Chevron Left
Back to Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
2,136 ratings
582 reviews

About the Course

The vital signs – heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, respiration rate, and pain – communicate important information about the physiological status of the human body. In this six-part course we explore the anatomy and physiology underlying the vital signs so that you will develop a systematic, integrated understanding of how the body functions. Relevant body systems are reviewed including cardiovascular and respiratory, followed by explanations of how the function of these systems affects vital signs. We discuss normal ranges, normal variants, and the mechanisms that underlie changes in the objective measurement of vital signs. The course also includes demonstrations of appropriate techniques for measuring vital signs in yourself and others. The course is designed for a broad, general audience but will be particularly interesting for individuals working in healthcare, those considering a career as a healthcare professional, lay caregivers, those with an interest in personal health and fitness, or anyone who simply wants to understand how the body functions....

Top reviews

BR

Sep 30, 2018

Yes, it is very useful to me and I will suggest to my friends to take this course. My sincere Thanks to Connie B. Scanga, PhD, she taken the all lecture clearly and her lecture was easy to understand.

AB

Jun 30, 2017

I really enjoyed to the professor and the idea of learning the material with her students. It made me feel as if I was in the classroom learning with them. She broke down the material in a great way.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 569 Reviews for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

By Pauline B

Feb 09, 2019

excellent for beginner or pro. Dr. Scanga explains things thoroughly and clearly. Is excellent teacher

Pauline Bennett

By Rachel G

Feb 10, 2019

I really enjoyed this class. It was informative and interesting while also being entertaining. A good course leaves you curious and wanting more and this course left me very curious...and feeling a bit smarter. Thank you for producing such an excellent course.

By Raimundo A M

Feb 11, 2019

This is a very illustrative course!

And the quizz goes directly to the point! The teachers are note ten!

By Ana M C

Feb 12, 2019

Buenisimoo!!!!!! Lastima que los vídeos la mayoría no están traducido al español mi lengua madre.

By LENKA G

Feb 07, 2019

loved all the information and speed of the course

By Jose T

Feb 24, 2019

Professor Connie B. Scanga is an excellent teacher; she makes me really understand what is happening in my own body. I recommend taking this course or any course she teaches.

By NIMRA M

Feb 24, 2019

amazing

By pushpendrapal s b

Mar 06, 2019

very useful course for understanding

By Wilhelm W

Mar 01, 2019

Great course! I very much liked this concept where students where involved in the class

By Mohammad A

Mar 02, 2019

it was realy a nice experiance i am so glad that i was able to get this course and so thankfull

By dakshini

Mar 04, 2019

That teacher is perfect.

By abdikadir m d

Mar 08, 2019

i really liked this course its more understandable smart thanks to professor

By Josue D S C

Mar 10, 2019

great course

By Erin-Michelle L

Mar 11, 2019

It was an excellent intro to physiology grounded in practice, with great labs and case studies that forced you to think of patients and their health in meaningful and useful ways.

By Karla A P r

Mar 18, 2019

Excellent teachers and make the understanding of the human body and signs really aprochable

By Karan A

Jan 13, 2019

Really helpful, cheers

By Lloyd J C

Dec 28, 2018

Excellent teaching and presentation of difficult concepts.

By Nitya R

Dec 30, 2018

What a brilliant and eye opening course! I think my favorite part was that the videos were shot it the classroom, making you feel like a part of the class. It's a bit difficult to stick to at first (because of the amount of content), but once you do, you will understand the body so much better! Thank you so much Dr. Scanga!

By RAYZA D S M

Nov 15, 2018

Wonderful course. The content was passed in a thorough and competent way. The professionals have didactics and passion for what they teach. Time flew while I was learning. Extremely interesting. I recommend it to everyone.

By José E S Z

Mar 22, 2019

Excelente curso, mi agradecimiento para los profesores y para todos los que hacen posible este curso, que Dios los bendiga

By Cedric P

Aug 05, 2018

Great resource for beginners. Would love further courses to be taught by Dr. Scanga who is extremely clear & very engaging.

By Wendy O P

Aug 11, 2018

ESTOY MUY CONTENTA POR LA OPORTUNIDAD QUE ME BRINDARON PARA LLEVAR A CABO ESTE CURSO!. LAS CLASES SON GENIALES Y LOS RESUMENES TAMBIEN LA DOCTORA EXPLICA TODO MUY A DETALLE Y DE UNA MANERA MUY ENTENDIBLE DE COMPRNDER LA FISOLOGIA DEL CORAZON!

By Arya B

Jul 18, 2018

Amazing program

By Martina

Jul 19, 2018

very good teacher!