Chevron Left
Back to Agile Meets Design Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Agile Meets Design Thinking by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
2,566 ratings
744 reviews

About the Course

Despite everyone's good intentions, hard work and solid ideas, too many teams end up creating products that no one wants, no one can use, and no one buys. But it doesn't have to be this way. Agile and design thinking offer a different--and effective--approach to product development, one that results in valuable solutions to meaningful problems. In this course, you’ll learn how to determine what's valuable to a user early in the process--to frontload value--by focusing your team on testable narratives about the user and creating a strong shared perspective. As a Project Management Institute (PMI®) Registered Education Provider, the University of Virginia Darden School of Business (Provider #2122) has been approved by PMI to issue 25 professional development units (PDUs) for this course, which focuses on core competencies recognized by PMI. (Course ID: APM151, PDU Claim Code:2122PRN05P) This course is supported by the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Top reviews

AA
Sep 8, 2020

I absolutely recommend this course for everyone who really wants to develop their skill or want to learn new skills. this amazing course will assist you to understand the user in a more strategic way.

AG
Jun 24, 2020

Thank you for this course. I get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 730 Reviews for Agile Meets Design Thinking

By Andreu M N

Jul 14, 2018

I totally recommend this course. Well prepared, interesting interviews done by Alex to several professional with well-known reputation, good explanations, and well-prepared exercises. It’s totally worth to invest your time and money if you want to start in Agile.

By priyanka -

Dec 8, 2020

I am new to product management and a course like this designed by Alex Cowan is great, and extremely helpful for a newbie like me. I have learnt so much through his videos and hands-on assignment. Thank you Coursera for giving me a platform to learn from Alex :)

By Malvina V

Nov 6, 2020

What an amazing course!! What an amazing professor!! With this course, you will not only learn the principles but you have the chance to apply the knowledge through hands-on project. Highly recommended for whoever wants to learn how agile applies in projects.

By Ranabir D G

Jun 11, 2020

The fundamentals of design thinking, explained succinctly, in bite sized pieces for beginners, to start the storyboard of success.Thank you Alex Cowan for your flawless mentorship, and especially designing the skits to help us better understand the scenarios!

By Paulius U

Apr 16, 2018

Very well designed course. Studying it, I realized how much can be achieved while working by AGILE methodology. IMHO, everybody should take the "Getting Started: Agile Meets Design Thinking" course, even if they're not working in software development.

By Ryan C

Aug 24, 2020

Excellent course for some one wishing to take Agile fundamentals from knowledge to action. The assignment teaches the development of problem statements, alternatives and propositions. These are then developed into epics and child stores for sprints.

By Nikyara P

Oct 8, 2018

Inspiring Alex Cowan helped me to understand core value of Agile. I thank you for the good prepared materials, skits, Venture Design program - everything! I ma using all techniques in my project so I hope to avoid all mistakes which majority make

By Alexandre B

Nov 30, 2020

Very interesting learning by doing course with complete supplementary information and videos help, focused on building valuable and actionable personas and user stories as the start to develop Digital solutions through the Agile methodology.

By Dimitris N

Aug 10, 2016

Really useful and interesting course!

It surpassed my expectations by far. The knowledge and understanding of Design Thinking and the simplicity that it was presented and connected with Agile was truly remarkable.

Would definitely recommend it.

By Kayla G

Dec 23, 2017

Great course for anyone who's interested in learning Agile! The entire specialization is excellent, and this course give a great intro. Alex Cowan is incredibly knowledgeable, plus he includes a lot of interviews with other industry experts.

By Prabhakar D

Dec 15, 2020

Very nice course to helped me learn the Agile approach to design thinking. as a marketing & sales professional it comes very handy to learn user stories about our customer & design customized solution to shape their journeys. thanks you!

By Keila G G

Sep 29, 2020

I had no prior knowledge of AGILE and this course helped me to define what is AGILE, what changes propose, what values propose, what hinders them, and how to develop and think about my users and coworkers in a more thoughtful way.

By Marco M

Mar 22, 2020

the course is clear and has a good mix of explanation and examples. assignment helps to practice and review elements of the course which might have left not understood or misunderstood. collateral material is interesting and clear

By Ariel A

Oct 30, 2020

This is an excellent course! The material is thorough and presented is a very logical, easy to follow manner. The professor is excellent and provides great examples of real-life applications. I'm going for the specialization!

By Ajeet K

Jan 1, 2020

Awesome Course!! This course perfectly explains how a Team can develop a highly valuable and usable product/software/solution using concept of Agile Design Thinking. Thank You so much Alex for designing such a wonderful course!!

By zsoka m

Mar 4, 2019

Hands on, instantly usable learning experience with a hint of humour - a great combination. The ratio between videos and tasks is great, easy to stay focused and to divide the course into sections to accomodate a full time job.

By Sunil V

May 22, 2020

Learnt a lot on how to Humanize the Persona which helps create better EPIC & Child Stories. Also there is a logical way of getting to the root of concerns / issues Persona face and a proper analysis to addressing these issues.

By Alex E

Aug 31, 2020

Really useful for giving an early insight into a career in tech and lots of transferrable skills that can be used in any team environment. Alex Cowan is a great lecturer and presents the material concisely and eloquently.

By CHANDRA P K

Jul 13, 2018

This course give so much knowledge on building solid foundation on creating great product/project. Specially the skits provided are done brilliantly help reader understand piratically. Mr. Alex you're amazing. Thank you

By Francis C

Dec 2, 2020

Good stuff! A lot of it seems kinda obvious, but it is necessary to have a structure within which to consider these things, a frame to put them in. It isn't something that comes naturally to me, but it's good to learn.

By Nancy H

Oct 9, 2019

Alex Cowen really does a great job of "keeping it real" and easy to understand and follow. The quizzes are short but make sure you understand the key points and the assignment is relevant and drives home the concepts.

By Thomas D

Feb 1, 2017

Excellent material, easy to follow lecturing style that kept me engaged in small enough chunks that were easy to fit into what ever spare time I had. I also learned a lot grading peer assignments which was also great.

By Shahrin S

May 24, 2020

Alex Cowan works hard to deliver the course. He knows the subject inside-out and he is generous in his sharing. He inspires me not only on the subject but also on what generosity in sharing of knowledge looks like.

By Dejan S

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent Course, fully recommended. This course enrich and update my background education to strengthen my abilities in Agile field and recognize the important aspects of the Agile in modern business environment.

By Giulio R

Apr 6, 2016

I really liked the teacher and the course. With rich examples and study cases that usually are not find in this kind of courses. I found this course with the correct balance between theoretical and practical parts.