Chevron Left
Back to Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
5,767 ratings

About the Course

The vital signs – heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, respiration rate, and pain – communicate important information about the physiological status of the human body. In this six-part course we explore the anatomy and physiology underlying the vital signs so that you will develop a systematic, integrated understanding of how the body functions. Relevant body systems are reviewed including cardiovascular and respiratory, followed by explanations of how the function of these systems affects vital signs. We discuss normal ranges, normal variants, and the mechanisms that underlie changes in the objective measurement of vital signs. The course also includes demonstrations of appropriate techniques for measuring vital signs in yourself and others. The course is designed for a broad, general audience but will be particularly interesting for individuals working in healthcare, those considering a career as a healthcare professional, lay caregivers, those with an interest in personal health and fitness, or anyone who simply wants to understand how the body functions....

Top reviews

BR

Sep 29, 2018

Yes, it is very useful to me and I will suggest to my friends to take this course. My sincere Thanks to Connie B. Scanga, PhD, she taken the all lecture clearly and her lecture was easy to understand.

AN

May 8, 2020

I have learned a lot of things from this course. This course disclosed innumerable mysteries of human body that I didn't know earlier. I really enjoyed this course. Thanks for this wonderful content.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,457 Reviews for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

By Jampa C

Jul 12, 2020

thank you very much for adding this vital signs topic in the courser. It is very helpful and gave me very good understanding of the Vital Signs. Thank you Dr. Scanga for your great Explanation of all the topics in vital signs.

By Kimberly W

Jan 11, 2020

Dr. Scanga,

Wow, you are totally amazing! I finished the course in one week because I was learning so much I could not wait for the next video.

I was thinking about how interesting it would be to include a module on hot flashes.

By Lillian L

Sep 13, 2017

This course really gave me a great overview of the human body and the things which happen within it every day. It was easy to understand and perfect for someone like me who hadn't had much previous knowledge of the human body.

By Pearl V

Mar 19, 2022

First, I would like to thank professor Scanga for this comprehensive and educational course. This course is very useful for healthcare professionals that wish to refresh their medical skills and knowledge. Highly recommended.

By Jelena M F

Jan 24, 2021

Dr Scanga shares knowledge with such passion, in a pedagogical and systematic way that evokes curiosity and drove me to accomplish the course in a short period of time. Thank you for this useful but also pleasant experience.

By Atefeh

Jun 30, 2020

Great course. My biology instructor recommended to us to take this course. This course was very interesting. I really enjoyed every minute I watched from start to finish. At last, well organized and well presented. Thank you

By Nada A I

Nov 4, 2019

The course material was extremely interesting. Dr. Scanga did a great job by turning a complex content into exciting and easy to understand material.Having a sense of humor did certainly boost the enjoyability of the class.

By Abhijeet S

Jul 23, 2020

It was a nice experience for me...I am able to revised all the topics which I have completed in my high school (11th standard) ....Now I have learned how to use these knowledge in my upcoming journey in the medical world...

By Wayne H

Jun 19, 2020

I really enjoyed the instruction from Connie B. Scanga, PhD. This is the first online class I have taken in years and I thought the set up was great, the tone was engaging and I feel the information was retained. Thank you!

By Joanna P

May 17, 2020

Great course! I was able to extend my knowledge on the topics I thought I already have covered on my nursing classes. Thank you Dr. Scanga! It was pleasure to listen to your classes and hope to attend more of your lectures.

By Miranda J W

Jan 29, 2018

This course is a introduction into the vital signs with anatomy and physiological explanations. This course was informative and provided some cool insights that I had not previously considered. I really enjoyed this course!

By RAYZA D S M

Nov 15, 2018

Wonderful course. The content was passed in a thorough and competent way. The professionals have didactics and passion for what they teach. Time flew while I was learning. Extremely interesting. I recommend it to everyone.

By SHIVANSH P

Jun 12, 2018

In this course students are provided with excellent lectures and asignments which really help understand concepts related to vital signs of the body. A really good course for students interested in medicine and healthcare.

By Nadia s

Aug 22, 2017

A very useful, informative and educational course. Dr. Scanga exceptional teaching skills eased the understanding of complex process and made the course interesting. I hope she provides us with many more courses like this.

By Theresa R

Apr 29, 2017

Great Course! I really learned a lot. The lectures are very easy to understand and follow. I do hope they will have some follow up courses. I have learned so much about detecting, recognizing and interpreting vital signs.

By Divya P

Jun 24, 2021

I learned so much information and I am certain this will be of great use to me in the future! The lectures were both engaging and informational. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in healthcare.

By Dulce M G m

Mar 9, 2021

Excelente, aunque en mi trabajo, me cuentan las horas de formacion, osea que aunque tengo el certificado no creo que me lo valoren para pedir la carrera profesional, de todas formas gracias, mis conocimientos han mejorado

By Bien L N

Dec 13, 2022

It was a very nice course. I learned so many things regarding vital signs. Thank you very much to Dr. Scanga and to the team who work hard to put this up and to Coursera for giving me the opportunity to have this course.

By Hlavutelo C

Feb 24, 2021

Best experience ever that I can recommend for everything, I like the structure how everything is outlined and videos also helps a lot more in understanding the content. The content is sequential with a user friendly app

By Daniel W

Sep 4, 2017

Clear, helpful professor, although pace can be a bit slow at times (you can just set the speed higher). The tests assess your knowledge well, and you get a good understanding of your vital signs. Overall, great course!

By Anastasiia P

Mar 6, 2017

This is an example of how complex medical topics can be explained easily and understandably. The practical reference is of vast importance, while problems given in quizzes make one think thoroughly on the topic passed.

By Haris K

Jan 23, 2020

I truly appreciate the staff of the course and the administration of University of Pennsylvania for bringing such an important course for the learners. I highly recommend this course to every health care professional.

By Nata K

Apr 12, 2022

This course is actually very helpful. I repeated and learned very very important things. I like course format, it is very natural and pleasure. It was interesting and funny at the same time to work with this course.

By RAGAB E A E

Jan 26, 2021

THANKS FOR THIS INTERISTING COURSE,

PLEASE MAY I GET CERTIFICATE FOR VERY MUCH DISCOUNT,

MAY I GET CERTIFICATE FOR VERY MUCH DISCOUNT,

MAY I GET CERTIFICATE FOR VERY MUCH DISCOUNT,

HOW TO ACCOMPLISH THIS??????????????

By Penny L C

Nov 26, 2020

If you take Vital Signs in a health care environment you should do this course. Pain management is always a moving changing environment and it's good to get a refresher on how to assess for pain.

Good Stuff everyone.