great course especially for people who have zero knowledge about accounting!

By Shreya R

Aug 31, 2017

This is a great course to learn the fundamentals of financial accounting .

By Dhruman S

Jul 20, 2019

material was really good and quiz were awesomely difficult.