Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
4,982 ratings
1,223 reviews

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

BB

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

TM

May 23, 2021

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,246 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Sava S

Apr 11, 2019

The course serves as a good introduction to UI design.

I would appreciate it if there were more practical videos alongside the very theoretic ones.

Right now the assignments carry all of the practical load of the class.

By Inez D

Oct 17, 2020

The course is really for beginners with little to no experience with UI design. I already have experience with UI/UX design so this course was quite basic but the readings were helpful. Good for reviewing the basics.

By Meghan F

Aug 29, 2020

It's very very very basic. If you have a background in graphic design or have had any design background at all, this course will completely redundant. If you have no design background, I imagine this will be helpful.

By Ifeoluwa M

Sep 13, 2020

A really good course. Even though english is my first language, i was still a bit intimidated by the lecturer's grammar. Using "big" words. If he could dumb it down a bit, the course would be perfect for everyone.

By S S

Aug 11, 2019

It's a wonderful course to give a beginner the basic concepts of UI/UX design. The only downside is that all the assignments are peer graded, which means the professional advices from the instructor is missing.

By Victoria T L

Jun 22, 2020

Great class to get general concepts of UI design and the types of products that can come out of it. I ended up using Figma to create my assignments as it's free and uses similar features as the Adobe tools.

By Mayara S

Aug 5, 2020

The theory is brilliant and the exercises really make you practice, but there should be another way to evaluate students, as having other peers evaluate your project doesn't always reflect your experience.

By Juliana M

Dec 5, 2019

We could have a more objective analysis of our assignments to really improve it. The colleagues criticism sometimes are just rude and subjective, most of the times it didn't help (mainly the las activity).

By Ana L

Aug 6, 2021

En mi opinión el curso esta muy bien para adquirir los primeros conocimientos en Diseo UI/UX, pero para desarrollarte profesionalmente hay que continuar. En lo personal no me gustó la forma de evaluación.

By Valerie G

Oct 26, 2020

Great course. Very well explained and challenging too ! For the first time, I have imagined and designed a mobile application, I really recommand it to all the ones who are passionated by UI/UX Design.

By Raghavendra B

Sep 2, 2020

Course was excellent. Contents covered were relevant and instructors explained all the details very well.

Peer review process was much to be desired. Need to improve or replace the peer review process.

By Margaret C

Jun 1, 2021

I wish there was more feedback given for assignments. Also, I feel like more content could have been discussed especially with apps being on different platforms (i.e. smart tvs, watches, and cars)

By Ritesh K

Dec 26, 2018

I have been a logical person, since my life. Always loved engineering related things. This is the first time, I tried for design related stuff...! Thanks..! for letting me know, I can do it...

By Ziad F

Jul 14, 2020

It was a very useful course, that can put your foot on the first of UI design way, so I suggest it to anyone decided to start UI Design career to can build his knowledge on a strong base.

By asma s p

Jun 11, 2021

It was really helpful but in order to do the projects you have to be familiar with illustrator or photoshop or InDesign and I was not and it was a little bit hard to do the projects.

By Laura G

Oct 2, 2020

I enjoyed the course and learned about UI. I really liked the projects as a means to learn. I did find the videos, while they had good knowledge to be a little dry in the visuals.

By Ziripe Y Y C

Mar 31, 2020

This course is really, I have learn good design thinking and approach to different design angle.

I really recommend this course to whom who want to have a special inside about UI.

By Edmond M

Sep 23, 2019

The course is great at getting the user a good start in learning about interface design. The community seems a bit small with only a few people posting and engaging in the forums.

By Avery S

Jun 4, 2020

Really enjoyed it.

I think that maybe there should be more about design in general. Although I did the fundamentals of graphic design course before, it felt a bit missing for me.

By Aisana S

Jun 19, 2021

I am very grateful to the organizers of this course and the Coursera, for giving me the opportunity to learn a new profession! in my opinion, this knowledge is a bit outdated.

By Camille M

Feb 24, 2021

Good lessons and exercises but not enough evaluations to progress. I can see only 2 evaluations of my work and it doesn't really help me to improve. But the lessons are great.

By pui k s

Sep 7, 2020

The course can let us ready learn the basic of UI and the difference of UI/ UX. It is a nice introduction for the beginner. Through the assignment can practice what we learnt.

By Gilmar R d S J

Apr 14, 2022

The designs used as exemple need an update, their aestethics seems a bit old now. But the structure, and information are very nice! It’s really helpful and engaging.

By Gunjan

Aug 19, 2019

Awesome course, very informative without overloading. It would be great if the reviews were slightly more actionable, but I realise that's harder to implement.