Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
4,974 ratings
1,219 reviews

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

JM

Nov 20, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

BB

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,242 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Bernardo P

Jul 13, 2020

Nice introductory course on the visual elements that compose an interface. Michael explained it very well.

By AVANEESH K 1

Jul 13, 2020

Amazing course! Couldnt find any courses for visual design, but soon I got to this! Mind blowing concepts!

By ASWIN R

Jun 24, 2021

This is just the useful stuff for all design enthusiast looking forward to know more about user-interface

By Chanan D

Apr 30, 2021

High-level coverage of concepts in the videos and readings. Projects are great for an intro-level course.

By Shahzeen N

May 10, 2020

The way of teaching is very reliable and affectionate. every lecture is very informative and to the point

By Isakov M S

May 7, 2020

Wonderfull course! Great foe both beginners and more experienced designers. Classes are very interesting!

By Abiola O

Jan 10, 2019

It was perfect, the Tutor took his time, and the assignments made it really interactive, it was worth it!

By Eliel C F

Apr 27, 2022

Es un curso sencillo pero te da las bases para reconocer los elementos dentro de una interfaz de usuario

By Ezugwu L

Apr 20, 2022

Very educative, filled with all the information needed and well thought by Professor Michael Worthington

By I P D P

Nov 21, 2021

California Institute of the Arts succeeds in teaching me about Visual Elements of User Interface Design!

By Simon

Oct 29, 2021

Clear, progressive and really helpful in theory and practical application. Very grateful to be involved.

By Hamza I

Nov 12, 2020

I have benefited a lot from this course, I am happy to have this experience and I advise you to take it.

By Ekene O

Aug 17, 2020

This contain substantial knowledge you need to have as its very practical with good hands on experience.

By Samuel H B P

Sep 10, 2020

Great experience on my very first coursera course, thank you for the knowledge you gave. Bravo CalArts!

By X X

Mar 26, 2020

I like how the way teacher inspire us to complete tasks step by step.

It is very helpful and practical!

By Sidra R

Dec 18, 2021

It was a very useful course and helped me a lot in learning the skill. Thank you Coursera and CalArts.

By Nildeep J

Nov 29, 2020

The Course is very good, to the point and will give you basic knowledge to step into the design world.

By Meet A

Jun 22, 2020

Very good course for beginner student. videos are interested and assignments are also very good design

By Umair A K

Dec 4, 2020

It is really a helpful course to understand the visual fundamental elements of User interface design.

By Deleted A

Jul 15, 2020

I definitely recommend this course to start and understand the basocs of UI and UX design! Go for it!

By Sandeep K

May 5, 2020

Really Great Content not like other online Platform.They helped me to create a product from scratch

By Sayed A E M

Oct 4, 2019

it was a good review about that course really there's a lot of things i have learned about that carer

By Dr. L J

Jan 25, 2022

I​ love the way the instruction presented; it makes the content easier for anyone new to this field.

By Gonzalo C

Sep 14, 2020

A very interesting course that highlights the various aspects involved in the design and usability.

By Robyn F

Aug 17, 2020

Really enjoyed it. Like the instructor, the assignments, and the videos we are presented each week.