Chevron Left
Back to Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
5,771 ratings

About the Course

The vital signs – heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, respiration rate, and pain – communicate important information about the physiological status of the human body. In this six-part course we explore the anatomy and physiology underlying the vital signs so that you will develop a systematic, integrated understanding of how the body functions. Relevant body systems are reviewed including cardiovascular and respiratory, followed by explanations of how the function of these systems affects vital signs. We discuss normal ranges, normal variants, and the mechanisms that underlie changes in the objective measurement of vital signs. The course also includes demonstrations of appropriate techniques for measuring vital signs in yourself and others. The course is designed for a broad, general audience but will be particularly interesting for individuals working in healthcare, those considering a career as a healthcare professional, lay caregivers, those with an interest in personal health and fitness, or anyone who simply wants to understand how the body functions....

Top reviews

BR

Sep 29, 2018

Yes, it is very useful to me and I will suggest to my friends to take this course. My sincere Thanks to Connie B. Scanga, PhD, she taken the all lecture clearly and her lecture was easy to understand.

JA

Oct 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It looked at vital signs in a really different view from the traditional ways of looking at it and it was really informative. The practical sessions too were great. Nice!

Filter by:

1326 - 1350 of 1,461 Reviews for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

By dee o

Feb 4, 2021

I struggled in the beginning, but, as the course progressed I improved. Dr. Scanga and the teaching staff were awesome. Encouraging students and tossing in humor made the course interesting for me.

By Borislav N

Apr 21, 2020

The course provided a very nice perspective into some fundamental systems and made me appreciate even better the perfection of our bodies' design. It could have went a bit faster in some parts.

By Ananya K

Mar 15, 2017

It was fun to do. But I got a little confused in a few weeks.. But I will sure remember this course and I am sure I will learn something related to these topics in future.. I love vital signs!

By Moises E

Mar 5, 2017

Very interesting! To future versions, maybe You could include more practical demonstrations about the assessment of vital signs. I'm very grateful to the team responsible for this course.

By Alexis P

Aug 27, 2022

The in video quizz are really basic and with very few questions.

A few more question after each video would help integrating the notions progressively IMHO.

Great introduction otherwise

By Xiaojuan W

Sep 13, 2020

Very informative session with introductory to the vital signs. Good learning course for a beginners who has no much background in Anatomy but still can understand all the contents.

By Alessio N

Mar 3, 2020

Very nice introductory course, extremely useful laboratory demonstrations and real-life examples given make the whole volume of information more practical and easy to follow.

By Anagha R

Dec 10, 2021

it was really interesting to learn something about different anatomy aside what they taught me from school. it thoroughly found by bases for some biology that i did know

By Sasha N

Jul 10, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I have a degree in Biology so that definitely helped but I found it easy to follow along and the provided Lecture Outlines helped a lot

By Youla W T

Apr 12, 2020

its a very good course and the teachers are excellent at explaining especially the sim lab and practical sessions were very useful to me thankyou for the effort.

By Trivikram M

Jun 9, 2017

Wonderful Course, teaches you about Homeostasis, Circulatory System, Respiratory System, touches on respiration (chemical reactions) and the nervous system :)

By Edgar

Jan 18, 2022

It is a real good cours, I´m a nurse end it is really helpfully to remember the thig the I learned in the school, also i used it to practice my english

By Mark W

Aug 19, 2017

Overall, very good. Students would benefit from more background in human anatomy and physiology than I have, but I still got a lot from the material.

By Raviteja K

Feb 22, 2018

good course. Helps a lot for beginners in medicine and all others non medical people to know basic mechanisms and vital signs in our body.

By AARTI G

Feb 1, 2022

It was my first course on coursera and i like the way she teaches, really appreciable. you people can give it a chance, it's timeworthy.

By Nicole S

Mar 23, 2018

I was expecting the course to not be so technical, but I ended up learning a lot and most of it was really easy to follow and understand.

By Ashley A

Mar 2, 2016

a nice course, slower pace, easy to watch/follow. good for people who are NEW to understanding vital signs. A good tool in beginners ECG.

By Kimberly S

Aug 1, 2021

Great Course to fully understand what each of the vital signs really mean! Love Professor Scanga and how she does her lectures and labs!

By Karla P G R

Jun 18, 2017

It helps you to review the basics about the five vital signs. It´s a good course but I wish i could learn more in depth about the topic,

By Adong H G

Jul 9, 2021

It was very insightful and helped me better understand what i have to look out for when monitoring my patients vital signs as anurse.

By Omnia K

Jul 4, 2022

beginner friendly concepts which are easy to understand. A great course if you want a push to deepen your knowledge about vital signs

By Kyrhen D

May 25, 2020

There are some parts which are inaudible but this course is very useful! The topics are explained simply and are easy to understand.

By Teresa L

Sep 14, 2016

I love how there are students present to ask questions. It really helps to clarify the points that the professor is trying to make.

By Cha K

May 22, 2016

Instructor is amazing and very clear. You have to be sure you are reviewing ALL course materials as the course is very thorough.

By Paul L

May 23, 2019

An excellent course to gain the basics and more of an in depth knowledge into what the body does and tells us with vital signs.