Chevron Left
Back to Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan by The University of Tokyo

4.8
stars
724 ratings

About the Course

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top reviews

DP

Oct 8, 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

Nov 30, 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 229 Reviews for Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

By Justyna P

Jan 4, 2021

Excellent quality resources (presentations, videos), perfect instruction (the lecturer), and a very, very interesting topic itself.

By Sevde B

Nov 28, 2020

It was definitely a great course! I've learned so much from this course and I'm willing to learn more about all of these subjects.

By Marina d L

Feb 9, 2021

Very interesting, it is a side of Japanese history that I have never got in touch with as a brazilian. Thank you for the classes!

By Evisa T

Sep 10, 2021

Super interesting course, the subject is limited, but that doesn't take at all from the amount of information we get. Thank you

By Anuja S

Jan 27, 2021

Thoroughly fascinating, well-structured, and detailed. Of great value to anyone interested in Japanese history/literature/art.

By Alice L

Jul 2, 2021

This was such an amazing course and I highly recommend this to people interested in this topic. It was so fascinating!!

By Maria J T P

Sep 18, 2020

It was really interesting, I learned a lot about Japan and its ways of expressing true human feelings, I really loved it

By Victor S

Mar 21, 2021

What an interesting course! A lot of quality content, I'm really happy with the experience and insights provided by it.

By Ozge C

Oct 15, 2017

It was a truly enlightening and highly enjoyable course with an amazing lecturer. My gratitude to all who was involved.

By Shaheila R

Apr 13, 2023

it was very interesting!! I learned a lot about the history of literary culture in japan, and i enjoy it so much.

By Daniela M P

Jan 16, 2022

The course has very interesting information about Japanese art, its history, influences and historical processes.

By Susan S

Aug 27, 2020

The course was fascinating and well presented. I look forward to other courses by Mr. Robert Campbell. Thank you.

By Javier A P

Jul 30, 2019

I really like Japan, and I wanted to learn a little more about its culture, so this course has served me a lot.

By Fanny W G

Apr 9, 2019

I love this course. Amazing content provided in very easy to understand lessons! I enjoyed every minute of it!!

By Vira T

May 10, 2018

Gives a deep and detailed image of the period. Helped a lot in my understanding writers of 19th cent in Japan.

By Rachel

Dec 26, 2022

Very interesting course !! Focusing not only on Japanese literature, also on Japanese traditions and history.

By Eniko M

Nov 11, 2020

It was a very interesting course on japanese culture - could proceed were quickly and finish it in 2 weeks.

By Priscilla N

Nov 29, 2020

I really enjoyed listening to the lectures. The examples shown were uniformly interesting and beautiful.

By Samantha E

Apr 22, 2022

Very interesting course and the professor knowledge made me kept my attention through the course.

By Prathit B

Jun 26, 2021

Very Good Course, I would recommend it to everyone who are looking for a good taste in literature

By Kam L

Nov 26, 2020

Excellent review of how words and pictures are integral to 19th century literary culture in Japan.

By Katrin W

Nov 22, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

By Steven T W

Mar 16, 2021

Great course with very interesting insight into art and literature in nineteenth century Japan.

By Giuliano B

Jan 16, 2021

This is a fascinating cultural course that I have learned a lot. I am very grateful. Thank you

By Shohei W

May 18, 2020

Very good overview of relationship between Japanese photography and illustrations and texts