Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Business Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Business Strategy by University of Virginia

4.8
1,357 ratings
277 reviews

About the Course

Develop your ability to think strategically, analyze the competitive environment, and recommend firm positioning and value creation. In this course, we will explore the underlying theory and frameworks that provide the foundations of a successful business strategy and provide the tools you need to understand that strategy: SWOT, Competitor, Environmental, Five Forces, and Capabilities Analyses, as well as Strategy Maps. We'll apply these tools in case studies of industry leaders Google, Redhook, Piaggio and Apple....

Top reviews

VK

Jul 20, 2019

Great insight of the basic tools covering all important aspects, both professors have discussed fundamental needs of the topic around Business Strategy, keen to learn rest of the courses and excited.

TM

May 02, 2018

This course is very helpful. It emanates from the strategist' mind. The way this course empowers a person is phenomenal. I personally learnt a lot with this course and hope to learn further as well.

Filter by:

251 - 269 of 269 Reviews for Foundations of Business Strategy

By MARLYN N P

Nov 16, 2016

It is challenging in part to take this course but its worth it. thank you

By Gabriel T F S

Sep 26, 2018

Gives good insights & tools for Strategic Analysis. However, bare in mind the need for assignments which are killer for working adults with a young family. Balancing and tossing these around can be a real challenge.

By Abdelrahman F

Oct 25, 2018

very good

By Sivasubramanian T

Nov 22, 2018

Good for the learning the Basics

By Hannes K

Nov 22, 2018

The course covers some ground and introduces the learner to a very structured, analytic way of thinking about a firm's competitive positioning. A point of critique would be that it is a bit superficial and repetitive at times. Many of the multiple choice questions require common sense rather than a deep understanding of the course concepts. This could easily be improved and would make the course a lot better!

By Kamalakannan

Apr 18, 2019

Course contents are very good

Faced problems in uploading the assignment

By ANKIT B

Apr 22, 2019

It was a nice learning experience.I really enjoyed doing my assignment and see how the course is relevant in giving new insight before making any decision.

By Roger F

Apr 22, 2019

For me was a new kind of method to study on line and it was an amazing experience and very profitable.

Sure... we will continue with this challenge.

By DEEPAK R

Jul 24, 2019

It is a basic course, if you are already familiar with strategy and management principles avoid this one and jump on to the next one i.e. Advanced Business Strategy.

By B. H K

May 08, 2019

Really great foundational overview and good explanation of the analysis tools.

By Olivia W

Nov 05, 2019

Great course for learning the fundamentals and theories of business strategy. The content is a bit old however. Generally that isn't an issue but can be a little challenging when the case studies and assignments are based on dated information. Still learnt lots though!

By Shado M

Nov 11, 2019

A good beginners, foundational course. I do wish there was more peer support available so that learning groups could be better encouraged

By Diane P

Mar 02, 2019

The course became more interesting as the strategic analysis tools were applied in practice. There are some industry examples within the course that may need to be updated to reflect the changing global economy

By Léa T

Jul 18, 2018

I learned a lot

Some of the graphs and ressources are not clear

You learn a lot, if you do a lot of research on you own

It is an expensive course and I have experienced problems with my credit card charged twice

By 姚翔

Jan 26, 2016

作业有点难做。

By Z I

Mar 21, 2016

Dry Material and the second professor was

By Omair S

Oct 17, 2017

people don't check assignments for peer to peer review

By Viraj G

Dec 07, 2015

This review is for Coursera. Why you want me to click 2 times to submit a review? On home screen when i click on stars to review, new window opens.. This is not a great UX.. Please reduce no of clicks that a user has to make to submit the reviews.

By Martin M T

Dec 27, 2016

Its really hard to communicate with Coursera. I have paid for the course, havent enrolled due to my illness and there is nobody who can help me out with this.

Its a very nice project "Coursera" but still has too much to make up... what a pity.

Martin